FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Switch between keyboard layouts

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By nickexel, Junior Member on 14th December 2011, 04:06 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

I already read about the option to remap some keys by editing the keyboard layout file. Is it also possible to switch between keyboard layouts as you type (using a hotkey) - e.g. I need to be able to quickly change between Cyrilic and Latin keyboards.

Thanks.
 
 
15th December 2011, 02:42 AM |#2  
CoNsPiRiSiZe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roseville
Thanks Meter: 344
 
More
I think you're talking about hardware keyboard.... But keyboard apps like swiftkey allow for 3 allow for 3 languages simultaneously.

Sent from my ICS Splashed MT4GS using xda premium
15th December 2011, 02:42 AM |#3  
CoNsPiRiSiZe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roseville
Thanks Meter: 344
 
More
Oops haha double post
15th December 2011, 04:08 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi indeed, I was talking about the hardware keyboard, if it is not possible to use both cyrillic & latin keys and quickly switch between them, this would decrease the benefit of the keyboard for me and I might decide to go with a non qwerty phone in the end.

Thanks for you insight though.
15th December 2011, 06:19 PM |#5  
Blue6IX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,144
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickexel

Hi indeed, I was talking about the hardware keyboard, if it is not possible to use both cyrillic & latin keys and quickly switch between them, this would decrease the benefit of the keyboard for me and I might decide to go with a non qwerty phone in the end.

Thanks for you insight though.

In this dev thread: Hardware Key Mapping | Flashable zips & Requests

...user Paitor has come up with and explained how to implement swedish language support for the hardware keyboard.

Given what Paitor has figured out how to do, it is absolutely within our ability to sit down and make exactly what you are asking.

All it takes is someone willing to sit down and invest the time into actually making it happen.

I would volunteer, but I have a lot on my plate already and realistically it's just not feasable for me to do this and keep up with my other projects on this device.

I will however be willing to take a finished keymapping and turn it into a flashable zip file and update the first posting of the key mapping thread with the result.

(and I always credit the author both in the installer package and thread post)

We still have to write in hardware keyboard language support for other languages, and I invite anyone else who wants to use alternative languages to read that thread and see about putting some time into helping us make that available for everyone. What you want to do is not exactly a small project, but pushing what we know to the next level is the reason for XDA's existence.

So, short answer is yes, what you are asking for is completely possible - you can make a key map file that has all of the keys in the languages you would want.

This is XDA, where you can get exactly what you need right down to the last little detail - if you want to put the time into making it happen. We'll be glad to help out where we can along the way.

--------

Edit:

If I were to tackle this project - this would be my approach:

Some apps, like Drocap2 or soundhound, pop up in the list when you have the Genius key remapped to 'search' and long press it. If there is nothing else that utilizes this shortcut function it will default to the only app that does ( in the case of a stock installation or on my ROM, voice search ).

So what I would do is write in each hardware keyboard layout that I wanted, then design an app that utilizes that Genius shortcut function to run - and the sole purpose of the app would be to switch between hardware keyboard layouts.

To me, that seems like the most elegant and refined approach to your problem without making one monstrously cumbersome key-mapping.

You could just press the Genius button to access the app wherever you happened to be, and then have it just show a menu as an overlay to swap between whatever keymappings you wrote in.

--------

My time is being invested in my ROM - then once that's set to my satisfaction, on to kernel work on overclock/undervolt leading into GPU work in conjunction with TV-out, and then on to bluetooth work for controller support on a Sense device.

These are big projects and very time consuming undertakings, so as you can see a project like this keylayout issue is a long time coming before I can get to it - but i'm happy to help where I can for anyone who wants to dive in and do.

Figured i'd throw out what my approach would be to give someone an idea on where to start - and while certainly not the only solution, is something to consider.
The Following User Says Thank You to Blue6IX For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Blue6IX Ad-Free
16th December 2011, 06:22 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I think I have very good news for you!

There's a keyboard called "AnySoftKeyboard" (search for it in the Market and click Dev Website if you want more info) which supports hard kbd mapping (and switching bet layouts by pressing Alt + Space), they have a Russian language pack (Cyrillic & Phonetic), and it is all free.
I have never used it, but remembered coming accross it a while back and decided to check it out for you.
Hope it works
The Following User Says Thank You to ymmp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ymmp Ad-Free
16th December 2011, 07:52 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hey guys, thanks for your replies!

I will definitely check this application - i am not sure it supports all hardware keyboards in general (or just the g1/droid as written in the description), but I will give it a try if I get this phone

And yes, I will gladly help in creating a layout for a Bulgarian keyboard. Unfortunately I cannot create an application for switching between the layouts myself, as I am not a developer.

thanks again.
20th December 2011, 05:13 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
AnySoft does work
Got my phone and installed AnySoftKeyboard. It does allow for switching bet layouts on the MT4Gs, but does seem a bit quirky so far... (that's with Hebrew & English, you might want to experiment yourself)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes