FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Remove recent apps from notification bar

n/a posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By j4n87, Guest on 19th August 2011, 02:31 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Successfully removed the annoying recent apps plugin in the notification bar.
Here are the steps how to do this:

Pls make a cwm backup, before tyring this...I'n not responsible if you are losing your data, in case it won't boot anymore

1. Install apk tool

http://code.google.com/p/android-apktool/downloads/list

Quote:

For windows:

apktool-install-windows-r04-brut1.tar.bz2

and

apktool1.4.1.tar.bz2

Extract them to the same folder



2.Pull requires files from device

located under system/framework
com.htc.resources.apk

located under system/app
SystemUI.apk

Put it to the extracted apktool files



4.Install ressources.apk

- open the cmd and browse to the apktool folder

- type:
Quote:

apktool if com.htc.resources.apk

in cmd




5.Decompiling

- type:
Quote:

apktool d SystemUI.apk

in cmd



6.Make the working change

- in your apktool folder should now be a SystemUI Folder
- Browse to: SystemUI\smali\com\android\systemui\statusbar
- open the file StatusBarFlag.smali with notepad++
-find the line
Quote:

sput-boolean v0, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_RECENT_APP:Z

and change it to:

Quote:

sput-boolean v2, Lcom/android/systemui/statusbar/StatusBarFlag;->HTC_RECENT_APP:Z

-save it



7.Compiling

-Type:
Quote:

apktool b SystemUI SystemUI_new.apk

in cmd



8.7zip/Winrar

-open both, the orignal and the new SystemUI.apk's and drop the classes.dex from SystemUI_new to SystemUI and overwrite

it


Now transfer the SysytemUI.apk back to your device.
Paste it in /system and change the permissons to 644 (just like all in system/app).
After setting the correct permission, overwrite the original SystemUI.apk in System/app with yours.

Reboot, done:




gl =)

Found the hack on this page via google:

http://rootzwiki.com/showthread.php?t=2654

..all other stuff, is my work
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to j4n87 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift j4n87 Ad-Free
 
 
19th August 2011, 02:36 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 49
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for this! Been looking around to get this done and didn't want to ask cause I was sure SOMEone posted but never found anything.



Gonna use this in the theme were creating!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1222035

Just incase you were unaware lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
j4n87
19th August 2011, 02:43 PM |#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolando.Ramiro

Thanks for this! Been looking around to get this done and didn't want to ask cause I was sure SOMEone posted but never found anything.



Gonna use this in the theme were creating!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1222035

Just incase you were unaware lol

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App

No problem

Got my Evo 3D yesterday, it was the first time I was using a Gingerbead Sense and this annoying recent apps list was driving me crazy since the first second I saw it =D
19th August 2011, 03:45 PM |#4  
Reeonimus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Thanks been looking for something like this.

This is what I get when I try to compile (Step 7) SystemUI back into an APK. Also you state to type

"apktool b SystemUI.apk SystemUI_new.apk"

but the screenshot shows without the .apk which is the right way correct?

Anyway, my errors seem to be java related you think? I've got the latest Java.

The Following User Says Thank You to Reeonimus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Reeonimus Ad-Free
j4n87
19th August 2011, 04:22 PM |#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reeonimus

Thanks been looking for something like this.

This is what I get when I try to compile (Step 7) SystemUI back into an APK. Also you state to type

"apktool b SystemUI.apk SystemUI_new.apk"

but the screenshot shows without the .apk which is the right way correct?

Anyway, my errors seem to be java related you think? I've got the latest Java.


yeah, sry..typo =)


thats the right command:

Quote:

apktool b SystemUI SystemUI_new.apk"

...the java error is a result of the wrong sencond parameter. The param should be ne name of the folder with the decompiled files.

corrected it in the OP, thanks for the report.
19th August 2011, 04:58 PM |#6  
OMJ's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 13,838
 
Donate to Me
More
nice guide, thanks! feel free to post it in this thread
19th August 2011, 05:02 PM |#7  
Reeonimus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Ah sorry I should have clarified a bit better. I am getting the errors even after using the proper command:
Quote:

apktool b SystemUI SystemUI_new.apk

The main part of the error seems to be:
Quote:

xml:13: error: No resource identifier found for attribute 'overScrollMode' in package 'android'

Trying to do some google searches on the error which is coming up pretty slim. Any thoughts?
j4n87
19th August 2011, 06:22 PM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reeonimus

Ah sorry I should have clarified a bit better. I am getting the errors even after using the proper command:


The main part of the error seems to be:


Trying to do some google searches on the error which is coming up pretty slim. Any thoughts?

mhh, u are using mdj's virtuous 1.02 rom? If yes, I can send you the modified SystemUI.

..but this will include my circular battery mod:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=117
Attached Files
File Type: apk SystemUI.apk - [Click for QR Code] (884.0 KB, 41 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ad-Free
19th August 2011, 08:25 PM |#9  
Reeonimus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by j4n87

mhh, u are using mdj's virtuous 1.02 rom? If yes, I can send you the modified SystemUI.

..but this will include my circular battery mod:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=117

Thanks! I am using that ROM with the circle battery mod already.

Edit: Since you are on a such a role j4n87, you should look into adding the brightness bar and media volume bar under quick settings that I see others have on the CDMA version! I'd love to see that!
j4n87
19th August 2011, 11:57 PM |#10  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reeonimus

Thanks! I am using that ROM with the circle battery mod already.

Edit: Since you are on a such a role j4n87, you should look into adding the brightness bar and media volume bar under quick settings that I see others have on the CDMA version! I'd love to see that!

Don't think, that I'm able to do this^^
The battery mod I've created with an online kitchen and removing the recent toolbar was just about googling and a bit know how =)
20th August 2011, 12:05 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,919
 
More
Thumbs up
Fantastic guide j4n87!! This is the kind of stuff I love to see on XDA! Tell the exact xml/smali edits to make a mod happen, so anyone can put it on any rom as they see fit!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SteelH For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SteelH Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes