FORUMS

[Q] how to get Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2 working ?

41 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By maicod, Member on 28th April 2012, 01:02 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi I own a Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2 and the receiver has an USB plug that I inserted into the USB port of the Asus USB adapter that I bought as an accessory for the TF101.

I tried playing Cordy with it but nothing happens and I don't see the Rumblepad in Android settings-->Language&Inputs.

I'm using Honeycomb but maybe I need ICS for it to work ? Has anyone else got this kind of Gamepad or at least one made by Logitech to work with the TF101 ?
29th April 2012, 12:23 PM |#2  
*Phi*'s Avatar
Member
Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maicod

Hi I own a Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2 and the receiver has an USB plug that I inserted into the USB port of the Asus USB adapter that I bought as an accessory for the TF101.

I tried playing Cordy with it but nothing happens and I don't see the Rumblepad in Android settings-->Language&Inputs.

I'm using Honeycomb but maybe I need ICS for it to work ? Has anyone else got this kind of Gamepad or at least one made by Logitech to work with the TF101 ?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...highlight=xbox

follow the instruction here but instead use this file i have attached. the instructions there are for the xbox controller, so use this file as its for the logictech controller, the axis are reversed on the xbox one.

the file isnt my work, cant remember where i took it from.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.2 KB, 2141 views)
1st May 2012, 05:18 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...highlight=xbox

follow the instruction here but instead use this file i have attached. the instructions there are for the xbox controller, so use this file as its for the logictech controller, the axis are reversed on the xbox one.

the file isnt my work, cant remember where i took it from.

Thanks ! on my rooted Transformer with Honeycomb I exactly followed the instructions but replaced the line 'cp Vendor_045e_Product_028e.kl Vendor_2378_Product_100a.kl' with 'cp Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.kl Vendor_2378_Product_100a.kl' and then rebooted my Transformer and then I connected my Logitech Rumblepad but nothing happens and I don't see it appear under 'configure inputmethods'. In the Cordy game nothing happens when I press keys on my controller.
I thought maybe I should install the OnLive app but it fails because: 'If you get this message: "This item cannot be installed in your device's country", it's because the OnLive App is not currently available in your region. At this time, the OnLive App for Android is available in the contiguous United States of America (excluding AK, HI) and the UK.'
Any ideas ? What brand and type controller you use ?
2nd May 2012, 10:37 AM |#4  
*Phi*'s Avatar
Member
Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maicod

Thanks ! on my rooted Transformer with Honeycomb I exactly followed the instructions but replaced the line 'cp Vendor_045e_Product_028e.kl Vendor_2378_Product_100a.kl' with 'cp Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.kl Vendor_2378_Product_100a.kl' and then rebooted my Transformer and then I connected my Logitech Rumblepad but nothing happens and I don't see it appear under 'configure inputmethods'. In the Cordy game nothing happens when I press keys on my controller.
I thought maybe I should install the OnLive app but it fails because: 'If you get this message: "This item cannot be installed in your device's country", it's because the OnLive App is not currently available in your region. At this time, the OnLive App for Android is available in the contiguous United States of America (excluding AK, HI) and the UK.'
Any ideas ? What brand and type controller you use ?

my controller is the logictech wireless gamepad f710.

i guess we need to check a few things.

1. does the tf detect your controller, just plug in an move the stick, d-pad about. there should be some kind of action. there wont be any notification popping up when you plug in a controller so moving the sticks about is the fastest way to figure out.

you can type this in a terminal just to check if your TF is detecting your controller, just plugin type, disconnect usb and type again and you can see the change.

Code:
lsusb


2. does cory allow the use of gamepad? i dont have cory but i've used my gamepad on shadowgun riptide and soulcraft. soulcraft is free, so you may want to just try that one first. or another game that specifically said you can use a gamepad.

3. the below steps are for the mapping of button and axis. for example if you keep moving in one direction or like keep turning about with out pressing anything. then the axis mapping is wrong so you have to use the file like the one i provided to solve the mapping issues.

i'm not sure how much you know, so i'm trying to be as detailed as i can.

first connect your controller to the tf
type that in a terminal,

Code:
dmesg | grep usb
you should see something like the below along with other messages if you dont see any messages try just typing

Code:
dmesg
you'll get long bunch of messages the most recent ones will be at the end.


[ 1425.766990] usb 1-1.1: New USB device found, idVendor=0424, idProduct=3803

this was my file Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.kl
when you located yours you would change it to Vendor_0424_Product_3803.kl using the example from above, yours maybe different.

then you do the "cp Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.kl Vendor_your_gamepad"
and that should fix the mapping.


you can also try this https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mepadime&hl=en

as a last resort you can try that link above, found it during my search on how to fix the mapping issues. tried it but didnt do much for me.

let me know if it works, i've use xbox, PS3 and this Logitech controller on my tf, hehe but do try other games to check, most controllers should have no issues connecting, only problems will be the mapping issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to *Phi* For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift *Phi* Ad-Free
4th May 2012, 04:48 AM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
First of all thanks alot for your extensive help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

my controller is the logictech wireless gamepad f710.

i guess we need to check a few things.

1. does the tf detect your controller, just plug in an move the stick, d-pad about. there should be some kind of action. there wont be any notification popping up when you plug in a controller so moving the sticks about is the fastest way to figure out.

absolutely nothing happens on the Eee pad screen
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

you can type this in a terminal just to check if your TF is detecting your controller, just plugin type, disconnect usb and type again and you can see the change.

Code:
lsusb

it indeed changes:
Code:
# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002

# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 046d:c219
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*


2. does cory allow the use of gamepad? i dont have cory but i've used my gamepad on shadowgun riptide and soulcraft. soulcraft is free, so you may want to just try that one first. or another game that specifically said you can use a gamepad.

I think CorDy does but to be sure I installed shadowgun and use it as a test game from now on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*


3. the below steps are for the mapping of button and axis. for example if you keep moving in one direction or like keep turning about with out pressing anything. then the axis mapping is wrong so you have to use the file like the one i provided to solve the mapping issues.
i'm not sure how much you know, so i'm trying to be as detailed as i can.
first connect your controller to the tf
type that in a terminal,

Code:
dmesg | grep usb
you'll get long bunch of messages the most recent ones will be at the end.

I got this code. Android detects my Rumblepad 2 fine as you can see :

Code:
<6>[ 1964.177772] usb 1-1: new low speed USB device using tegra-ehci and address 11
<6>[ 1964.278501] usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=046d, idProduct=c219
<6>[ 1964.278561] usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=1, SerialNumber=0
<6>[ 1964.278610] usb 1-1: Product: Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
<6>[ 1964.278650] usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Logitech
<4>[ 1964.287720] device: 'usbdev1.11': device_add
<6>[ 1964.337601] tegra_ehci_usb3_clk_check: usb3_emc_clk->refcnt=0,sclk->refcnt=0
My product ID=c219 so I renamed your Vendor_046d_Product_c21f.kl to Vendor_046d_Product_c219.kl and placed it on the /system/usr/keylayout/ map and rebooted and reconnected my Gamepad

I started Shadowgun and a new game but the warrior doesn't move at all (I pressed every key or stick there is on my gamepad)

btw the green light in the receiver flashes when I press buttons/sticks so the gamepad/receiver linking works fine and it gets power from the Eee pad

I really don't understand why my gamepad still doesn't work since it is detected fine as you could see with my 'dmesg |grep usb' command
I think its got nothing to do with keymappings since you said I should've seen some 'action' in the normal android screen already when I press buttons on the Gamepad

Only difference I can see with you is that yours is a Transformer Prime and mine a TF101 (1st gen Eee pad)

Any other ideas to get my Gamepad working ? My Eee pad doesn't have to run ICS for making the Gamepad work huh ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*


you can also try this https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...mepadime&hl=en

as a last resort you can try that link above, found it during my search on how to fix the mapping issues. tried it but didnt do much for me.

let me know if it works, i've use xbox, PS3 and this Logitech controller on my tf, hehe but do try other games to check, most controllers should have no issues connecting, only problems will be the mapping issues.

I installed it and then a Gamepad entry in the Android input settings appeared. I enabled it and rebooted but the Gamepad still didnt work.
5th May 2012, 10:45 AM |#6  
*Phi*'s Avatar
Member
Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
man feel bad for you, these sort of "detect but dont work" feeling drives me nuts.

my transformer is the old one (b60 series), and the rom i was using is Prime 2.1( honeycomb 3.2)
i've just upgraded to ICS (team EOS build).

if you are using honeycomb, is your version 3.2 ? i think i remember some mention that the 3.1 or 3.0 didnt support gamepads, and that asus put in support in the 3.2 version.

maybe you can try one of the custom roms? the ICS builds are not too bad, but still have bugs here and there. the Honeycomb ones are more stable. i like the Prime 2.1 cause it remains as close to stock with improvements, like overclocking and some kernel tweaks. same thing before flashing,always nandroid and backup first.

good luck!!
11th May 2012, 12:32 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

man feel bad for you, these sort of "detect but dont work" feeling drives me nuts.

Yeah me too ! Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

my transformer is the old one (b60 series), and the rom i was using is Prime 2.1( honeycomb 3.2)
i've just upgraded to ICS (team EOS build).

we're both lucky to have an earlier model for reasons of APX/NVFLASH. Mine is a B50 but I bought it only 3 months ago. Probably old stock in the shop where I bought it

I misunderstood your use of the word Prime. I thought you meant Transformer Prime but you meant Prime 2.1 ROM for TF101. confusing

To be sure I also installed the ICS from Team EOS (to try it out) but my gamepad still doesnt work

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

if you are using honeycomb, is your version 3.2 ? i think i remember some mention that the 3.1 or 3.0 didnt support gamepads, and that asus put in support in the 3.2 version.

I used 3.2.1 (8.6.5.21) so that was not the reason it doesnt work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Phi*

maybe you can try one of the custom roms? the ICS builds are not too bad, but still have bugs here and there. the Honeycomb ones are more stable. i like the Prime 2.1 cause it remains as close to stock with improvements, like overclocking and some kernel tweaks. same thing before flashing,always nandroid and backup first.

good luck!!

as I already said I tried ICS from TEAM EOS. I'm not sure trying out Prime 2.1 would make my gamepad work since with Team EOS it doesnt work either or do you have a good reason why Prime 2.1 could make it work ?
3rd March 2013, 09:44 AM |#8  
GigiAUT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Found an app that detects the Rumblepad 2
Hey guys. I've been trying to get my cordless Rumblepad working as well and I followed all the instructions here but still nothing. I downloaded USB Device Info and my device is definitely picking it up, so I decided to do a sweep in the Play Store one more time.

I found an app that actually worked. Granted it's a paid app (I was a bit sceptical at first) and not a free solution, but that's not a problem for me. I'm happy to have my controller working. I just need to play around with the settings a little and see what I can fix. The buttons in Gensoid aren't the way I mapped them so that's a bit strange. Otherwise, the controller is there and it does work with games. There's even Touch Input Mapping like in SixAxis.

USB/BT Joystick Centre 6

Again, the app does cost a few Euros (about €3,50) but like I said, it's working for me. You can always get your refund if it doesn't work.
The Following User Says Thank You to GigiAUT For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift GigiAUT Ad-Free
30th January 2017, 06:38 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
@GigiAUT: The App was not found in the playstore. What is actually the best solution for Rumblepad 2 (Wireless)?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes