[Q] Bell Galaxy Note - 2100 mhz?

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By seoho0759, Junior Member on 30th June 2012, 06:16 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi all
I'm travelling to South Korea next week and I plan to pick a local prepaid sim card. I know Korean carriers use 2100 Mhz spectrum (except LG U+ a CDMA carrier) and when I checked to see if my note supports 2100 spectrum, I found out that it says WCDMA IMT 2000 [Refer to the attached image]

What do you mean by WCDMA IMT 2000? I know what a WCDMA is but if my phone supports 2100 mhz it should say WCDMA 2100, no? or is this another way of saying 2100?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-06-30-02-14-46.jpg
Views:	535
Size:	19.4 KB
ID:	1166151  
30th June 2012, 06:48 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Portland
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_gala..._i717-4374.php
Look at the bands supported in the general section. The note supports the 2100mhz HSDPA and 2100 mhz lte bands.
1st July 2012, 06:21 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Oh dear. IMT 2000 means International Mobile Telecommunications-2000, you might know it as 3G simply Nothing to do with frequencies but I can how confusing this can be when the IMT band http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands itself is said to be 2100MHz and yes, two Korean networks http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UMTS_networks operate on this band.
The Following User Says Thank You to bean1975 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bean1975 Ad-Free
1st July 2012, 08:36 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Im curious to see if it works in Korea or not. Im guessing you have your note carrier unlocked already. Please post results when you get to Korea please. Thanks.

Sent from my SGH-I717D using Tapatalk
2nd July 2012, 05:09 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag St. John's, Newfoundland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@bean1975
Ya i was really confused I was expecting to see WCDMA 2100 not IMT2000 lol

@chunsaa

Ya I will let you know when I'm there
4th July 2012, 06:41 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
If your galaxy note is an unlocked i717, phone call and sms works with korean carrier.

However, if you want to use a data plan, you need to set up APN.

bon voyage!
9th July 2012, 11:25 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Flag St. John's, Newfoundland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunsaa

Im curious to see if it works in Korea or not. Im guessing you have your note carrier unlocked already. Please post results when you get to Korea please. Thanks.

Sent from my SGH-I717D using Tapatalk

Works great on KT!
9th July 2012, 03:09 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Oh thats great to hear!! Thanks for the reply! Can I ask where you unlocked your phone and did you have to change any settings or anything or was it just straight plug and play for the sim card? And i m guessing you are getting data there as well?

Sent from my SGH-I717D using Tapatalk
10th July 2012, 03:35 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Flag St. John's, Newfoundland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunsaa

Oh thats great to hear!! Thanks for the reply! Can I ask where you unlocked your phone and did you have to change any settings or anything or was it just straight plug and play for the sim card? And i m guessing you are getting data there as well?

Sent from my SGH-I717D using Tapatalk

I did it through cellunlocker dot net
I never had to changed anything on the phone it worked right away! and ya I'm getting data but be careful not to use a lot since prepaid could be quite expensive in Korea lol
10th July 2012, 03:57 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
You are awesome! Thank you so much!!! Enjoy your stay there

Sent from my SGH-I717D using Tapatalk
10th July 2012, 03:23 PM |#11  
rangercaptain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast of California
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
More
KT is best and you will get 3g/4g in the areas where they have 2100 band coverage. In older/non-urban areas they use 900 band and our phone (not talking about N7000) doesn't have that frequency. You will drop to EDGE or lower. You can still use data there but it will be sllooowww.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
question

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes