FORUMS

[Q] Cant seem to factory/data reset -remove encryption

44 posts
Thanks Meter: 10

By SnarfSnarf, Member on 27th July 2011, 03:27 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I am a noob looking to try out the touchwiz rom,

My 10.1 is encrypted and trying to remove the encryption using the menu option in settings- factory data reset - it just reboots like nothing happened and asks for the password (I wanted to turn off/get rid of the encryption). I get a box open and android icon for a brief moment at reboot.

Using ClockworkMod Recovery v4.0.0.4 the wipe/factory reset option selected and it errors on the mounting /data. Can't mount or format /data too.

This 10.1 retail has a locked bootloader and is rooted.

Anybody? So far not bricked, ,
27th July 2011, 04:16 AM |#2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10

More
got it
I used odin and followed instructions here- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1119492

I lost clockworkmod and it did not recognize my password on reboot, but it did let me wipe everything.
27th July 2011, 05:52 AM |#3  
Flag sydney
Thanks Meter: 3

More
You might have to wipe user data to get rid of the encryption. But you will loose all ur data
8th February 2012, 04:42 AM |#4  
Thanks Meter: 0

More
<bump>

I'm having the same trouble - and no amount of flashing various stock or CWM recovery gets me to a point where I can actually format / remove the encrypted partition.

The device had been rooted - and then encrypted - and it wasn't until I attempted to reboot into recovery with CWM (hoping to perform a factory reset) that I got into a boot loop.

Days, and countless flashing later - I'm no closer. The one thing I find interesting: when I flash particular (CWM) recovery / images, and reboot - I actually get the 'pre-boot authentication' page, which still accepts my encryption passphrase. It's after this point - that I'm just staring at a black screen.