FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM][PORT] Paranoid Android

427 posts
Thanks Meter: 378
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Please read this carefully :

- BASE ROM by Kibuuka AOSP ICS 4.0.4
- PORT ROM from Mazda Team Dirt PARANOIDANDROID v0.2.1 for Supersonic aka HTC Evo 4G and Xylograph ParanoidAndroid for HD2

All the Credit and Donate go to :
1. Mazda [Team Dirt] (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1714415)
2. Molesarecoming aka PARANOIDANDROID (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1717079)
3. Xylograph
3. Kibuuka (you know where to find him)
4. Nop (you know where to find him)
5. TheManii (you know where to find him)
Please do me a favour, hit the THANKS button at least for above name list.

As usually, I take no credit at all for this rom because this is not my work, I'm not build this from the source, all I do is take the 2 rom, combine it, then try to make it boot on my device.
The rom from Mazda was made for running on HTC Supersonic, if running on DS5 sure it will have much problem and bugs.
All I can do just fix as much as I can, I'm not have experience in build rom, so do not expect too much on this rom.
I just want to share, not intend anything by making this, just have fun and feel excited when others ICS rom can running on my old device.
So lets have fun.


Not work
camera

Temporary work
wifi tether (use barnacle wifi tether from playstore)
headphone (use toggle headset2 from playstore, thanks to machbe 1984)


How to
Nandroid back up before flash.
Wipe cache and dalvik cache, factory reset from streakmod recovery
Flash rom
Factory reset from dell recovery
Be patience, phone need longer time to boot up, if it stuck on boot animation, press and hold power button untill phone shutdown and reboot again. This time will boot up.


Download link
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7e...oid_Streak.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip DSC_PhoenixICS03.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.96 MB, 396 views)
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to nom051205 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift nom051205 Ad-Free
 
 
28th July 2012, 03:44 PM |#2  
nom051205's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 378
 
More
How to have tablet ui
HOW TO MAKE ANY ICS ROM HAVE TABLET UI


Thanks to Veisen for his awesome work, you can follow his thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1767955


Tools
- Winrar or 7zip
- dex2jar
- hex workshop
- services.jar from ICS rom


How to

- extract services.jar from ICS rom (system/framework)

- use winrar to extract classes.dex from services.jar

- use dex2jar to compile classes.dex [ d2j-dex2jar classes.dex ]

- the result "classes_dex2jar.jar", use winrar to open and extract WindowManagerService.class form classes_dex2jar.jar\com\android\server\wm

- open WindowsManagerService.class in hex workshop, choose replace icon from menu bar, fill the pop up with



Find : 8E0009000A000000821B9900781D36061C36072A2A2A2A1506

Replace : 930009000A000000871B99007D1D36061C36072A2A2A2A1506 8617046E8B

click ok, then choose replace all, after that choose replace icon from menu bar again, fill the pop up with

Find : B11C36061D3607A7FF8B

Replace : B11C36061D3607A7FF86

click ok, then choose replace all



- save WindowManagerService.class

- replace WindowManagerService.class by winrar in classes_dex2jar.jar without compression

- use jar2dex and create new dex file [ d2j-jar2dex classes-dex2jar.jar ]

- rename it to classes.dex

- use 7zip to replace your classes.dex in services.jar

- copy the mod service.jar back to your rom or phone

- in build.prop change density to 128 and reboot.

Now you have tablet phone


I have tested it and the result are
- dpi 128 [phone not work, data and wifi work well]
- dpi 240 [everythings work well]

Feel free to try use other phone.apk and post the result here.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nom051205 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift nom051205 Ad-Free
29th July 2012, 04:48 AM |#3  
Crinos512's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Angry
Intriguing concept!

... too bad I cannot flash it. (using ClockworkMod 6.0.1.0)

tried redownloading 3x
29th July 2012, 05:34 AM |#4  
nom051205's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 378
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crinos512

Intriguing concept!

... too bad I cannot flash it. (using ClockworkMod 6.0.1.0)

tried redownloading 3x

Try use streakmod?

Sent from my Dell Streak using Tapatalk 2
29th July 2012, 06:14 AM |#5  
nom051205's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 378
 
More
Anybody success flash it ? I'm afraid there is bad upload.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
29th July 2012, 06:37 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Longyan
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Angry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crinos512

Intriguing concept!

... too bad I cannot flash it. (using ClockworkMod 6.0.1.0)

tried redownloading 3x

i have flashed it successfully by both StreakMod 0.3.2.8 and ClockworkMod 5.0.2.7
it has some interesting changes
i hope it will be better and better (such as camera and languages)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120729132127.jpg
Views:	3403
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	1228500   Click image for larger version

Name:	20120729133317.jpg
Views:	3371
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	1228501   Click image for larger version

Name:	20120729133116.jpg
Views:	3338
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	1228502   Click image for larger version

Name:	20120729133528.jpg
Views:	3219
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	1228503  
The Following User Says Thank You to manics For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift manics Ad-Free
29th July 2012, 08:07 AM |#7  
Edrill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Yep, was able to flash it too. Preferred the CM9 ROM though! To each his own, I guess!
The Following User Says Thank You to Edrill For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Edrill Ad-Free
29th July 2012, 11:27 AM |#8  
deysmacro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
More
i always thought that this rom is nice... and ... it is nice..
The Following User Says Thank You to deysmacro For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift deysmacro Ad-Free
29th July 2012, 01:04 PM |#9  
nom051205's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 378
 
More
My friend not believe that my old device can run paranoid android, same like his galaxy note untill I show him. He always laugh at me, said my ds5 is old enough and I should replace it with something new. Ha....this time I beat him

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
29th July 2012, 01:19 PM |#10  
deysmacro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nom051205

My friend not believe that my old device can run paranoid android, same like his galaxy note untill I show him. He always laugh at me, said my ds5 is old enough and I should replace it with something new. Ha....this time I beat him

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

streak 5 maybe old but it is still competitive hardware... and its large screen always beat others ( <5inch of course)

though i find it nowadays large screen is standard among south koreans...
29th July 2012, 11:35 PM |#11  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,644
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crinos512

Intriguing concept!

... too bad I cannot flash it. (using ClockworkMod 6.0.1.0)

tried redownloading 3x

Unless OP silently updated, I cannot confirm this.

What I mean is that it installed fine for me with CWM 6.0, though the way it mounts isnt the preferred way long term.
If anything it shouldnt be compatable with streakmod as it's using the newer format/mount syntax (it's rather complicated in how recoveries read the update scripts).

GApps is also included in it, perhaps you should remove it and point users to a Gapps package, either mine or the 'official' CM one.
ParanoidAndroid is a source based rom isnt it?

We do (preferrably) need a source port instead of a hackport as the rom still thinks it's an EVO
Perhaps when Kibuuka gets AOSP more closer to working 100%, we'll have more people building from source instead of hackports.
Unlike the S7/S10 CM9 ports (and this port of paranoidandroid), all the ICS based ones are currently hackports.


The S5 is terribly slow compared to the S7, it has the ram and nand space to run the newest roms, but the cpu is simply overwhelmed by new apps/stuff.
It's still plenty usable, but 1st gen snapdragons simply cant compare to 3rd/4th gen snapdragons (and their equivilent Exynos/Tegra chips).

It doesnt make it useless though, I still use my S5 ocasionally even though my S7 is pretty much better in every way (except size)


Edit: after reviewing this rom with Quadrant, it seems that the IO score is unusually low. This might explain why my S5 seems so slow with it installed, if it really is IO bottlenecked it could be bottlenecking the entire system.
The other scores are comparable with AOSP/ICS, but PA is signifigantly slower even though I did a fac reset before installing.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheManii For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift TheManii Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes