FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM][HC][3.2.1] Ideapad K1 Rooted + CWM (14_14_120109 build)

55 posts
Thanks Meter: 266
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Greetings,

This is a rooted Rom for the Lenovo Ideapad K1. It also includes CWM version 5.5.0.4.

Original Thread at Rootz

-Already rooted with the latest version of Superuser.apk
-Google Apps
-build.prop changes to spoof Motorola Xoom (Was missing many apps from the market before, i.e. GTA III)
-Lenovo Market Removed
-Based off the 14_14_120109 US update
-Android Terminal Emulator
-OI File Manager
-Reboot to Recovery Widget/App
-init.d support



Flash at your own risk. I am in no way responsible for any damage done to your device. This will wipe your entire device except the EXTERNAL sdcard.

If you are using Windows make sure you have installed the APX drivers before continuing.

Nvflash Windows Drivers
md5sum: 9aa3a4814ca63366329d85a22ed01f64

To boot into APX mode
1. Power off
2. Hold down the Vol - and the Vol +
3. While holding the Volume keys down, Power on
4. The display should go black, and both LED's on either side of the home button should light up. This is APX mode. If using Windows make sure the drivers are installed

Instructions

Windows

1. Extract the K1_Stock_120109_nvflash_R2.zip contents to a directory

2. Double click the "flash-windows.bat" file

Linux

1. Extract the K1_Stock_120109_nvflash_R2.zip contents to a directory

2. Open a terminal and cd into the extracted directory

3. Copy and paste the following command
Code:
chmod a+x ./flash-linux.sh && chmod a+x ./files/nvflash
4. Run either
Code:
sudo ./flash-linux.sh
or from a root prompt
Code:
./flash-linux.sh

CWM Controls
Power = Back (Any submenu), Toggle Display (Main Menu),
Vol+ = Highlight Up
Vol- = Highlight Down
Home = Select

To boot into recovery
You can now use the built in app or widget to reboot to recovery
**Superuser may crash during the first couple of reboots to recovery. Dont worry
Or run 'k1recovery' from the terminal or adb

Notes
If you try to flash any of the OTA update.zip's, it will probably work, but you will be shut out of CWM and will not be able to get back in unless you reflash everything via nvflash

Downloads

K1_CWM_120109_Rooted_nvflash_R2.zip
md5: dc5264c761e96f9fb9f240924cf60217

K1_CWM_120109_M_GE_Rooted.zip
md5: 280e18ecf837bf030f0a0fe83ec3e824

updater_120109_R2.zip
md5: 48cb5fefac3dcfcb89cddde501ac3e27

updater_120109_M_GE_R2.zip
md5: ef45437e57d257e54054cf9b70a0fcd8

Honeycomb_statusbar_120109.zip - Idea by Shaztech
md5: df290cfd0125f1dde2255a8518cd493f
Restores the default Honeycomb Status Bar, with the favorites button hidden.
To Install:
1. Put the Honeycomb_statusbar_120109.zip on the external sd card storage (Internal will not work)
2. Boot into recovery (via Widget or App)
3. Go to install .zip from sdcard
4. Choose Honeycomb_statusbar_120109.zip and flash.

ThirdPartyAppsRestore.zip - People report loosing market apps after using this. Removing link until I have time to test
md5: dd3ed7584c4c4813277ec96f55e4023a
Restores all the third party apps that came with the stock Rom.
To install:
1. Put the ThirdPartyAppsRestore.zip on the external sd card storage (Internal will not work)
2. Boot into recovery (via Widget or App)
3. Go to install .zip from sdcard
4. Choose ThirdPartyAppsRestore.zip and flash.
If you want to remove any of the third party apps you can remove the apk from /data/app/temp

The device tree used to port CWM is posted in my github.
http://github.com/khanning

I will be in Freenode IRC room #ideapad-k1 if anyone wants to discuss development and to answer any questions.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to khanning88 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift khanning88 Ad-Free
 
 
25th March 2012, 10:59 PM |#2  
rezapatel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 350
 
More
Flashing this ROM. Finally taking a plunge to root the device - can't wait!

So far, the process has been simple and sweet - hope the entire flashing and post flashing process experience is sweet too!!

Thanks Khanning for such a quick turn-around to my request

---------- Post added at 02:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:45 AM ----------

Ok, it really was extremely simple. I'm rooted with a 14_14 and EXTREMELY happy! This opens multiple doors for me with this device now. Thanks again Khanning - you'r the man!!
26th March 2012, 03:55 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Thanks for the heads up, will try this out on mine, it has been quite limiting so far....

Any idea on how to change the country? Am in the UK so rather connect to the UK market etc.... Thanks
26th March 2012, 10:14 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hi, I got a European IdeaPad with integrated HSDPA and after flashing your rom, it doesn't show the 3g connectivity anymore, what can I do?

Please help!

Edit:
I also can't restore the original OTA .zip download from Lenovo because thet ablet isn't recognized as a K1 anymore! :'(
27th March 2012, 12:22 AM |#5  
rezapatel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 350
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by twe69

Thanks for the heads up, will try this out on mine, it has been quite limiting so far....

Any idea on how to change the country? Am in the UK so rather connect to the UK market etc.... Thanks

Try Market Enabler, that might help with the market region, although not sure since that probably uses gsm values to trick the market..

Sent from my HTC Vision
27th March 2012, 12:25 AM |#6  
rezapatel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 350
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrixan

Hi, I got a European IdeaPad with integrated HSDPA and after flashing your rom, it doesn't show the 3g connectivity anymore, what can I do?

Please help!

Edit:
I also can't restore the original OTA .zip download from Lenovo because thet ablet isn't recognized as a K1 anymore! :'(

That's because on this ROM, the tablet is cloaked to work as a Xoom tablet for full app compatibility on the market. If you can change that on the build.prop (I think that's where it is) manually, it should accept it.

Although like I was told the OTA aren't full version of the ROMS, you might want to find and use the full version? Just a thought - more experienced users can give better suggestions.

Sent from my HTC Vision
27th March 2012, 06:20 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezapatel

Try Market Enabler, that might help with the market region, although not sure since that probably uses gsm values to trick the market..

Sent from my HTC Vision

Will try that as is, since it currently thinks I am in America etc....

This includes google maps.... It will start off in USA then jump to the UK.....
Some websites seem to go to .com instead of sticking to co.uk......
Summer time started at the weekend here but the tablet did not change the time.....

Any idea what I can do for those problems? Thanks.....
28th March 2012, 12:35 AM |#8  
rezapatel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 350
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by twe69

Will try that as is, since it currently thinks I am in America etc....

This includes google maps.... It will start off in USA then jump to the UK.....
Some websites seem to go to .com instead of sticking to co.uk......
Summer time started at the weekend here but the tablet did not change the time.....

Any idea what I can do for those problems? Thanks.....

Try disabling the Geolocation option, you should find that under -
Settings -> Location and Security -> "Use location for Google Search" and "Use GPS Satellites" (try disabling these option).
28th March 2012, 06:14 AM |#9  
mrgman421's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Kerrville/Texas
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Super easy to flash and runs great and the status bar rocks.. that original was horrid

Sent from my Xoom using xda premium
28th March 2012, 04:57 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Awesome
This was the easiest install I think I have came across for an android rooting method. Runs so much smoother now. does the status bar write over and remove the lenovo bar? Any issues, thinking I am going to run this. Has anyone ran any performance tweaks, V6supercharge etc. Any benefit? Running much better now.


I did notice all my google apps updated to Play versions but the market still has not changed to the google play icon or version. Do i need to do a wipe cache etc?
28th March 2012, 08:01 PM |#11  
rezapatel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 350
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc52317

This was the easiest install I think I have came across for an android rooting method. Runs so much smoother now. does the status bar write over and remove the lenovo bar? Any issues, thinking I am going to run this. Has anyone ran any performance tweaks, V6supercharge etc. Any benefit? Running much better now.


I did notice all my google apps updated to Play versions but the market still has not changed to the google play icon or version. Do i need to do a wipe cache etc?

Am running autokiller memory optimizer and it definitely made the device faster. Also the free memory has been behaving nicely.

I flashed the stock staus bar too, ii have felt, this made the device faster too. The lenovo bar was pretty slow and would hang pretty frequently.

I have also change the home launcher to Go launcher ex, feels better and more standard as I have this on other devices too. Love the inbuilt task manager on go launcher.

I yet have to try out V6, would love to see the results. Although as earlier suggested by Khanning, delete the /data/firstboot folder prior to trying else the device won't be able to rebuild your Dalvik cache. I wouldn't try it without making a backup using CWM, incase it messes up and you need to revert.

Let me know the results if you try out V6.

Cheers

Sent from my HTC Vision
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes