FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

MMS Fix for Epics on Alternative Carriers With DIY Guide![ICS][CM9][AOKP][MIUI]

163 posts
Thanks Meter: 84
 
By mucus_android, Senior Member on 27th April 2012, 08:20 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
MMS Fix for Epics on Alternative Carriers

Works for ICS only, will not work on earlier versions of android.

Installation instructions
Please locate your carrier and ROM from the list below.
Download the fix
Copy to your sd card
Flash from recovery - this can and should be flashed over an existing installation.

Thanks!
Don't forget to say thanks to the devs and testers.
Alias8818: This wonderful fix is brought to you by his tireless efforts.
mucus_android, brian117: Guinea Pigs


Downloads

Further preconfigured fixes will be added as they become available. If you do not see your fix listed, please read the guide below.
AOKP ROMs
Virgin Mobile - AOKP build 34 | mirror
MMSfix.zip only provided by Alias8818

How-To Guide
Guide on how to get MMS working an ALL carriers.

Step 1:
Install MMSfix
DL mmsfix.zip
Load onto SD card
Flash via recovery
Boot to system
Code:
     Important notes
     This will add several APN lines to your device, and the different APNs will become active as you change your build.prop
     This deletes the telephony.db, allowing the system to rebuild it based on the new APNs
Step 2:
Edit build.prop
Use a root file explorer (I use ES File Explorer)
Make sure to mount system as writable, and that the File Browser is capable of root access.
Navigate to /system/build.prop
Open it with any onboard text editor (I used ES's text editor)
There will be two lines you have to edit and two new lines you should add
Find the following lines, they should be right next to one another
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310120
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Sprint
Edit them to read
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=Your Carrier's Numeric Identifier* please see attached for list of numeric values
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Your Carrier's Name* please see attached list for list of names
Add the following two lines
Code:
     gsm.operator.alpha=Your Carrier's Name* please see attached list for list of names
     gsm.operator.numeric=Your Carrier's Numeric Identifier* please see attached for list of numeric values
Save the changes and reboot your phone.

Step 3:
Test mms
Make sure mms is working, if it is - You're done!
If mms is not working, there is most likely an error in the entries to the build.prop


Numeric and Alpha values

Boost
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=50502
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost MMS
     gsm.operator.alpha=Boost MMS
     gsm.operator.numeric=50502
Cricket
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=31016
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Cricket
     gsm.operator.alpha=Cricket
     gsm.operator.numeric=31016
Metro PCS
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310027
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Cricket
     gsm.operator.alpha=Cricket
     gsm.operator.numeric=310027
Sprint (do you really need this?)
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310120
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Sprint
     gsm.operator.alpha=Sprint
     gsm.operator.numeric=310120
Verizon
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310004
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Verizon
     gsm.operator.alpha=Verizon
     gsm.operator.numeric=310004
Virgin Mobile US
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311490
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile US
     gsm.operator.alpha=Virgin Mobile US
     gsm.operator.numeric=311490
Thank you for reading this guide.

Further reading
brooksyx's thread on MMS fix for virgin mobile.
He address the issue differently, and it did not completely work for me.
The issue is likely related to the APNs.
But please read his thread and check out the zip file he includes, he goes about the setup differently
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1491189

Pics!

The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to mucus_android For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mucus_android Ad-Free
 
 
27th April 2012, 08:22 AM |#2  
Alias8818's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 964
 
Donate to Me
More
That was so worth it.
Thanks for your patience too, mucus.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Alias8818 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Alias8818 Ad-Free
27th April 2012, 04:23 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Does MMSfix.zip work for all roms, or is it ics-only? I don't mind editing my build.prop but i'm not clear on what the MMSfix zip does. I am running the lastest CM7 rc1 update1
27th April 2012, 04:26 PM |#4  
mucus_android's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antipasta

Does MMSfix.zip work for all roms, or is it ics-only? I don't mind editing my build.prop but i'm not clear on what the MMSfix zip does. I am running the lastest CM7 rc1 update1

Quote from OP regarding mmsfix
Quote:

Important notes
This will add several APN lines to your device, and the different APNs will become active as you change your build.prop
This deletes the telephony.db, allowing the system to rebuild it based on the new APNs

This will not work on cm7
The Following User Says Thank You to mucus_android For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mucus_android Ad-Free
27th April 2012, 05:10 PM |#5  
AnDrOpErZ's Avatar
Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
I tested this on CM9 Cricket Build, And it works. Thanks for the useful information.
The Following User Says Thank You to AnDrOpErZ For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AnDrOpErZ Ad-Free
27th April 2012, 05:17 PM |#6  
mucus_android's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnDrOpErZ

I tested this on CM9 Cricket Build, And it works. Thanks for the useful information.

Thank you for the information!
I am glad that it works for you!
27th April 2012, 10:04 PM |#7  
explosivequack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Works on cricket for receiving, can't send though oddly enough.
27th April 2012, 10:55 PM |#8  
mucus_android's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by explosivequack

Works on cricket for receiving, can't send though oddly enough.

are you sure you entered your information correctly? and are you using stock mms.apk?
27th April 2012, 11:14 PM |#9  
explosivequack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucus_android

are you sure you entered your information correctly? and are you using stock mms.apk?

I'm pretty sure I entered it correctly and I'm using a themed mms.apk its the b34 one but I'll go back to stock one now see if that changes it

Edit: same thing although I sent a picture to my gf and she got part of it but it never actually said it sent. But receiving is more than I've ever got from any mms fix so thanks

1 more edit: redownloaded and installed and it works now
The Following User Says Thank You to explosivequack For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift explosivequack Ad-Free
28th April 2012, 01:32 AM |#10  
mucus_android's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by explosivequack

I'm pretty sure I entered it correctly and I'm using a themed mms.apk its the b34 one but I'll go back to stock one now see if that changes it

Edit: same thing although I sent a picture to my gf and she got part of it but it never actually said it sent. But receiving is more than I've ever got from any mms fix so thanks

1 more edit: redownloaded and installed and it works now

I knew you could do it!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mucus_android For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mucus_android Ad-Free
29th April 2012, 05:28 AM |#11  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Step 2:
Edit build.prop
Use a root file explorer (I use ES File Explorer)
Make sure to mount system as writable, and that the File Browser is capable of root access.
Navigate to /system/build.prop
Open it with any onboard text editor (I used ES's text editor)
There will be two lines you have to edit and two new lines you should add
Find the following lines, they should be right next to one another
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310120
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Sprint
Edit them to read
Code:
     ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=Your Carrier's Numeric Identifier* please see attached for list of numeric values
     ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Your Carrier's Name* please see attached list for list of names
Add the following two lines
Code:
     gsm.operator.alpha=Your Carrier's Numeric Identifier* please see attached for list of numeric values
     gsm.operator.numeric=Your Carrier's Name* please see attached list for list of names
Save the changes and reboot your phone.



I think the OP made a mistake here. He put that the gms.operator.alpha= carrier's numeric identifier, but it's suppose to be the carrier's name and vice versa!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lokoz89 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lokoz89 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes