[How-to] Disable OTA updates on Stock + Rooted ROMs

798 posts
Thanks Meter: 523
 
By rocket321, Senior Member on 14th August 2012, 01:24 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
1. Download FOTAKill.apk and copy to your Phone/SD
2. Use a root explorer (such as ES Explorer) to copy the file to /system/app
3. If the update already downloaded, delete it from /cache
4. reboot

*Credit for the apk goes to the CM team and or whoever creates the gapps packages!

Alternate method if you have a custom recovery *E4GT ONLY*:
1. Download the Disable.OTA.Updates.zip file and flash in CWM (this will install fotakill and clear cach for you)

*Thanks to tdunham for alternate method!
Attached Files
File Type: apk FOTAKill.apk - [Click for QR Code] (22.5 KB, 5827 views)
File Type: zip Disable.OTA.Updates.zip - [Click for QR Code] (164.2 KB, 4521 views)
The Following 57 Users Say Thank You to rocket321 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rocket321 Ad-Free
14th August 2012, 03:01 PM |#2  
rocket321's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 523
 
More
Screenshot 1: FOTAKill.apk in the /system/app folder
Screenshot 2/3: Checking for updates on EL29 shows I am up to date

Been running my phone this way for a few days and have had no update prompts since I followed the steps in the OP.
BTW, EL29 gives CRAZY good battery life after getting use to the high drain on FF18/AOSP.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120814-090449[1].jpg
Views:	3822
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	1260682   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120814-090552[1].jpg
Views:	3356
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	1260684   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120814-090604[1].jpg
Views:	3386
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	1260685  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rocket321 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rocket321 Ad-Free
17th August 2012, 12:43 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 414
 
More
works great thanks
17th August 2012, 05:39 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
My system/app is a read only folder, how do I change the permission so I can paste the apk to the app folder?
18th August 2012, 04:16 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eversavage

My system/app is a read only folder, how do I change the permission so I can paste the apk to the app folder?

You need to be rooted and use a file manager (I use File Manager from the market) that supports root write access. Then set write access on the root and system folder from within the file manager settings. Then you can copy the files to the /system/app folder
18th August 2012, 07:28 AM |#6  
Member
Elk Grove, CA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eversavage

My system/app is a read only folder, how do I change the permission so I can paste the apk to the app folder?

I had to grant Superuser permission to my ES File Explorer program to allow me to copy the apk file to my /system/apps directory.
18th August 2012, 02:27 PM |#7  
montecristo1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern CA
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Fotakill did not work for me. OTA kept popping up. There is a zip file here on xda that you flash and finally fixed it. No more OTA.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
18th August 2012, 11:42 PM |#8  
rocket321's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 523
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by montecristo1

Fotakill did not work for me. OTA kept popping up. There is a zip file here on xda that you flash and finally fixed it. No more OTA.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

Glad you found a solution that works for you.

I will say my method has been applied for over a week with no update prompts so it seems to be a successful solution for me and others.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to rocket321 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rocket321 Ad-Free
20th August 2012, 09:55 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@montechristo1:
Which zip do you mean? I am also looking for a working solution for my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 P3113..
Thanks Ohm66

Quote:

GFotakill did not work for me. OTA kept popping up. There is a zip file here on xda that you flash and finally fixed it. No more OTA

20th August 2012, 07:00 PM |#10  
itbmd's Avatar
Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
What would the name of the folder be called in /cache? I am not sure if the update was downloaded or not. TIA.
23rd August 2012, 05:59 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Can someone explain how this works exactly? What is it doing to stop the notifications? Will this prevent me from being bugged to update to FH13 from FF18? -Grand
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes