Official ICS on A501

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By RogerCurrier, Junior Member on 2nd August 2012, 05:29 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Just to let people know, Acer have come to the party and issued ICS version 4.0.3 on the A501 in New Zealand. It installed as a normal update this morning. Mother and child are both doing well!

Feels slightly snappier and of course things are not quite where they used to be but can usually be quickly found.

Now all I have to do is root it to get rid of the rubbish...er sorry Acer, I mean useful add-ons.

Trust this is not old news!

Rog
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RogerCurrier For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift RogerCurrier Ad-Free
2nd August 2012, 05:44 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Awesome! Any chance of posting a few screenshots?

What version of Android were you running beforehand? I'm still on 3.0.1 and still haven't received the ICS OTA (currently System Update says 4.031.26 is available however I'd like to go straight from 3.0.1 to 4.0.3 if possible) although so far it seems like ICS has only been pushed out to a few people
2nd August 2012, 08:03 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Waikanae
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ub3r21

Awesome! Any chance of posting a few screenshots?

What version of Android were you running beforehand? I'm still on 3.0.1 and still haven't received the ICS OTA (currently System Update says 4.031.26 is available however I'd like to go straight from 3.0.1 to 4.0.3 if possible) although so far it seems like ICS has only been pushed out to a few people

Pretty sure I was running 3.02, suggest it doesn't matter what your previous version is/was. No significant screen differences and I don't think I could manage a screen shot anyway.

Looks like they have updated the GPS configuration file to set it up for parts of the world other than North America which is a great improvement for me.

Guess they will be progressively updating to ICS throughout the world so it will eventually work its way round to you wherever you are.

Rog
2nd August 2012, 08:37 AM |#4  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,971
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerCurrier

Just to let people know, Acer have come to the party and issued ICS version 4.0.3 on the A501 in New Zealand. It installed as a normal update this morning. Mother and child are both doing well!

Feels slightly snappier and of course things are not quite where they used to be but can usually be quickly found.

Now all I have to do is root it to get rid of the rubbish...er sorry Acer, I mean useful add-ons.

Trust this is not old news!

Rog

Which build number did you get? .021?

MD
2nd August 2012, 11:21 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Waikanae
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moscow Desire

Which build number did you get? .021?

MD

ACER_AV041_1.021.00.WW_GEN1 Is this the latest build or has jelly bean made the question irrelevant?

Rog
3rd August 2012, 04:22 AM |#6  
gfinockio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Need to find that guide for going back to stock ROM...

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2
3rd August 2012, 11:10 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Gdańsk
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My Iconia A501 just updated the system in Poland.
ICS 4.0.3
version: 2.6.39.4+
image: Acer_AV041_A501_RV20RC5_WW_GEN5
compilation : Acer_AV041_A501_1.021.00_WW_Gen1

now i'm checking if everything is OK.
4th August 2012, 02:45 AM |#8  
gfinockio's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Is there a way to install this update straight from a custom ROM, or do I need to find a way to roll back to stock?

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 12:18 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfinockio

Is there a way to install this update straight from a custom ROM, or do I need to find a way to roll back to stock?

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2

I'd be interested in knowing it too....

Thanks i advance for any info.
4th August 2012, 02:23 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Anybody in the UK got it yet on a standard (not grey import) version?

As usual, we are completely in the dark again, thanks to Acer...

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2
4th August 2012, 03:54 PM |#11  
Member
Flag Alexandria
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I am also asking, anybody in Germany got it?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes