FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

I may have solved the famous battery problem on Nook & Nook Touch!

2 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By foredog, Junior Member on 20th June 2012, 01:05 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

I've been using Nook for two years and Nook Simple Touch for 5 months or so.

I've rooted both my devices and used them that way (until my original Nook got those screen problems and became unusable)

Starting from first days I realized that the battery life was quite shorter than advertised. In fact it was almost unacceptable, like draining %10-15 a day while standing by (at the regular screensaver)

First I thought this was caused by the rooting and custom firmware. I tried the regular disabling of services, but to no avail. After a while I decided to return to the stock 1.1 firmware (on NST). To my horror I saw that nothing changed. Then I rerooted the hardware, still same.

One day, while I was reading a book I got a call and had to leave the house very fast. Thus I bagged the NST and got out of the house.

After returning home, I left that bag in my living room and did not open it for five days. After five days I picked up the NST, which was %70 charged five days ago, sure that I had to charge it again. To my surprise I saw that the charge was still %62. How could this happen, I began to querry. And remembered that I did not manually activate the screensaver -which was my general behaviour.

After that day I did not manually activate the screensaver even once and the battery drain is never more than 1-2%/day.

I'm not an Android developer, I'm a regular computer guy (using computers for almost 30 years) but I have strong gut feeling that this may be the problem, that manually activating the screensaver is not same as activation after a time out.

I guess many people over here, being -not regular users but optimization obsessed technical people- prefer to activate the screensaver manually. Thus they have the drain problem.