[REF] Recover AT&T Note to GB Factory with Kies (Will NOT trip your flash counter!!)

55 posts
Thanks Meter: 64
 
By deadman_raziel, Member on 25th June 2012, 05:40 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Yes, I'm aware that this isn't the accepted way, but it DOES work even with a custom rom & rooted!!

You MUST have Kies full installed on the desktop/laptop and make sure you're updated to the latest version.

1) Boot your note into download mode
2) Connect your Note to the laptop with factory USB cable
2) Launch Kies on your desktop (full version)
4) Choose Tools, Firmware upgrade & initialization
a) While in download mode, pull battery and enter the S/N & model name (ALL CAPS!!)
b) It will prompt to initialize to original settings. Click "YES"
c) It will prompt to initialize the latest version. Click "YES"
d) It will download the firmware upgrade components (DO NOT DISCONNECT THE DEVICE!!)

5) It will prompt for firmware upgrade and initialization.
a) Click check box for reading above information
b) Click your choice if you want your information saved on Samsung Kies corporate servers (I choose WITHOUT saving).

Just kick back, wait and the phone will update to the original out of box software with the latest updates already applied. No issue with anything, no tripping of the flash counter, and Samsung/AT&T knows now different (if you tripped the counter back before performing this, or performed the process of installing CWM recovery through ADB as to NOT trip the flash counter when changing recovery).

This is the EXACT process I did, and had an AT&T tech verify and it's not detectable I was rooted, and was running a custom ICS ROM. Now, I will qualify that I DID the Recovery installation with ADB so that I didn't trip the counter with the Recovery installation. So if they are able to check the binary information to detect modification even with flash counter reset, that's out of my hands and can't confirm or deny.

This is ONLY to reset to factory GB Latest & greatest for performing OTA/Kies update of ICS when it's finally released.
The Following 46 Users Say Thank You to deadman_raziel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deadman_raziel Ad-Free
25th June 2012, 06:09 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Tagged, thanks.
3rd July 2012, 06:59 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks for this. I just got my first android phone a few days ago and needed to go back to stock to return for a new one. I upgraded to ics, then recently flashed back to stock, but my baseband never changed and I was stuck with two on the counter. I'm super new to this and had an iPhone for 5 years, but I think I download the new cwm so I can reset the counter, then do the emergency download with kies and I should be back to stock out of the box, right? I just hope I can find an easy guide to get the updated cwm, I'll search in.the morning. Thanks again for the kies suggestion.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
3rd July 2012, 07:15 AM |#4  
tyler79durdan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 1:1.61803
Thanks Meter: 377
 
Donate to Me
More
So this "process" resets flash counter while installing factory image? Or would I need to use the reset file first? Please explain... And thanks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
3rd July 2012, 07:24 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
You need to reset the flash counter first

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
3rd July 2012, 04:21 PM |#6  
gregsarg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag B.F.E.
Thanks Meter: 4,212
 
More
Cool !!!
I'm gona try this...just because...LOL
Thank you !!!.....g

P.S.
If you want to avoid the battery pull for the serial/model info, it's located on your original packaging if you have it....Just throwing that out..
I hate pulling batteries....g
3rd July 2012, 05:53 PM |#7  
toyfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Worked!
Thanks. Tried it for the hell of it and yes, you need to follow the OP instructions exactly but success if you do.
3rd July 2012, 06:20 PM |#8  
blackj30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Thanks a lot. I've been looking for this, because event when i flash my note back to original rom, kies still didnt regconize the note.
3rd July 2012, 11:19 PM |#9  
Froid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag somewhere
Thanks Meter: 1,315
 
Donate to Me
More
:thumbup:
4th July 2012, 03:45 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I can say with a Rogers note all I got was some asian text and an ok button
4th July 2012, 10:42 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Worked perfectly! Thank you so much I just had to get cwm, reset the flash conter and let kies do all the work.


Thanks again~
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes