FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[NIGHTLY][ROM][4.1.2] CyanogenMod 10 for Acer A700

3,928 posts
Thanks Meter: 21,407
 
By pawitp, Recognized Developer on 31st July 2012, 03:15 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
CyanogenMod is a free, community built, aftermarket firmware distribution of Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean), which is designed to increase performance and reliability over stock Android for your device.

WARNING: I've bricked my tablet into APX mode around the 10th time of flashing this ROM (recovery froze and it rebooted into APX). The new (Update 1) recovery should be safer than the old one, but flash at your own risk!

Code:
#include 
/*
 * Your warranty is now void.
 *
 * I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
 * thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
 * do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM
 * before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
 * you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
 */
CyanogenMod is based on the Android Open Source Project with extra contributions from many people within the Android community. It can be used without any need to have any Google application installed. Linked below is a package that has come from another Android project that restore the Google parts. CyanogenMod does still include various hardware-specific code, which is also slowly being open-sourced anyway.

All the source code for CyanogenMod is available in the CyanogenMod Github repo. And if you would like to contribute to CyanogenMod, please visit out Gerrit Code Review. You can also view the Changelog for a full list of changes & features.

Device-specific source code for the Acer A700 are available from https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android_device_acer_a700 and https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android_kernel_acer_t30

Do not submit bug on CyanogenMod issue tracker

Downloads
Latest Nightly: http://get.cm/?device=a700
Google Apps: http://goo.im/gapps

Installation
  1. Install CWM recovery from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1791165 (note that the old touch version will not work because of incorrect default.prop from CWM builder)
  2. Do a Nandroid Backup!
  3. Install the ROM using ClockworkMod Recovery
  4. Optionally install the Google Addon
  5. Wipe data if coming from stock

Changelog
A rough changelog is (will be) available here:
http://changelog.bbqdroid.org/#/cm10/a700 or http://cm10log.appspot.com/?device=a700

Reporting Bugs

You are allowed to report bugs only in this thread.
  • Grab a logcat right after the problem has occurred. (Please include at least a few pages of the log, not just the last few lines, unless you know what you're doing.)
  • If it is a random reboot, grab /proc/last_kmsg. (Do not bother getting a logcat unless you can get it just before the reboot. A logcat after a reboot is useless)
Remember to provide as much info as possible. The more info you provide, the more likely that the bug will be solved. The following is a useful format to follow.

Code:
What is your--
Phone model:
Radio (baseband):
CM version:
CM Download url:
Gapps version:

Did you--
wipe:
 restore with titanium backup:
reboot after having the issue:

Are you using--
a task killer:
a non-stock kernel:
CMSettings/Performance settings (other than stock):
other modifications:

Provide any additional information (observations/frequency of problem/last version it worked on/etc) as needed:
The CyanogenMod team would like to thank everyone involved in helping with testing, coding, debugging & documenting! Enjoy!

Older pre-nightly Download
See this post.

Note to Official JB Users
Jelly Bean bootloader is only supported on 201212023-EXEPRIMENTAL and later NIGHTLIES.
The Following 38 Users Say Thank You to pawitp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
31st July 2012, 03:41 PM |#2  
Awesome!

will flash it later when back from work and provide feedback (too annoyed with the stock rom atm) so i will give it a go!


cheers
The Following User Says Thank You to Buster99 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Buster99 Ad-Free
31st July 2012, 04:17 PM |#3  
aticatac's Avatar
Member
Flag Duisburg
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Awesome! Pace is speeding up. Thanks for your efforts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawitp

...
[*]Install CWM recovery from http://www.mediafire.com/?9usi98fs7jpdf7w (the touch version in the other thread will not work because of incorrect default.prop from CWM builder)

...

The CWM is not the one from the "CWM Recovery 6.0.1.0 for A700" thread, right?

Cheers

Peter
The Following User Says Thank You to aticatac For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift aticatac Ad-Free
31st July 2012, 04:32 PM |#4  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 21,407
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aticatac

Awesome! Pace is speeding up. Thanks for your efforts.



The CWM is not the one from the "CWM Recovery 6.0.1.0 for A700" thread, right?

Cheers

Peter

No, read inside the brackets

The "CWM Recovery 6.0.1.0 for A700" has broken build prop and will cause the device check to fail.
The Following User Says Thank You to pawitp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st July 2012, 04:53 PM |#5  
aticatac's Avatar
Member
Flag Duisburg
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawitp

No, read inside the brackets

The "CWM Recovery 6.0.1.0 for A700" has broken build prop and will cause the device check to fail.

Actually, I did read inside the brackets, but the CWM in the mentioned thread is not a touch version, or so I thought, that's why I asked.

EDIT: Now I realised that we were talking about the exact same thread title.

Anyways, I will flash this one, give it a whirl and read twice or more next time.

Jeez, where is my mind...

Thanks again.
The Following User Says Thank You to aticatac For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift aticatac Ad-Free
31st July 2012, 04:55 PM |#6  
Webitu's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Does the CM10 include the performance update?
31st July 2012, 05:47 PM |#7  
does anyone else get e:Can't mount /sdcard/ ?
cwm tells me can't mount sdcard and emmc but data, cache and system mount fine (backup even stores on the sdcard under cwm folder)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120731_183712.jpg
Views:	1405
Size:	256.0 KB
ID:	1233591   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120731_184342.jpg
Views:	1387
Size:	256.7 KB
ID:	1233592   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120731_184352.jpg
Views:	1322
Size:	236.5 KB
ID:	1233593  
31st July 2012, 05:52 PM |#8  
Member
Flag Vienne
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Can you give us the MD5 CWM recovery ? Thx
31st July 2012, 06:06 PM |#9  
ups forgot the most important screen
just redid it same error


PS:
(used your recovery.img as stated above)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120731_190453.jpg
Views:	1331
Size:	243.8 KB
ID:	1233655  
31st July 2012, 06:11 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buster99

ups forgot the most important screen
just redid it same error


PS:
(used your recovery.img as stated above)

dou you have an external sd card?
31st July 2012, 06:35 PM |#11  
philhgw's Avatar
Member
Flag Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
looking forward for cm on the a511. have fun with your a700

Sent from my A511 using XDA Premium HD app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes