FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SOLVED] Why is my custom boot animation not working?

25 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
 
By Schimmerlos, Junior Member on 4th July 2011, 03:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I spend a whole lazy sunday designing a custom boot animation.
It's supposed to look like that (two parts):


[Left: part0 - play once] [Right: part1 - loop]

Device: HTC Legend with CyanogenMod 6.1.0 (Android 2.2.1 Froyo).
I created a file bootanimation.zip (not compressed), following this howto I found on addictivetips.com
  • My Legend is rooted
  • I use ROM Manager to reboot into Recovery
  • I move the files to their destion directories with adb commands.
But when I store it in /data/local or in system/media and reboot my phone, only the first part (part0) is played. Then the animation stops, a black screen is displayed for about ten seconds, then the Enter PIN screen appears. I tried almost everything to make part1 visible:
  • Deleting and re-installing the animation with different parameters
  • Changing values in desc.txt (below)
  • Re-processing the .png files (8bit, 24bit, resizing etc.)
  • Changing the .png file names

My desc.txt:
Quote:

320 480 24
p 1 10 part0
p 0 0 part1

Can someone tell me what is wrong with the attached bootanimation_NOTWORKING.zip file?
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation_NOTWORKING.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.44 MB, 952 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Schimmerlos For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Schimmerlos Ad-Free
 
 
4th July 2011, 06:03 PM |#2  
Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Have had this problem once too with a bootanimation.
Try renaming the map part0 to android and put everything in one line
For you it should be like this:
Quote:

320 480 24p 1 0 androidp 0 0 part1

4th July 2011, 11:38 PM |#3  
Schimmerlos's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Minas Tirith
Thanks Meter: 7
 
Donate to Me
More
Lightbulb
Tanks matn013, but that's not it. Even if put all frames to one folder, the animation stops playing after frame 12 or 13...
I suppose the issue here might be one of the ff:
  • Booting time too short (device is fully booted before all frames have played)
  • Defected .png (animation seems to stop at the same frame)
  • Memory issues (rendering of animation needs too much memory)

...is there a system log that I can check after the booting process?

EDIT: I found a solution to spot errors and save time when testing. You can use this adb command whilst phone is connected:
Quote:

adb shell bootanimation

The bootanimation will run, and in your terminal you can see some error code. Thanks seb93
5th July 2011, 12:45 AM |#4  
Schimmerlos's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Minas Tirith
Thanks Meter: 7
 
Donate to Me
More
Lightbulb Solved!
After comparing mine to the original Cyanogenmod bootanimation, I did some more modifications to the animation:
  • reduced image sizes to 256x384
  • named files in consecutive order (even across folders) from fair_00000.png to fair_00026.png without leaving out a single number
  • named the folders android + part1
Which one did the trick? I don't know, but the attached file actually works.
Thanks for your help.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1,007.4 KB, 1933 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Schimmerlos For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Schimmerlos Ad-Free
23rd December 2011, 03:00 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag stockton
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
this is cool,use "Boot Animation Previewer" it works perfect,thanks for the boot

nexus s 4g
28th August 2013, 12:10 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matn013

Have had this problem once too with a bootanimation.
Try renaming the map part0 to android and put everything in one line
For you it should be like this:

I don't intend to bring a thread back from the dead, though I know that's exactly what I'm doing, but I have a purpose. Presenting a "known" solution.

I did a Google search 'cause I was having this same problem, and this thread got me on track. The portion of this thread got me thinking in the right direction to resolve this problem.

There needs to be a return line following the sequence presented in the quoted text. It is what I believe solved this issue.
The Following User Says Thank You to Striker65 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Striker65 Ad-Free
2nd September 2013, 05:42 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker65

I don't intend to bring a thread back from the dead, though I know that's exactly what I'm doing, but I have a purpose. Presenting a "known" solution.

I did a Google search 'cause I was having this same problem, and this thread got me on track. The portion of this thread got me thinking in the right direction to resolve this problem.

There needs to be a return line following the sequence presented in the quoted text. It is what I believe solved this issue.

I have the same problem as author of this tread. What return line do you mean and in which quoted text? Plz answer. I really want to make my own bootanimation.
2nd September 2013, 05:49 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndroidNotMaster

I have the same problem as author of this tread. What return line do you mean and in which quoted text? Plz answer. I really want to make my own bootanimation.

In the "desc.txt" place all the info in it that's required. In my case it was all one line. If you have multiple lines go to the end of the last line and press "enter".
That's what solved my problem.

If that doesn't happen, it won't boot.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to Striker65 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Striker65 Ad-Free
2nd September 2013, 06:00 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker65

In the "desc.txt" place all the info in it that's required. In my case it was all one line. If you have multiple lines go to the end of the last line and press "enter".
That's what solved my problem.

If that doesn't happen, it won't boot.

Wow. Magic. One more line and whole bootanimation is working. Thanks.
23rd September 2013, 03:45 AM |#10  
lj3lj3's Avatar
Member
Flag yulin, shannxi
Thanks Meter: 126
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker65

In the "desc.txt" place all the info in it that's required. In my case it was all one line. If you have multiple lines go to the end of the last line and press "enter".
That's what solved my problem.

If that doesn't happen, it won't boot.

Thanks, man, just work for me, can't believe it's simple like this!
6th November 2013, 08:00 AM |#11  
r3dlink13's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Talking
Striker nailed it! Thanks!
I'd been fighting it for at least a half hour, yet the fix was so simple!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes