FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[krn.modules] interactive governor for X10 GB

419 posts
Thanks Meter: 406
 
By viulian, Inactive Recognized Developer on 16th August 2011, 10:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello guys,

Introduction

I've managed to compile the interactive governor (supported by SetCPU!) for X10 2.3.3 GB kernel (2.6.29-00054-g5f01537).

It was difficult to find a source that worked. This module is a compiled version of the code from here.

Screenshot. It oscillates between 245Mhz and 384Mhz while playing music!



Installing

After unpacking the zip into the folder of your choice, execute the following commands:

Code:
adb push "cpufreq_interactive.ko" /sdcard/cpufreq_interactive.ko
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cd /system/lib/modules
cp /sdcard/cpufreq_interactive.ko .
insmod cpufreq_interactive.ko
echo "interactive" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
Then you can fire up SetCPU and see that it actually detects the interactive governor and frequency changes. Reboot will reset the settings - you will need to modify your startup scripts to activate it on each reboot, or use SetCPU for this.

Settings

Although the initial interactive module only supported one setting, the min_sample_time, this one supports an additional one:

Code:
# pwd
pwd
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/interactive
# ls
ls
go_maxspeed_load
min_sample_time
#
which is go_maxspeed_load.

SetCPU only supports the initial setting that the module came with, the min_sample_time. By default, it is configured to 80000 here, but 50000 could also be a good value.

The settings default values and explanations:

Code:
/* Go to max speed when CPU load at or above this value. */
#define DEFAULT_GO_MAXSPEED_LOAD 85
/*
 * The minimum amount of time to spend at a frequency before we can ramp down.
 */
#define DEFAULT_MIN_SAMPLE_TIME 80000;
To modify them, just echo the desired value into the sysfs files:

Code:
echo "85" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/interactive/go_maxspeed_load
Download

Use it at your own risk!

cpufreq_interactive.zip
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to viulian For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift viulian Ad-Free
16th August 2011, 10:41 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Barnsley
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
So glad you have got this!!!!

Loved it in DooMKernel

going to try on TripNMiUI now!!!

Regards
16th August 2011, 10:45 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Really great dude! I can't wait to use it!

Sent from my X10i using EWJet GB and XDA-App :)
16th August 2011, 10:52 PM |#4  
xpaa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Omg!!! Another booster to my x10.... Thanks...

Sent from my X10i using XDA Premium App
16th August 2011, 11:09 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Oh, can't believe it. You did it. Another governor. GREAT!
16th August 2011, 11:16 PM |#6  
Lockon Stratos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
Excellent work. Got it installed on WB's 3.9 and cpu master recognized the new governor. Will test throughout the day and report back any issues. Thanks again for your great work.

Edit: Reboot looses the governor due to tweaks in install-recovery.sh, will continue to test and find a work around.

Edit again: Added insmod & echo line in install-recovery.sh and interactive governor can be selected again without affecting Z's 'OC' tweak. Still need further testing though.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lockon Stratos For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Lockon Stratos Ad-Free
16th August 2011, 11:24 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Karlskrona
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Really hope Z and wolf adds this to their roms.

Sent from my X10i using XDA Premium App
17th August 2011, 12:24 AM |#8  
Wolfbreak's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,576
 
Donate to Me
More
I will but im busy at work now again. Vacation is over

Sent from my X10i using XDA App
17th August 2011, 01:17 AM |#10  
Eustachy_Kapusta's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
interactive governor \o/

it was tricky to make it start on boot but i managed to do it, now time to test it
17th August 2011, 05:20 AM |#11  
silveraero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 206
 
More
Quote:

I will but im busy at work now again. Vacation is over

Hah, you have vacation like aZuZu lol. How about it?

Nice governor, should try this.

EDIT: can't install. Error: cannot stat 'cpufreq_interactive.ko': no such file or directory.
I copied that file to sdcard.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes