FORUMS

[XAP][update 28/9/2011]USBModeSwitch Tethering tool for hTC phones by ansar

2,767 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,851
 
By ansar.ath.gr, Retired Recognized Developer on 21st September 2011, 01:52 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Dear forum members,




>> This is the updated version 1.16.0.0 of USBModeSwitch tool designed for hTC Windows Phones

>> Tethering means that the phone can be used as a usb modem and allows a PC / Laptop to connect to the internet

>> I propose to unistall USBModeSwitch tool from your phone only when a new version is provided or

>> Be careful when uninstalling USBModeSwitch tool, do it always after an exit to Zune Mode

>> It is tested and works in all versions of MS Operating Systems, even in Mango 7720




//// USBModeSwitch tool screen shoot ////









//// USBModeSwitch tool outlined description ////




>> USBModeSwitch xap provides facilities as //// CTRL boxes for USB Mode provisioning ////


>> Set Zune Mode CTLR box //// Set Zune Mode and exit with a Soft Reset [Final exit] ////


>> Set Diag Mode CTLR box //// Set Diagnosis Mode and exit with a Soft Reset [Partial exit] ////


>> While in Set Diag Mode


>> Enable UART CTLR box //// Install hTC usb drivers and prepare for a Tethering Session ////


>> Disable UART CTLR box //// Install PocketPC sync driver and close an open Tethering Session ////




//// USBModeSwitch installation instructions ////



>> download USBModeSwitch.zip

>> unzip in USBModeSwitch folder

>> in USBModeSwitch folder there are 3 folders:

>> USBModeSwitchXap with USBModeSwitch.xap file

>> Drivers x86, with relevant HtcUsbMdmV32 and HtcVComV32 folders

>> Drivers x64, with relevant HtcUsbMdmV64 and HtcVComV64 folders



>> connect your phone with usb cable to PC / Laptop

>> from PC / Laptop deploy USBModeSwitch.xap in your phone

>> run USBModeSwitch

>> tap on Set Diag Mode CTRL box //// performs an exit with a soft reset ////

>> run USBModeSwitch

>> tap on Enable UART CTRL box //// install 2 drivers ////

>> on Found New Hardware (2) pop ups tap on cancel



>> run Device Manager //// in your PC / Laptop ////

>> in Device Manager > Other devices //// are installed 2 Unknown devices ////

>> right click on 1st Unknown device

>> and select Properties > Details //// verify the following 2 ////

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&REV_0000&MI_01 and

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_01



>> right click on 1st Unknown device //// USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_01 ////

>> and select Update Driver Software > Browse my computer ... > Let me pick ... >

>> next > Have Disk > Browse

>> Drivers x86 > HtcUsbMdmV32 > HtcUsbMdmV32.inf //// for 32 bit OS ////

>> Drivers x64 > HtcUsbMdmV64 > HtcUsbMdmV64.inf //// for 64 bit OS ////

>> open > ok

>> on HTC USB Modem select

>> next > Install ... > (wait for HTC USB Modem installation to finish) > close



>> right click on Modems and select

>> HTC USB Modem > properties > Details

>> in Property select Hardware ids //// verify the following 2 ////

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&REV_0000&MI_01 and

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_01

>> in Diagnostics select Query Modem //// verify it works ////

>> in Advanced > Extra initialization commands

>> enter +CGDCONT=1,"IP","Provider" //// replace Provider with your own one ////

//// usually Provider is something like this internet.vodafone.us ////




>> right click on 2nd Unknown device and select

>> Properties > Details //// verify the following 2 ////

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&REV_0000&MI_00 and

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_00



>> right click on 2nd Unknown device //// USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_00 ////

>> and select Update Driver Software > Browse my computer ... > Let me pick ... >

>> next > Have Disk > Browse

>> Drivers x86 > HtcVComV32 > HtcVComV32.inf //// for 32 bit OS ////

>> Drivers x64 > HtcVComV64 > HtcVComV64.inf //// for 64 bit OS ////

>> open > ok

>> in HTC Diagnostic Interface select

>> next > Install ... > (wait for HTC Diagnostic Interface installation to finish) > close



>> in Ports (Com & LPT)

>> right click on HTC Diagnostic Interface (COMxx)

>> and select properties > Details

>> in Property select Hardware ids //// verify the following 2 ////

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&REV_0000&MI_00 and

>> USB\VID_05C6&PID_319B&MI_00



>> close Device Manager, run Internet Options and select

>> Connections > Add > Dial - up > HTC USB Modem

>> in Dial-up phone number enter *99#

>> in Connection name enter WP7

>> select Connect, then Skip and wait to establish connection

>> close Internet Options



>> in your phone Settings > Cellular check that data connection is set to Off

>> in PC / Laptop run internet explorer and connect with WP7 Dial - up to the internet!!!




//// Download Links ////



>> USBModeSwitch by ansar



//// donation instructions ////



>> I hope you realize the time needed for research & development to ceate these facilities

>> You may donate here Support my Research & Development



///////////////////////////////////////////////


Till next version enjoy!!

Regards, ansar


///////////////////////////////////////////////
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to ansar.ath.gr For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ansar.ath.gr Ad-Free
21st September 2011, 01:53 PM |#2  
ansar.ath.gr's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,851
 
More
reserved
Post #2 reserved for future use
21st September 2011, 01:54 PM |#3  
ansar.ath.gr's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,851
 
More
reserved
Post #3 reserved for future use
21st September 2011, 01:54 PM |#4  
ansar.ath.gr's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,851
 
More
reserved
Post #4 reserved for future use
21st September 2011, 02:38 PM |#5  
thesecondsfade's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
This seems to do the same thing that USBModeSwitch from HTC Test Tools does, right? In Mango, it doesn't know that it's connected to the PC while in Diag Mode.

Has anyone been able to get USBModeSwitch to work correctly in Diag mode on Mango?
21st September 2011, 02:45 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I am sorry but how this work? i sideload it and set to Diag Mode. nothing happen.

connect micro USB cable and Enable UART. nothing happen
connect Micro USB cable and Disable UART. downloading driver and then when completed it install Windows Mobile Device Center. but i check the WMDC. nothing was attached.

Please help me.. really want this to work.

thanks in advance
21st September 2011, 06:13 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Detroit Mi
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
sprint arrive
Would this program work on a cdma sprint arrive?
21st September 2011, 07:16 PM |#8  
thesecondsfade's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Probably not. This uses the same method as DFRouter and xboxmod's USBModeSwitch from HTC Test Tools and the CDMA phones have not worked on it as far as I know. Why not just try it?
21st September 2011, 07:51 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Detroit Mi
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesecondsfade

Probably not. This uses the same method as DFRouter and xboxmod's USBModeSwitch from HTC Test Tools and the CDMA phones have not worked on it as far as I know. Why not just try it?

I'm on nodo trying to wait for sprints official release.
I did try dfrouter quite extensively with no success.
21st September 2011, 09:59 PM |#10  
ansar.ath.gr's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,851
 
More
Hi,

Enable UART enables // USB_DRIVER_QC_COMPOSITE // Mode

Disable UART actually enables // USB_DRIVER_ROUTER_SERIAL // Mode

In later case a driver is installed and you must have device manager open to see what happens

HTC USB Modem must be used instead of PocketPC USB sync

Regards, ansar
21st September 2011, 11:17 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansar.ath.gr

Hi,

Enable UART enables // USB_DRIVER_QC_COMPOSITE // Mode

Disable UART actually enables // USB_DRIVER_ROUTER_SERIAL // Mode

In later case a driver is installed and you must have device manager open to see what happens

HTC USB Modem must be used instead of PocketPC USB sync

Regards, ansar

in my case. Only PocketPC USB Sync installed. How to change to HTC USB modem?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes