FORUMS

HOW-TO: Change your wireless routers channel to work better with the HP Touchpad

1,956 posts
Thanks Meter: 909
 
By Krunk_Kracker, Senior Member on 17th January 2012, 02:50 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
As we all know, some people are having issues with wi-fi being unpredictable and buggy on the TP. One method that seems to work more often than not is changing the wireless channel on your router. This is not a hard thing to do, but some people are having issue with accessing their routers.

This guide is for those of you on a Windows machine. Mac users, I have no idea what to tell you.

To start, we need to figure out what your IP address is. The quickest way to do this is to press Windows Key + R (Windows Key is beside left-alt). In the run box, type cmd and press enter. You should see a black box now with a blinking cursor. In this box, type ipconfig /all and press enter. Look for "Default Gateway" note this address down. Mine is 192.168.2.1 so we'll use this as the example.

Open up a new browser window or tab, and type in that IP address exactly as you noted it. You'll get a login notice, and this will differ depending on what router you have. Go to this website to get your default username and password: http://www.routerpasswords.com/.

Once you have access to your router, again, all of this will differ depending on the make and model of your router, but you need to look for a wireless tab. Once there, you need to look for something that says "Channel" or sometimes "SSID and Channel" (SSID is the name of your wireless)

After you have found the channel tab, use it to select a new channel. I've read that anything betwixt 1 through 4 works the best.

This is a vague walk-through, so please ask questions and I'll be sure to help.


:EDIT: Here's a good reference site for routers - http://www.portforward.com/
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Krunk_Kracker For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Krunk_Kracker Ad-Free
17th January 2012, 02:59 PM |#2  
TonyStark's Avatar
Retired Moderator - R.I.P.
Flag Malibu Point
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
More
Thumbs up
Great stuff bro. For sure to be added to and heavily viewed.
17th January 2012, 03:03 PM |#3  
Krunk_Kracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Florida
Thanks Meter: 909
 
More
Thank you sah.

I will continue to add to it. I'm trying to find a site I came across years ago, that actually had screenshots of all the popular routers GUI's...but not finding it.
17th January 2012, 03:10 PM |#4  
TonyStark's Avatar
Retired Moderator - R.I.P.
Flag Malibu Point
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krunk_Kracker

Thank you sah.

I will continue to add to it. I'm trying to find a site I came across years ago, that actually had screenshots of all the popular routers GUI's...but not finding it.

Did you try DD-WRT or Tomatoe? Another great source is WiFiPlanet.com

PS added to XRON Q&A as well
17th January 2012, 04:22 PM |#5  
Krunk_Kracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Florida
Thanks Meter: 909
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomween1

Did you try DD-WRT or Tomatoe? Another great source is WiFiPlanet.com

PS added to XRON Q&A as well

I wasn't going to use DD-WRT or Tomato because if someone knows how to install that, they won't need this how-to

It's the reason I didn't get screenshots of my router running DD-WRT
17th January 2012, 04:44 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag High Wycombe
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
http://www.portforward.com has got load of info on routers including screenshots. It's a bit OTT for the enquiries here, but will have some useful info on how to get into a router setup.
The Following User Says Thank You to dmarchant For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dmarchant Ad-Free
17th January 2012, 04:57 PM |#7  
Krunk_Kracker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Florida
Thanks Meter: 909
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarchant

http://www.portforward.com has got load of info on routers including screenshots. It's a bit OTT for the enquiries here, but will have some useful info on how to get into a router setup.

That's the one I was thinking about. I want to thank you, but I'm at my limit
17th January 2012, 06:26 PM |#8  
TonyStark's Avatar
Retired Moderator - R.I.P.
Flag Malibu Point
Thanks Meter: 11,220
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarchant

http://www.portforward.com has got load of info on routers including screenshots. It's a bit OTT for the enquiries here, but will have some useful info on how to get into a router setup.

Good call man
24th January 2012, 07:50 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Alternative to Changing Router Settings
I've posted this on the board a few times. You may find it to be a useful alternative to adjusting your router settings, since you can't change all the routers you encounter. This solution can be done just from your settings menu:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1461627
28th January 2012, 04:39 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
Donate to Me
More
WEP works best with both CM7 and CM9 for me, no drop off wifi. Set up a virtual access point in ddwrt
just for TP with WEP . Tried WAP and TP dropping connection frequently.
28th January 2012, 07:04 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag So Cal
Thanks Meter: 159
 
More
I don't have a touchpad yet, but the best channel would be the one hard coded on the device. As a general rule you should always set the channel of all your devices the same. I wouldn't know how to find the default channel though on this device.

Sent from my rezound.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes