FORUMS

Use phone as wireless adapter?(NOT WIRELESS TETHERING)

94 posts
Thanks Meter: 8

By yus4eel, Member on 25th September 2011, 04:42 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I want to know if there is a way to use an android device as a wireless adapter? Not wireless tethering of your data connection but the ability to use the wifi connection on your pc.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
25th September 2011, 04:46 PM |#2  
Recognized Developer / Inactive Recognized Contributor
Flag Catskills, NY
Thanks Meter: 6,001

Donate to Me
More
Turn your data off and turn on your WiFi, connect to the desired network and try to tether via usb to your phone. This should hopefully bridge your connection if you have an aosp ROM. I'm not sure about sense, as I've never tried it on a sense ROM before.

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA App
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MikeCriggs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th September 2011, 04:49 PM |#3  
OP Member

More
So you mean download the wirless tether app and use it while data is off? And you can do it via usb?/ I've never used data tethering so idk im a noob

25th September 2011, 04:55 PM |#4  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag IN YOUR HEAD
Thanks Meter: 4,125

Donate to Me
More
He meant to say, connect to wifi and in settings there will be an option to tether via usb
Although i am also not sure about sense roms

Or you can use a market app
There are many, Easy Tether will do the job
Connect to the wifi network and then use usb tethering
25th September 2011, 04:57 PM |#5  
OP Member

More
okay well I have a droid 3 so there aren't any roms out for it and when I try a wifi tether app from the market it disables your wifi

25th September 2011, 10:08 PM |#6  
XDA Portal Team / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,253

More
Moved to proper section
25th September 2011, 11:09 PM |#7  
Flag Catskills, NY

Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yus4eel