FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[XT860 and ?me863?]Custom Roms(w/flashable data fix)

681 posts
Thanks Meter: 84
 
By Willis111, Retired Forum Moderator on 5th December 2011, 11:21 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Looks like custom roms might finally be here for the xt860 (and possibly me863, read Update4 below for more info). Thanks to Hashcode for all the work he's done for all of us building safestrap, porting cm7 and everything, daywalker04 for uploading the Brazil Retail sbf, Endroid for being the first to try it with a normal bootstrap and now I'm confirming it working with Hashcodes newest safestrap(as well as his old ones, I originally tested w/v0.92 and worked my way up to current). I Just booted cm7 off /preinstall.

As usualy, please keep in mind that neither I or anyone else will take any responsibility for anything that happens to your phone through use of these files.
IF/When you enable and disable safestrap remember to format data/cache, causes bootlooping for me if I don't.

Warning, if you do this the way things are now you will not be able to get back to your bell software!! Only do this is you are absolutely sure you know what you're doing!!!!!!!!

You may have to be on the brazillian retail rom for this to work! You can find it in This Thread. You're looking for Fastboot package for UMTS XT860 Retail Brasil. At this point in time you can't get back to bell stock so again, it's at you're own risk!!

UPDATE: Thanks Rick2 for the recovery fix that allows us to swap between safestrap on the fly. Now when I need data I can get it anywhere. Works with Hashcodes newest safestrap (1.06).
Go here to thank him and get the patch!

Update2: I've attached a CWM flashable zip that I've used to successfully get 3g working on Liberty and Mavs Rom, it does not work on cm7 but will hopefully work on other verizon based roms. It pushes the stock libmoto_ril.so(from the brazil retail), a new apns-xml.conf and a slightly edited build.prop(just made it en/US). I've had it cause the phone to fc loop if I installed it on an existing rom and didn't factory reset.

Update3: Watching this thread for info about me863 I think but according to that thread a user has flashed the brazil retail to his me863 and is trying to get data working

Update4: I've reworked the data patch to make it more universal. It should work on me863 providing safestrap runs on your phone. The patch will now copy files from /systemorig so you'll be using matching kernel/libs etc rather than using generic xt860 files. It also makes backups of the original files in the same location (just adds a .bak extension). This new patch IS SAFESTRAP ONLY. Huge huge thanks to Adamogle!!! If it weren't for him I'd still be banging my head up against the wall and no one would be using this patch. You may have to format data/cache, I left it out of the patch so everyone can test (if you phone goes into a force-crash loop then reboot and clear data/cache). Once I get confirmation of this working (or not) on the me863 I'll fix the thread again. I've left the old data patch(renamed as fit) as well in case anyone runs into troubles. Still not a cm7/9 patch, if one comes about it will get it's own thread but it works on all other custom roms based on motorola firmware.

if you see this and you're like "yes, finally some progress on the xt860!! Where do I donate???!?!!" You do that on Hashcodes website, it's ALL his hard work, I just basically wrote you a little story and pooled some files together. He really deserves it, he's working around the clock right now on cm9, seriously around the clock. Of course you can feel free to click the "Thank" button on this post if you like using my data patch


1./ Flash Brazil retail sbf from this thread

2./ root with Zerg from this thread. For some reason v3 kept tossing errors, v2 worked first try.

3./ install safestrap or whatever bootstrap (safestrap from Hashcodes site http://hash-of-codes.blogspot.com/

4./ profit (follow the directions to install a safestrap rom
boot recovery
Enable safestrap in options
Factory reset (formats data & cache)
Mounts > format system
Install your rom
Install my 3gfix
Reboot and profit
)

Again, my patch doesn't work on cm7 at the moment. Sorry Hashcode and everyone but I figured we'd be better off shooting for a known working rom. I'll update the post as I and other users test more roms. Thx thing on a spring for providing the patch "template", every time I threw one together and put it on my phone it turned out to be corrupt somehow so I just removed the files from your data fix and shoved in my own.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Safestrap_data_patch.zip - [Click for QR Code] (189.1 KB, 613 views)
File Type: zip old_xt860_data_patch.zip - [Click for QR Code] (349.0 KB, 540 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Willis111 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Willis111 Ad-Free
 
 
5th December 2011, 01:24 PM |#2  
emprize's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
Donate to Me
More
does it work with me863?
5th December 2011, 03:44 PM |#3  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Thanks Willis I'll try that fix tonight. I'll try some of the other custom roms too see if any work. Probably give safestrap a whirl too

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860
5th December 2011, 04:27 PM |#4  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
I gotta say after months of watching customs roms and dev for the xt862 this is pretty exciting. Does wifi data work on cm7? I would assume if the issue is just with apn. I know its not the intended purpose but I may use safestrap as a dual boot, run custom roms at home in safe mode and switch back to Brazil retail when I need 3g

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860
5th December 2011, 04:32 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
This is awesome.

Great work guys. As soon as this gets a little more stable I'm going to flash it onto my gf's phone, work around these bugs that came in the stock FW.
5th December 2011, 05:52 PM |#6  
Accophox's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Awesome. Been looking forward to this day. Not jumping on the train just yet, but I'm sure that once the 3G bug is ironed out, I'll be flashing.
5th December 2011, 10:07 PM |#7  
Willis111's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emprize

does it work with me863?

Try it out, you can always sbf back to stock if it doesn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Endoroid

I gotta say after months of watching customs roms and dev for the xt862 this is pretty exciting. Does wifi data work on cm7? I would assume if the issue is just with apn. I know its not the intended purpose but I may use safestrap as a dual boot, run custom roms at home in safe mode and switch back to Brazil retail when I need 3g

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860

Wifi works, I'm pretty sure it is an apn issue. Think I need to find my old framework-res.
5th December 2011, 10:43 PM |#8  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
From the bell rom? I have that at home if you need

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860
5th December 2011, 10:44 PM |#9  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Did you try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=19981520

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860
5th December 2011, 11:06 PM |#10  
Willis111's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Endoroid

Did you try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=19981520

Beamed by invisible waves from my rooted xt860

Yeah, I tried that and the gsm data patch. I'm having trouble adding/editing apns etc, can't join networks because "Your SIM card does not allow a connection to this network" etc. This is with cm7 and liberty. I have liberty on my safestrap now, running. I can get sms, make calls etc, wifi works. I'll firgure the rest out. If I want to go back to stock for data or something I just turn safestrap off and do an advanced restore of my /data partition to my backup from after installing the brazil retail.
6th December 2011, 06:07 AM |#11  
Endoroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
I can't seem to make this work willis, i adb pushed those files to /preinstall but i still get constant FC of com.android.phone the only thing that makes it not do that is removing the sim. i'm confused
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
custom firmware, xt860

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes