FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[BASEBAND PATCHES] for Baseband -36 and -64

4,537 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,232
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Hello!

Many users have reported excessive battery drain and/or/due to intermittent loss of signal using the latest basebands.
I have been trying different basebands myself and found that baseband -36 gives the best combination in battery life and signal reception.

However, there are libraries in /system/lib that are related to baseband and, in my trials,
it seems that they made a difference in how the baseband was functioning in a different firmware than .368 (in which it initially shipped).
In other words, I've simply come to the conclusion that each baseband needs its appropriate libraries.

UPDATE for people asking which is the "best" baseband:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bin4ry

@All asking for which baseband fits best:
Please please DON'T start flashing basebands without thinking about now.
Normally ALWAYS use the baseband which comes with the ROM! For example SE always has the corresponding baseband included. This baseband fits the android libs it comes with.
On custom Roms please read what the developer of the customRom telly you. If he/she has developed the Rom for specific baseband libs.
All other things like baseband patches are tested and developed by other developers which know what they are doing. So if you use such a patch ALWAYS read the manual and the requirements. Because it CAN happen that it is NOT possible to use a GB baseband on a ICS rom and vice versa. The is a little more than "just" libs and firmware. Also the java part framework/base/com/java/internal/telephony....
has to fit the baseband (SE is very special here).

So i hope now you all understand. Please please please leave the decision which baseband is best and which is working to the devs who know what they are doing!!!!!! Don't come here and tell "i tried baeband xxxxx now my phone randomly disconnects data/voice/..."

Thanks

And now, here are the patches flashable in CMW recovery:

DOWNLOAD THE PATCH for -36
(It will NOT change your baseband!!!
It will only flash baseband's -36 libraries in your system.)

DOWNLOAD THE PATCH for -64
(It will NOT change your baseband!!!
It will only flash baseband's -64 libraries in your system.)

INSTRUCTIONS: Of course you need to be on STOCK SE ROM, on baseband -36 or -64* and on any other firmware other than .368 and .062.
Place the patch zip in your sdcard, boot into CMW, flash it, reboot and enjoy!
Works for Arc and Arc S. Tried it on .042 and .058 ROMs.

Even better instructions, by DooMLoRD:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

step 1:
flash baseband FTF via flashtool

step 2:
boot device and go into recovery

step 3:
while in recovery mount USB storage and connect device to PC

step 4:
copy the patch flashable (update.zip) to sdcard

step 5:
unmount sdcard via PC & also via recovery menu

step 6:
flash this patch (update.zip) via recovery

step 7:
reboot and enjoy!!

u can skip step 3 to 5 if u already have the patch update.zip on sdcard


* Here is baseband -36, flashable ftf for FlashTool.
DOWNLOAD baseband -36 (thanks to erwin929)
If this file doesn't work for you, kindly find baseband -36 elsewhere.

* Here is baseband -64, flashable ftf for FlashTool.
DOWNLOAD baseband -64
If this file doesn't work for you, kindly find baseband -64 elsewhere.

NOTE: Test the new libraries for at least 1 day before reporting,
in order to have more thorough proof of the improvement or the lack of it for that matter.
Simply booting after flashing the patch and seeing less signal bars doesn't mean anything by itself.
After running your phone for several hours on battery you can see the battery graph,
in the About Phone section, and check for signal strength, signal loss, etc.

Mirros For Baseband Files:

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2011-12-23_2341.jpg
Views:	8233
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	827641  
The Following 63 Users Say Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift iridaki Ad-Free
 
 
8th December 2011, 08:58 PM |#2  
Azev's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Metz
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Ftf file doesn't work with flashtool.
I tested to flash the zip file with recovery, i'm still in .58 baseband.
8th December 2011, 09:03 PM |#3  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 5,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azev

Ftf file doesn't work with flashtool.

Works for me!



Make sure you use the latest version of FlashTool.
The Following User Says Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift iridaki Ad-Free
8th December 2011, 09:43 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Oberhausen
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
When I am going to flash the TFT file, will I lose any data? I am on stock rom.42 and on baseband -56.

Sent from my rooted LT15i using XDA App
8th December 2011, 10:13 PM |#5  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 5,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeDeeKay79

When I am going to flash the TFT file, will I lose any data? I am on stock rom.42 and on baseband -56.

Sent from my rooted LT15i using XDA App

No, no data loss whatsoever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azev

Ftf file doesn't work with flashtool.
I tested to flash the zip file with recovery, i'm still in .58 baseband.

Yes, of course you are, because you just flashed the patch.
The ftf file is not an either/or situation, you want to change baseband, you flash it.
And if you are on baseband -36, you need to apply the patch.
The Following User Says Thank You to iridaki For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift iridaki Ad-Free
9th December 2011, 01:14 AM |#6  
faisaldante's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag glasgow
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
any chance it will work on th eplay
9th December 2011, 02:20 AM |#7  
iridaki's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks Meter: 5,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by faisaldante

any chance it will work on th eplay

Most probably yes, but I have no way to be sure.
You can make a backup and try it!
9th December 2011, 02:27 AM |#8  
superlimau's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
so we just have to flash the ftf using the link above?
is that all the steps needed?
9th December 2011, 03:50 AM |#9  
LiveSquare's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iridaki

Hello!

Many users have reported excessive battery drain and/or/due to intermittent loss of signal using the latest basebands.
I have been trying different basebands myself and found that baseband -36 gives the best combination in battery life and signal reception.

However, there are libraries in /system/lib that are related to baseband and, in my trials,
it seems that they made a difference in how the baseband was functioning in a different firmware than .368 (in which it initially shipped).
In other words, I've simply come to the conclusion that each baseband needs its appropriate libraries.

So, without further ado, here is the patch flashable in CMW recovery:
DOWNLOAD

INSTRUCTIONS: Of course you need to be on baseband -36 *** and on any other firmware other than .368.
Place in your sdcard, boot into CMW, flash it, reboot and enjoy!
Works for Arc and Arc S. Tried it on .042 and .058 ROMs but it should work on any stock ROM.

*** Here is baseband -36, flashable ftf for FlashTool.
DOWNLOAD


PS: I am uploading the ftf for the baseband itself too, but it's going to take a while with my speeds here. Stay tuned!

Cheers!

I've been using the baseband -36 on my .42 firmware for at least a month without any issues!! (I just took the .368 firmware and flashed the baseband only using the flashtool which stated to supports that option) So what issues are expected if the libraries are missing?
9th December 2011, 07:49 AM |#10  
thatsupnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vernon
Thanks Meter: 527
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prathaban

I've been using the baseband -36 on my .42 firmware for at least a month without any issues!! (I just took the .368 firmware and flashed the baseband only using the flashtool which stated to supports that option) So what issues are expected if the libraries are missing?

Yea I been flashing different basebands since last week with flashtool trying out different combos but mostly with .42 build. Right now I'm on doomkernel with -58 baseband and battery is way better than it was with stock .42 -56 baseband and with no issues at all

Sent from my R800a using XDA App
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to thatsupnow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift thatsupnow Ad-Free
9th December 2011, 08:15 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
When i select the .ftf in flashtool, it doesn't do anything, doesn't prepare it for flashing or anything???

Anyone else had this problem?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes