FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

onlive Xperia Play work-around for ALL GAMES

13 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By matthew.twin, Junior Member on 8th December 2011, 11:24 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Here is Saints Row 3rd working on xperia play through onlive using the xperia play joypads:....boom...
After about 5 hours worth of thinking and tinkering I just managed to get onlive to work with all the xperia play buttons (still not the analogue pads though, think we'll have to wait for it to be xplay optimized for that, unless someone can find a way in addition to this method). I've tested it on Dirt 3, batman Lego, and Saints row 3rd. You can hide the on-screen keyboard for games which have it too which makes for a REAL console experience.
Here's what you'll need:

Game keyboard - https://market.android.com/details?i...WtleWJvYXJkIl0.

Tasker - https://market.android.com/details?i...C50YXNrZXJtIl0

Pretty expensive apps, but do a good job

Please note before setting it up, the gamekeyboard software as far as i know is not compatible with the analogue touch pads let me know if you find any difference.

Tutorial:

First things first, install both apps.

Then run GameKeyboard.


click the top tab and you will be taken to the keyboard settings, enable the GameKeyboard by ticking the box, then go into the GameKeyboard settings.



Then you need to scroll down to hard-key mappings, make sure that "re-map hardkey is ticked" and then click on "Hard keymappings".



what you then need to do, is map all your xperia play buttons to something that can be typed with a normal keyboard.

For example, select "mapping 1".
Press the X key on the play gamepad
Then scroll down to the letter A.

This now means whenever you push the X key, the letter A will be sent to the OS instead

I use this config:
x=a
[] = b
/\ = c
R1 = d
r2 = e
start = enter
select = esc

The d-pad should work with onlive.

Dont worry about it screwing with your normal games, this is why you bought tasker, to switch the gamekeyboard on and off when onlive is opened.




NOW!!!!
DONT GO DIVING IN JUST YET!

(technically you don't need to do the next step if you dont want to buy tasker, you can simply change the keyboard manually through the gamekeyboard app if you wish, I just find it easier to ask me to change it whenever I open onlive or close it)

So, Open tasker.
You should be greeted with a loada jargon... just click ok until you get this blank screen.



Now push the little plus icon, and a little pop up should open, type in onlive just to name the task... like this



click ok.

you should then be met with a list of things, just click the applications option.



Now you need to scroll down to your onlive app, select it, then click the tick.



Then click new task


and name your task ON.



You should then be faced with another screen



You then need to click to + icon



you will then get a screen with a load of options on, you need to click the input option, and then select "input method select".

Then once you get to the next screen don't type anything just click the tick, then you should see your new command.



then click the tick again.

then what you need to do before you close it, is click on the task you made ("ON") and a pop up should come up and you need to click "Add Exit Task", than another pop up will pop up.... and you need to click on the "ON" command you made earlier.... confusing i know

then to close the app, click the green arrow

Then when you open onlive... it should ask you if you want to change the keyboard... you click on the "GameKeyboard"... same when you exit the application, you select the "Android keyboard" or if like me you have Go keyboard select the go keyboard.

you get used to it!!

you then have to go into your games you've bought on onlive and change the keys from the in game menu.... most games allow you to do this... Here is a list of games I have gotten to work.

Saints row the third - works but cant change camera view... not enough buttons :/

Dirt 3 - Works but you have to use the onlive on screen pad to navigate the menu, but in game they work.

Lego batman - works but cant move camera.... camera is automatic though so no need really. works

above is a video of saints row the third....hope you enjoy. >_<

Once the game has started you can hide the on screen keyboard by clicking the top left button.
Should also mention that it was mostly my bro who figured this out. If anyone wants to add him on onlive his username is elementom88.
Tell me now that this phone wasn't worth the price?

also, forgot to mention, circle button isn't mappable, couldn't find a way around this, if anyone can figure it out or if I'm being stupid just let me know! =P
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to matthew.twin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift matthew.twin Ad-Free
8th December 2011, 11:34 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 657
 
Donate to Me
More
Awesome stuff! Great that you got it working and nice tutorial too! Thanks, will try this out
8th December 2011, 11:49 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
also forgot to check out if the volume buttons can be mappable...which they can so use as L2/R2 maybe??
9th December 2011, 12:44 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
heres it working on dirt 3, with a bit of lag, boo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJNbMCvDbEI
9th December 2011, 11:32 AM |#5  
Quote:

also, forgot to mention, circle button isn't mappable, couldn't find a way around this, if anyone can figure it out or if I'm being stupid just let me know! =P

You can remap the circle (O) button by using button remapper app to something other than back--afterwards the new assignment can be remapped with game keyboard. I think I mapped mine to [media play] to get it to work. In theory, you can map the other hard keys (menu, home, search) etc. on button remapper as well to something game keyboard recognizes. You can also use the button savior app to give you soft keys (menu, home, search, back) on the touch screen if you want to change the hard buttons to something else.
9th December 2011, 11:58 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,482
 
Donate to Me
More
if you want use Onlive on your tablet and use the phone as remote control

Install DroidMote Server on tablet, DroidMote Clinet on phone.

in the server side change the /system/usr/keylayout/generic.kl with this remapping:

key 304 A
key 305 B
key 307 C
key 308 ENTER
key 309 ESCAPE
key 310 D
key 311 E

how work DroidMote:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1292627
9th December 2011, 02:20 PM |#7  
_terror_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
i can't seem to run any game..

"Launching games is not supported on this platform.."
9th December 2011, 08:17 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
you need to download the full onlive app, that used to happen when trying to launch games from onlive viewer.
9th December 2011, 08:25 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
The camera on saints row is terrible all I can do is soot on the floor.
Nice app tho
9th December 2011, 09:29 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,482
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok. I can say it out loud. Onlive for android work for the streaming part but for control the game is a ****.

i tested with a microsoft wireless xbox 360 controller for pc on the asus transformer (the site says it is supported), but not work.

I watched a bit the source code and I have to say the developers is not in the correct direction.

from android 3.0 and higher the joystick event can get from sdk and not from ndk.

in the Onlive Viewer there is a **** ndk management of the input devices.

to be clear the ndk is good, the management of the input devices in Onlive Viewer is a ****, it is a port of windows version written in c to android, regardless of how Android handles the input devices.
9th December 2011, 09:32 PM |#11  
Member
Southampton
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfex3best

The camera on saints row is terrible all I can do is soot on the floor.
Nice app tho

I agree Saints row is dire without camera control, this is a very good attempt though..Dirt 3 plays well, any one know how to change the keys in lego batman though...A big thanks for these instructions
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes