FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[MOD][11/5]Modified T-Mo TouchWiz 4|5 icon dock|5 columns in app drawer

1,605 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
By petsasj, Retired Recognized Developer on 5th November 2011, 12:29 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
Hello there,

I've had a few requests for this, so here it is.

This is a modification of the latest TouchWiz4 Launcher made by me. This post is going to be updated whenever a new version of firmware goes out.

I do already know that TouchWiz 4.5 exists by fr4gg0r, which is far more customizable, but I have followed a different interpretation to this. This is not based on work done by fr4gg0r.


You can find my original thread on the International SGSII forums here .


Features
  • 5 icon dock
  • 5 column app drawer
  • Smaller fonts in icon dock so they don't get hidden
  • Better spacing of icons in homescreen
  • Better spacing on the badges


SOON TO COME
  • Application to control features
  • Themeing Interface


What are the advantages?
  • Uses the same id key as the original Samsung stock launcher, so all widgets work at once, without having the need to resign with different id


4 Columns, 5 icon dock, 5 app colum appdrawer menu (v1)


Download versions 1.2 T-Mo
See attachment below


Credits
fr4gg0r for the inspiration and advice.
Juggernaut for the deodex build which i extracted the apk from.


As I do not own an T-Mobile phone, i am working blind here. Versions are untested. Please report issues here or in my original thread (preferably) with screenshots so i can identify the problem. If anyone feels like picking this up, please feel free to do so, so long i get some sort of credit.
Attached Files
File Type: apk TouchWiz30Launcher .apk - [Click for QR Code] (877.7 KB, 1176 views)
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to petsasj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift petsasj Ad-Free
 
 
5th November 2011, 12:30 PM |#2  
petsasj's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
Donate to Me
More
How to use
  • In the app drawer, hit edit, and add one more icon dock at the bottom of the page.
  • Rearrange your app drawer icons in a 5 column Layout.

Solutions to Force Close problems
Code:
Hit Menu>Applications>Manage Applications>All>TouchWiz Launcher
Force close and clear data
Instructions if things go wrong:
Code:
Extract apk from .zip
adb remount
adb shell
cd /system/app
rm TouchWiz30Launcher.apk 
rm TouchWiz30Launcher.odex
hit Control + C
adb push path to your download\TouchWiz30Launcher.apk /system/app
#example adb push C:\Users\123\Downloads\Touchwiz30Launcher.apk /system/app
adb shell
chmod 644 /system/app/TouchWiz30Launcher.apk
adb reboot
Landscape mode requests
I am able to make the launcher redraw in landscape mode without losing sign keys. However the icon dock does not stay on the right of the phone, but goes in the bottom. The launcher is not optimized for landscape mode at all. Perhaps i'll be able to get this done in the long run.

NOTE
The European launcher and the 4G Launcher are not hot-swappable. That means that when using the 4G Launcher, you cannot revert back to the European Launcher (or vice verca) by flashing the zip.
You need to WIPE data under Settings>Menu>Manage Applications. Install the other version of the launcher, then wipe data AGAIN.
Failing to do so will cause FC's when trying to add a 5 icon dock.


Changelog for V1
Code:
v1.0 - Initial Release
v1.1 - Resize on all widgets - Choose your Default Home
v1.1.1 - Bugfix when rearranging homescreens
v1.2 - Layout changes
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to petsasj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift petsasj Ad-Free
5th November 2011, 12:30 PM |#3  
petsasj's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
Donate to Me
More
reserved.

Please post issues either here or in my original thread on the international SGSII forums.

I'm sorry for the filesonic links, my server cannot handle the bandwith anymore so i had to move the files.
The Following User Says Thank You to petsasj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift petsasj Ad-Free
5th November 2011, 02:59 PM |#4  
teshxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 3,361
 
Donate to Me
More
thanx dude. i really appreciate it.
5th November 2011, 03:02 PM |#5  
petsasj's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teshxx

thanx dude. i really appreciate it.

Please test it out and let me know how it goes. I'm working blind here ;p
The Following User Says Thank You to petsasj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift petsasj Ad-Free
5th November 2011, 03:52 PM |#6  
Jjday7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
This looks cool. I will have to try it out later today. I'll report back anything that I find.
5th November 2011, 03:55 PM |#7  
teshxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 3,361
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsasj

Please test it out and let me know how it goes. I'm working blind here ;p

Works like a charm. I compared and edited my apk and it works!!! thanx buddy
5th November 2011, 03:57 PM |#8  
petsasj's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teshxx

Works like a charm. I compared and edited my apk and it works!!! thanx buddy

Great news. Please feel free to test my keyboard mod as well. Posted in this section of the forums, too.
5th November 2011, 08:09 PM |#9  
Jjday7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Just tried this on juggarneut and it doesn't seem to work. I tried your directions

•In the app drawer, hit edit, and add one more icon dock at the bottom of the page.

It won't allow me to add the fifth icon.
5th November 2011, 08:11 PM |#10  
petsasj's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jjday7

Just tried this on juggarneut and it doesn't seem to work. I tried your directions

•In the app drawer, hit edit, and add one more icon dock at the bottom of the page.

It won't allow me to add the fifth icon.

How about your app drawer? Is it 5 columns there?

Make sure to wipe data in Applications > Menu > All > TouchWiz Launcher.

Also if that doesn't work, extract the apk from the zip file, remove your old TouchWiz30Launcher.apk from /system/app and replace it with the extracted one, then reboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to petsasj For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift petsasj Ad-Free
5th November 2011, 08:17 PM |#11  
Jjday7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsasj

How about your app drawer? Is it 5 columns there?

Make sure to wipe data in Applications > Menu > All > TouchWiz Launcher.

Also if that doesn't work, extract the apk from the zip file, remove your old TouchWiz30Launcher.apk from /system/app and replace it with the extracted one, then reboot.

I am not getting five columns in the app drawer or homescreen dock. I have cleared the cache and still nothing.

By swapping the TW launchers through root explorer. Wouldn't that cause the phone to crash due to no launcher being present?
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes