FORUMS

[UPDATE] Weird problem with sd-ext --> PROBLEM SOLVED!?!

2,215 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
Post Reply Email Thread
22nd December 2011, 08:27 PM |#11  
itasoulas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizztone

I ll do opposite this tym ..I always make partition with minitool partition now m thinking of making it with cm5 for first time.may b it will work for me...or last option will be darktremor a2sd..

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk

I'm having the problem when partitioning through CWM so I don't think that will help you. Also Know that you said that you had partitioned with mini tool I don't think that easeus will also do it for me....

Still no response from a dev... too sad!
23rd December 2011, 12:44 PM |#12  
GerasVille's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne, Germany
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
You can backup your sd ext via Linux OS or just VMWare and a Ubuntu vm. Last time I have made a backup and formated the sd ext with mini tool and it start working again. But now I don´t want to format but find a new/better solution. Somewhere I´ve read the read only problem is caused by canceling the sd check and you have just to run it through...
23rd December 2011, 04:51 PM |#13  
Prawesome's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Error 404- Not found
Thanks Meter: 1,739
 
More
Since this problem is happening with various roms,it isn't a problem with the rom.
Try converting ext3 to ext4,this is not guaranteed to work but try it
23rd December 2011, 10:45 PM |#14  
itasoulas's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
Donate to Me
More
[UPDATE]Weird problem with sd-ext --> PROBLEM SOLVED!?!
OK...PROBLEM SOLVED!!! (At least for me) So here's the story...

1. I used this http://www.partition-tool.com/download.htm to partition sd. One primary fat32 and one ext3 1024MB partition. So I was sure sd was formated and partioned correctly (be ware, this program is a bit tricky but I am not gonna guide you through this - tricky at first but not difficult). Just make sure that the cluster size for fat32 should be 32KB and for EXT3 4KB. You should have something like this http://imageshack.us/f/810/65663741.jpg/ Partition sizes depend on your sd size and how much space you want to have on sd-ext. Just showing this to see what the outcome of the process must be.

2. Then placed the card on phone, started in recovery and then did a full wipe. As you know, when you wipe data/factory reset, sd-ext is also formated. I wasn't sure though what file system does CWM use to format sd-ext, that's why I did leave the sd on the phone.

3. So while in recovery, I pulled the card out, checked the card with Easeus and found that the sd-ext partition was not formated with a known file system, it said partition unkown!!!!!!! So I formated sd-ext with Easeus as an EXT3 again and put back in phone which was still in recovery. Then started to flashing things.

So far, everything is working great with link2sd (mounted sd-ext with ext3 when app first started - then reboot). I tested the hell out of it, created links for apps, then remove links, move apps to phone and opposite, lots of reboots and shutdowns to check if the sd-ext will stop working....After 180 apps phone works great, sd-ext is still there.

BOTTOM LINE
I think CWM has a problem when partitioning sd/formating sd-ext. Bottom line is when doing a full wipe, don't have the sd on the phone. Format and partition it with Easeus (or one of your choice) or delete files/folders you don't want with that. Remember, both FAT32 AND EXT3 should be PRIMARY!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to itasoulas For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift itasoulas Ad-Free
24th December 2011, 01:50 AM |#15  
makalolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag penang
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Let say i already flash rom...then i wan to create partition on my sd...do i need to flash rom again after i complete partitioning my sd? Now im running cynoace what sd ext i need to create 3 or 4? Any one can help me?

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
25th December 2011, 02:01 AM |#16  
makalolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag penang
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
i already create partition using CWM ... y CWM format my sd to ext2?
25th December 2011, 04:47 PM |#17  
GerasVille's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne, Germany
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
First you have to flash rom and after this let the Ace in CWM and format the sd via mini tool and insert it again. Then just reboot and enjoy
26th December 2011, 04:40 PM |#18  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizztone

I ll do opposite this tym ..I always make partition with minitool partition now m thinking of making it with cm5 for first time.may b it will work for me...or last option will be darktremor a2sd..

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk

use CW 5 for partition... link2sd ..ext3 type partition...enable settings everythng working fine and super smooth here.....

CM 7.2 bycooper kang+ics sunday final+ allinonescript..... === super smooth ace....

CLICK THANKS IF I HELPED YOU
27th December 2011, 06:06 AM |#19  
makalolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag penang
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
I alredy got prob with my link2sd....
Use to link 5 apps work ok and now keep showing link arror....
Uninstall and install back link2sd...but same prob here.....
What i need to do now?

Edit : mine already solve.....now my ext work fine already tested using link2sd .....now i already link almost 60 apps and work fine....

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
27th December 2011, 10:36 AM |#20  
makalolo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag penang
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambujpriyadarshi1991

use CW 5 for partition... link2sd ..ext3 type partition...enable settings everythng working fine and super smooth here.....

CM 7.2 bycooper kang+ics sunday final+ allinonescript..... === super smooth ace....

CLICK THANKS IF I HELPED YOU

Dude just back up your sd and format back with EASEUS PARTITION MASTER...and shoud b ok..... if you format your ext via CWM your partition not b come primary....press thanks if i help you....i just do it on my sd...and now work without any prob....already tested reboot many time and link unlink.....now its ok...

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
9th February 2012, 07:33 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks, It solved the same problem with me!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes