FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] How to rollback from ICS leak.

229 posts
Thanks Meter: 89
 
By jazzyjames, Senior Member on 25th February 2012, 05:29 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
How to rollback from ICS leak

***THIS WILL WIPE YOUR DATA***

What you need:

EUU from Timmydean of 3.2.1 V4
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1307539

Your CPUID
Your CPUID was probably changed when you flashed the ICS leak.

How you can find it in the ICS leak

Download and install a terminal emulator from the market and enter in the following.

dmesg > /mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt

Copy that file to your computer and open it or open it in a text editor on your A500

Look for androidboot.serialno= and the number is listed is your CPUID.

***DO NOT PLUG TABLET INTO COMPUTER UNTIL STEP ******
1. Download and extract root-3.2.1-V4
2. Run PBJ20upgrade.exe (right click and run as administrator).
3. Click Ok on Make sure your ICONIA TAB is not connected to a computer. If a "New Hardware Wizard" window appears, click "Cancel".
4. Click Next
5. Let it install the USB drivers
6. Click Next on Go to Settings/Applications/Development to enable "USB debugging" (see the picture)
7. It will try and scan for the current image version and new image version, this will take about 5 minutes.

8.
Follow the steps to get your A500 into APX mode.
1. Turn off the ICONIA TAB by long pressing the power button for 5 seconds.
2. Use a paperclip to push the reset button, don't release it.
3. Press the power button for 3 seconds.
4. Release the power button
5. Wait for 1 sec and take out the paperclip.
6. Use the USB cable to connect ICONIA TAB and PC
7. Click Yes
THIS WILL WIPE YOUR DATA.

8. Type in your CPUID, click next.

This will reset your tablet to a Rooted 3.2.1. Once it boots up you can install Acer Recovery installer from the market and install CWM recovery and restore your ROM or flash a new one.
The Following 45 Users Say Thank You to jazzyjames For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jazzyjames Ad-Free
 
 
25th February 2012, 05:39 AM |#2  
wolverine423's Avatar
Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Thanks for writing this up.

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wolverine423 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift wolverine423 Ad-Free
25th February 2012, 07:42 AM |#3  
Ping192's Avatar
Member
Flag Hoofddorp
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Thanks, i did this last night. There is another way with CWM directly installed, so you can do a CWM nand restore immediately after the process. I'll post that later today. Currently at the swimmingpool for my son's swimming lessons.

Sent from my Ping192's Custom ROM using xda premium
25th February 2012, 03:32 PM |#4  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Flag Zaandam
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
On a501
this should work on a501 too right? coz i dont see any androidboot.serialno in my dmesg.txt

edit :- it works. dmesg > /mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt has to be issued in terminal within few seconds after we reboot the system.
26th February 2012, 09:12 PM |#5  
Sanien's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Thumbs up THANKS!
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzyjames

How to rollback from ICS leak

***THIS WILL WIPE YOUR DATA***

What you need:

EUU from Timmydean of 3.2.1 V4
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1307539

Your CPUID
Your CPUID was probably changed when you flashed the ICS leak.

How you can find it in the ICS leak

Download and install a terminal emulator from the market and enter in the following.

dmesg > /mnt/sdcard/dmesg.txt

Copy that file to your computer and open it or open it in a text editor on your A500

Look for androidboot.serialno= and the number is listed is your CPUID.

***DO NOT PLUG TABLET INTO COMPUTER UNTIL STEP ******
1. Download and extract root-3.2.1-V4
2. Run PBJ20upgrade.exe (right click and run as administrator).
3. Click Ok on Make sure your ICONIA TAB is not connected to a computer. If a "New Hardware Wizard" window appears, click "Cancel".
4. Click Next
5. Let it install the USB drivers
6. Click Next on Go to Settings/Applications/Development to enable "USB debugging" (see the picture)
7. It will try and scan for the current image version and new image version, this will take about 5 minutes.

8.
Follow the steps to get your A500 into APX mode.
1. Turn off the ICONIA TAB by long pressing the power button for 5 seconds.
2. Use a paperclip to push the reset button, don't release it.
3. Press the power button for 3 seconds.
4. Release the power button
5. Wait for 1 sec and take out the paperclip.
6. Use the USB cable to connect ICONIA TAB and PC
7. Click Yes
THIS WILL WIPE YOUR DATA.

8. Type in your CPUID, click next.

This will reset your tablet to a Rooted 3.2.1. Once it boots up you can install Acer Recovery installer from the market and install CWM recovery and restore your ROM or flash a new one.


Nice 1! As the fool I was I didn't make a backup before flashing ICS haha

Thanks man.
26th February 2012, 11:55 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Dalton
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Cant Rollback
EUUS Keeps stating my cpuid is incorrect when i enter the value at androidboot.serialno even though its correct help please what do i do?
27th February 2012, 12:01 AM |#7  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Flag Zaandam
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkensx

EUUS Keeps stating my cpuid is incorrect when i enter the value at android.boot value even though its correct help please what do i do?

Did you paste your cpuid with the 0x in front? if so remove them. add only 16 digits.
27th February 2012, 12:53 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Dalton
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vizzzy

Did you paste your cpuid with the 0x in front? if so remove them. add only 16 digits.

no i removed the 0x before pasting it and if i enter it a 2nd time it accepts it but progress bar looks and stays like this forever
[|||||||_________________________]
never moves passed that also the tab wont enter recovery says the recovery.img is incorrect or something to that effect.
27th February 2012, 11:15 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Dunno why but it says please download the newer image for the upgrade... then just an exit button... does nothin?
EDIT: Never mind... I re-read the post... but I accidentally pulled the USB while it was 'upgrading' is that a problem as now it doesn't work any more?
EDIT2: Oh thank god! It tells you when it works because it says enter Acer Download Mode in the top left in small writing. Seems pretty fool-proof and robust to me, thank you JazzyJames.
EDIT3: Oh crap it failed again... now it wants me to restart it.. :'(
EDIT4: All good 3.2 booted! Thanks again.
(I put all this up for the people like me so they don't have multiple heart attacks either.)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Scanlia For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Scanlia Ad-Free
27th February 2012, 12:53 PM |#10  
djh816's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 405
 
Donate to Me
More
Worked perfectly first try. Thank you!
27th February 2012, 01:16 PM |#11  
vizzzy's Avatar
Member
Flag Zaandam
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkensx

no i removed the 0x before pasting it and if i enter it a 2nd time it accepts it but progress bar looks and stays like this forever
[|||||||_________________________]
never moves passed that also the tab wont enter recovery says the recovery.img is incorrect or something to that effect.

That's more like your PC not recognizing your tablet in apx mode then. Make sure the driver is installed. If you go to device manager you will be able to check if the driver is installed or not.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes