FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

CWM Recovery v5.5.0.4 for A70x

127 posts
Thanks Meter: 383
 
By ZeroNull, Senior Member on 1st July 2012, 06:34 PM
Thread Closed Email Thread
EDIT FROM THE ARCHANGEL: DO NOT USE THIS RECOVERY IT WILL BRICK YOUR TAB,btw i pulled the links



CWM Recovery v5.5.0.4 for A70x

Attention!
At the moment CWM recovery is not workable! Its use can lead to non-functionality of your tablet! For details see here.


Original article is published on this site and created by ZeroNull and steaven_zw (4pda.ru).

How to:
1. Boot your device.
2. On a tablet: "Settings" -> "Applications" -> "Development" -> "USB debugging" switch on. Connect the tablet to your PC. Be sure to install the latest driver for the tablet.
3. Download the archive and extract it to any convenient location on your computer.
4. Unlock your bootloader for fastboot, follow here. Then reboot a tablet.
5. Open the directory with the unpacked archive. Execute file:
for windows with the rights of administrator:
Code:
flash-cwm.bat
Recovery is installed.

Reboot again with Volume- and see whether you can still access recovery (or use the following command):
Code:
adb reboot recovery
PS: If you can not use this instruction, look here.
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to ZeroNull For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ZeroNull Ad-Free
 
 
1st July 2012, 09:37 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
You're the man.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda app-developers app
1st July 2012, 09:44 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Galaxy S, quadrant 2
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
should the boot image be patched our does that not matter
1st July 2012, 10:05 PM |#4  
Kenny94's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thumbs up
Works great thanks for your awesome work again.
1st July 2012, 11:14 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quick questions for you ZeroNull:

Do we have to unlock bootloader first (I suppose we do) ?

Do we have to be rooted first (I suppose we don't) ?

If we don't have to be rooted first, can we root after just by flashing the supersu.zip by Chainfire from recovery (I would suppose we can) ?

Thanks a lot, again.

EDIT: I just checked and saw that the recovery in this package is the same size as the "rooting.img" in the generic root package from you. I suppose that means it is a temp recovery that you use to root the tab ? Which means we can gain root from recovery so flashing supersu from this recovery should work... just trying to understand what's going on, for my own knowledge

EDIT 2: I just opened the .bat file and saw there was some disabling at the end for recovery.sh
I also opened an Acer rom and saw inside the zip that there was some stuff about recovery.sh
From what I can understand, it looks like you disable something that Acer wants to do. What is it exactly ?
If I reflash an Acer stock rom from CWM recovery, will the recovery be reflashed with stock one, or does your script takes care of that ?
Again, just trying to understand.
2nd July 2012, 12:17 AM |#6  
bucklyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Still looking for a stock .017 US ROM image...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latoc

Quick questions for you ZeroNull:

Do we have to unlock bootloader first (I suppose we do) ?

Do we have to be rooted first (I suppose we don't) ?

If we don't have to be rooted first, can we root after just by flashing the supersu.zip by Chainfire from recovery (I would suppose we can) ?

Thanks a lot, again.

EDIT: I just checked and saw that the recovery in this package is the same size as the "rooting.img" in the generic root package from you. I suppose that means it is a temp recovery that you use to root the tab ? Which means we can gain root from recovery so flashing supersu from this recovery should work... just trying to understand what's going on, for my own knowledge

EDIT 2: I just opened the .bat file and saw there was some disabling at the end for recovery.sh
I also opened an Acer rom and saw inside the zip that there was some stuff about recovery.sh
From what I can understand, it looks like you disable something that Acer wants to do. What is it exactly ?
If I reflash an Acer stock rom from CWM recovery, will the recovery be reflashed with stock one, or does your script takes care of that ?
Again, just trying to understand.

Since you are apparently still running the stock .017 US ROM, could you make (and post or PM me) a backup copy that could be used to re-flash to stock?

Thanks,

I am currently flashed and running the .025_EMA_CUS1 ROM with teh new CWM recovery... all went very well!
2nd July 2012, 12:19 AM |#7  
Itchiee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere Else
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
You'll have to unlock the boot-loader to flash a recovery, but you don't need to be rooted for this to happen.You root the operating system to gain access behind the scenes....A recovery such as CWM (this) is the first step for you to flash non signed ROMs (modified) without the system denying you. Then you can flash an already rooted (or tweaked) ROM once they are available, but as of right now there aren't any.

So unlock boot-loader, flash this, then root your ROM...
The Following User Says Thank You to Itchiee For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Itchiee Ad-Free
2nd July 2012, 12:22 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucklyv

Since you are apparently still running the stock .017 US ROM, could you make (and post or PM me) a backup copy that could be used to re-flash to stock?

Thanks,

I am currently flashed and running the .025_EMA_CUS1 ROM with teh new CWM recovery... all went very well!

Sorry, but I'm currently running this: SDs_Acer_AV043_A700_RV07RC06_EMEA_FR.zip

It is a french leak, but you can get it from the rom thread so I'm not going to be able to help you much on this.

By the way, did you root before pushing this recovery or did you just unlock the bootloader ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Latoc For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Latoc Ad-Free
2nd July 2012, 01:45 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itchiee

You'll have to unlock the boot-loader to flash a recovery, but you don't need to be rooted for this to happen.You root the operating system to gain access behind the scenes....A recovery such as CWM (this) is the first step for you to flash non signed ROMs (modified) without the system denying you. Then you can flash an already rooted (or tweaked) ROM once they are available, but as of right now there aren't any.

So unlock boot-loader, flash this, then root your ROM...

Ok cool.

Last question then: can I root by just flashing supersu.zip from CWM ?
2nd July 2012, 02:11 AM |#10  
Itchiee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere Else
Thanks Meter: 437
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latoc

Ok cool.

Last question then: can I root by just flashing supersu.zip from CWM ?

No, you'll have to use one of the scripts in the rooting threads unless someone creates a flashable root.
The script I used automatically installed su and busy box.
2nd July 2012, 02:22 AM |#11  
bucklyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Latoc

Sorry, but I'm currently running this: SDs_Acer_AV043_A700_RV07RC06_EMEA_FR.zip

It is a french leak, but you can get it from the rom thread so I'm not going to be able to help you much on this.

By the way, did you root before pushing this recovery or did you just unlock the bootloader ?

Mine was both rooted and s-off... I am hoping the ROM development for the ACER takes off now that it is rooted and a recovery is working. Bought this over waiting for the Infinity to drop later this month (July)... hope it wasn't a mistake I will regret!

Thanks for the response.

Cheers!
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes