FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

Video tutorial for absolute newbies: How to Root + Upgrade + and load Custom ROM

99 posts
Thanks Meter: 112

Post Reply Email Thread
Hey everyone I decided to make an in depth video tutorial so that no matter which version of Android you're running you can follow along until you reach the part of loading a custom ROM (in this case zdzihu's final Cyanogenmod 7).

This was made so that even the biggest noob can follow along this video tutorial if you're stuck with the X10 due to a contract why not get the most out of it?

Q: Have a an error? Got stuck?
A: Please use XDA search since I didn't do any of the developing!

Q: Why start from Android 2.1 and show every single step until finally flashing the custom ROM?
A: This was done intentionally so that no matter what version of Android you're on, if you find the video part that is like running the same version of Android as your X10 then you can follow along from there.

Q: Doesn't it seem a bit too long? I've seen shorter videos.
A: Again, this was done intentionally so that even if someone is currently on Android 1.6 or 2.1 they can follow along. I want to show people how to backup apps before losing eveything, its pretty annoying otherwise.

Q: Why bother showing every step?
A: My g/f and two friends are stuck with the X10 until their contracts allows them to hardware upgrade until next summer, I want to help other people get the most out of their phone. I don't care about donations, if this helps one person out I'm happy with that. It sucks paying tons of money for a device that is laggy and be stuck with it for years. XDA members have helped me many times, I just wanted to contribute back somehow, the more people share knowledge for free, then the world slowly becomes a better place.

In part 1:
-How to backup contacts (like I said, for newbies )
-How to install a driver for the computer
-How to root
-How to backup apps
-How to upgrade to the official Sony Gingerbread