FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[How To] Root SGP 4.0 YP-G1 (us)

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By chrisgriner, Junior Member on 10th December 2011, 04:25 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
This thread was created to verify and promote the SuperOneClick rooting method that worked for me. I purchased a YP-G1 SGP 4.0 from Amazon recently and found enough hints on what to try for gaining ROOT.

All credit for this method goes to CLShortFuse and his SuperOneClick process.

There may be other steps to get this running, but below is what I did and it worked.

1. Enable USB Debugging.
2. Connect YP-G1 to PC, mount storage.
3. Locate Samsung Kies install on phone storage, install Samsung Kies.
4. Reboot after install.
5. Open Kies, run the update. (Kies never successfully connected to the YP-G1. I believe this was just to get drivers installed.)
6. Extract SuperOneClick to a folder on your PC's HD. (I chose a folder with no spaces in the name. Not sure if it matters.)
7. Unmount storage from the phone's notification bar.
8. Launch SuperOneClick.exe.
9. Click ROOT on SuperOneClick application on the PC.
10. Sit back and wait. It takes quite a while with mandatory 40s pauses.


This method may include steps that are not actually needed, but it is what I did and rooting the YP-G1 was successful. I will try to update the steps if I found a way to take out a few steps.

User etrnldrk reported that the update to Kies was not necessarily.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to chrisgriner For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift chrisgriner Ad-Free
 
 
12th December 2011, 06:43 AM |#2  
etrnldrk's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
You don't need to update Kies to get this to work. The drivers installed just fine for me with the version included on my player.
16th December 2011, 05:03 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
ESET smart security says this file is loaded with trojan viruses. I wont touch it!!!!
16th December 2011, 10:39 PM |#4  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 7,330
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjmike

ESET smart security says this file is loaded with trojan viruses. I wont touch it!!!!

Did you read the thread? It's normal that your antivirus will detect virus because many anti-virus detect exploit as virus but it's a false alarm.
The Following User Says Thank You to zaclimon For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zaclimon Ad-Free
20th December 2011, 08:38 PM |#5  
-sandro-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pescara, Italy
Thanks Meter: 375
 
More
Does it work with 2.3?
26th December 2011, 10:30 PM |#6  
azoller1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lenexa
Thanks Meter: 1,695
 
Donate to Me
More
thanks dude worked like a charm on my 5inch yp -G70
29th December 2011, 07:48 PM |#7  
chrisgriner's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Moore Haven
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -sandro-

Does it work with 2.3?

Sorry if I sound noobish but, what is 2.3? Is that the Android OS version?
29th December 2011, 07:55 PM |#8  
chrisgriner's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Moore Haven
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azoller1

thanks dude worked like a charm on my 5inch yp -G70

Good to hear this method was attempted on a 5" player. I really like this device and since I bought it for my Niece as a Christmas present, I might pick up the 5" for myself.



I've not had to process root again on the device, so I don't have much to update yet. Sounds like the Kies Update step was not needed, so thanks for reporting that.
30th December 2011, 12:37 AM |#9  
Rasa11's Avatar
Senior Member
Lunar Base VII, Sector IX
Thanks Meter: 589
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgriner

Sorry if I sound noobish but, what is 2.3? Is that the Android OS version?

Yeah, Pretty sure that's what they mean.

I also really like this device!
Best media player/mp3 player Ive ever had/used.
I have the 4.0, and a friend of mine has the 5.0,
and the 5.0's screen does not look nearly as good as the 4.0!

Also,
Ive only owned this for a couple/few weeks now,
and have not rooted it yet...
But am sorely tempted to do so..
However, I have no windows OS on any of my machines,
So what's the best route for someone on a Linux machine, with no access to windohs?

Really don't want to have to use an emulator to run a .exe file. lol
30th December 2011, 09:34 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Bath
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I used SuperOneClick on my UK 5.0 and it worked fine to obtain root.

I also said yes to installing busybox permanently, which was perhaps a mistake as it segfaults when I try to run it.

I believe this is because the /system partition didn't have sufficient space for the binary (it had ~650kb space remaining when mounted rw after the su binary was installed), so it has been truncated (and hence doesn't run well )

This leads to a problem when trying to install busybox from anywhere else too, and to solve this I had to grab a static busybox binary (from Debian iirc) place it in /data and create a symlink to /system/xbin/busybox (need to remount the partition rw temporarily). I didn't bother to create the symlinks, but probably should do.
1st January 2012, 10:05 PM |#11  
-sandro-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pescara, Italy
Thanks Meter: 375
 
More
*delete post*
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes