FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM][2013.01.09] Lenovo A789,P700i,A660 custom ROM (ICS)

1,231 posts
Thanks Meter: 475
 
By cybermaus, Senior Member on 7th September 2012, 07:54 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
I made a clean ROM based on the factory ROM for the Lenovo A789, A660 and P700i

Cleaned up ROMs:
- A789_S227_cybermaus_V2 (below)
- A789_S228_cybermaus_V2.1 (further below)
Ported ROMs (ported from P700i):
- A789_ROW_S105_cybermaus_ICS_V3 (further below)
- A789_ROW_S106_cybermaus_ICS_V3.1 (Further below)(also for A660 and P700i)
- A789_ROW_S107_cybermaus_ICS_V3.2 (Further below)(also for A660 and P700i)

The current and advised rom to use is A789_ROW_S106_cybermaus_ICS_V3.21

Based on factory ROM A789_S227_120827, and located in my Dev-Host. It is as close to factory as possible, which I hope will be good for stability. It is a flash-utility ROM, because it also holds the latest preloader, uboot and recovery. Assuming those are OK, followup fixes will be update.zip style.

Summery of changes:
- Rooted the phone with Chainfire SuperSu
- Set to boot in US-english, changed name of ROM
- Added MoreLocale for extra languages in 3rd party apps
- Removed Chinese apps, incl Chinese keyboard, removed SmsReg.apk
- Left Lenovo Security (anti-malware) and Lenovo (Go) Launcher intact
- Added Google GAPPS, Play Store, Maps, etc
- Added MobileUncle toolbox, SManager (root explorer). Titanium backup (free version)
- Added fix for location services
- Added CWMT recovery image (modded from 593cn.com)
- Added Skype, Whatsapp, and some others, as auto-install into userdata upon wipe
- Prepared busybox (you need to run script /system/xbin/installbusybox as root if you want it)
- Replaced bootup animation with clean Lenovo butterfly
- Replaced all some audio files with english named ones (thanks mabuc)
- Caller ID bug still present, sorry
- Just as a reminder, these ROMS have English and Chinese only.

Instructions:

By default, the ROM will not overwrite USERDATA or FAT. If you want a clean slate, first extract empty.userdata.rar and/or empty.fat.rar

- Read bgcngm flash tutorial.
- Read it again
- Start Flash Tool (v3.1222, in my Dev-Host)
- Load scatter file
- Take out USB cable and replace battery
- Press the download button in the flash tool
- Connect the USB cable
- Wait for the flashing to complete


A789_S228_cybermaus_V2.1 (no longer current, Use V3 instead)

Based on factory ROM A789_S228_120913, and located in my Dev-Host. Similar to V2, but newer, and a few extra fixes. It should be noted that the S228 is listed to solve unexpected crashes, so an important update in itself.

I do not have a A789, so it is a blind build. Until I get positive feedback, consider untested. Don't be the first to try if you are not experienced.

Summery of changes:
- Same as on V2, and additional
- Removed 2 more chinese apps that I forgot last time
- Prepared busybox (you need to run script /system/xbin/installbusybox as root if you want it)
- Added a tweak so USB-Debug notification is no longer shown
- Added a tweak so Wifi works on all 14 international channels (rather than only the 11 US ones, may be undone if you set a different locale)

Instructions:

This is a update.zip type ROM. So you need the custom recovery, see post #3,


A789_ROW_S105_cybermaus_ICS_v3.03
Based on P700i_ROW_S105_120920, see this separate post.

A789_ROW_S106_cybermaus_ICS_v3.11
Based on P700i_ROW_S106_121001, see this separate post.
Please note that this ROM I also build for the P700i and A660. See same post.

A789_ROW_S107_cybermaus_ICS_v3.2
Based on P700i_ROW_S107_121221, see this separate post.
Please note that this ROM I also build for the P700i and A660. See same post.


Below:
Post #2: Small review and fix of location services
Post #3: Custom recovery image
Post #4: Root your phone / install GAPPS

Also, many issues for the A789 are similar to those of the A750, so if you have questions, do search that Lenovo A750 thread to.

Thanks


Also thanks to bgcngm for his help, and to jazzor for his help

=================

BTW: Due to new forum rules, resulting in a large number of people that cannot post into developer threads and that subsequently PM me, I open op a new Q&A thread.

I am not going to be policing, so you can post where you like, but I invite everyone to use this new thread for any Q&A, and this thread for ROM releases and deep development talk only.

Consequently, if you PM'ed me, look for your reply in this new thread

Thanks

====================

PS: do drop me a reply if you use or tried it! Or press the 'thanks' button.
The Following 53 Users Say Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
 
 
7th September 2012, 07:55 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
So, I got my first glimps at the A789. So to speak. My colleague was holding it while we were audio-skype, so I did not actually see it.

His A789 came with a Etotalk ROM by Dean, which I now suspect is a reworked Smileyvvv ROM with Sony Experia interface. Not bad, but as you know, I am a 'factory ROM' guy. My colleague may also be, because he had already replaced the the SE launcher with GO Launcher, which is the default Lenovo one. Also my colleague said it jammed a few times, which it still has not done on my factory A750 ROM.

Most of the phone worked, but a few tips for others out there:

- The phone still has the Called-ID bug. Even though it is newer 4.0,4. I know some of you claim this is solved on ICS Mediatek, but I still claim it is solved in *some* of the cases, not all, it also depends on how your provider sends the caller ID info. Anyway, you can work around it with the prefixer app as reported before.

- It did not come with the MobileUncle tool, but with the Etotalk tool. Which was not updated for the new MT6577 chip, so it had no Engineer Mode. Install the latest MU tool (version 20120813v2.2.0 its in my Dev-Host), so you get one with MT6577 Engineer mode.

- Recovery Mode was hard to get into. Like the newest A750 preloader, you have to press the power putton *just before* you press both volume buttons. But it did came with the CWMR Touch, though its Touch function was broken, so buttons only. They probably simply tried recovery images of other models, and did not properly build one with the A789 kernel, but it does not matter, it works well enough.

- Location services did not work. Update the phone with the ICS_locationfix_v1.3 update using recovery mode. While you are in recovery, also wipe cache. And finally, go into MobileUncle tool, the MTK Engineer mode, and in location settings, change the NetLoc from MEDIATEK to GOOGLE. Now your location services should work.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
7th September 2012, 07:57 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
Lenovo A789 Recovery
I created a recovery image for the Lenovo A789 based on ClockWorkMod Touch 5.5.0.4. However, I do not own a A789, so until I have reports of it working, consider it untested. You can download it from my Dev-Host: File A789_S22x_recovery_cybermaus.rar
NOTE: It has come to my attention this recovery works well, except the nandroid backup function, which is broken. If you value nandroid backup, install the APKHOT one below.

While doing this, I also found a full APKHOT distro which had what seems to be a CLockWorkMod (non-Touch) recovery in it, so I extracted that and also uploaded it. That too you can download from my Dev-Host: File A789_S22x_recovery_apkhot.rar

Both of them you will have to flash using the flash tool, using bgcngm's excellent manual, and the V3.1222 of the flash utilities and drivers, also in my Dev-Host. If you flashed my V2 ROM, you do not need to do this, as the recovery is already part of that.


Once you have the recovery installed, you can enter it by pressing both VolumeUp/Down while booting the phone. Due to an issue with the preloader, it may be needed to press the power button slightly before both volume buttons. If the phone seems stuck, it means the preloader messed up, remove battery and try again.
Inside the recovery (the Touch variant) you can navigate not only by its physical buttons, but also by screen buttons, and by gestures: swipe up/down for up/down, left for back and right for enter.

The first few people using this, please report your findings, good or bad.

PS: As alwasy, thanks to bgcngm for his unpack utilities, which I used to modify the recovery.img
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
7th September 2012, 07:57 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
Lenovo A789 Root; GAPPS, Location DIY
Its been mentioned before, but if you have a working recovery (like above, hopefully), you can always yourself root your phone. Simply install (from inside the recovery) chainfire's "CMW installable ZIP"

Link to his post: (ignore his big red requires root warning)
The file you need is labeled "CWM installable ZIP" at the bottom.
Direct link to the file you need to install via recovery update.zip

And while you are at it: You probably also want to install the latest Google Mobile Services (better known as GAPPS) from CyanogenMod V9:
Explaining wiki from CyanogenMod
The file you need is called gapps-ics-20120429-signed.zip and can be found here
You probably also want to wipe your cache partition after doing this.

To complete this DIY of fixing factory ROM: On Chine phone typically the location services do not work. Update the phone with my A750 V1.3 update using recovery mode. (it works on the A789 because it is a minor update, but *DO NOT* any of the other A750 updates on the A789. I repeat, do *NOT* flash A750 on A789). While you are in recovery, also wipe cache. And finally, go into MobileUncle tool, the MTK Engineer mode, and in location settings, change the NetLoc from MEDIATEK to GOOGLE. Now your location services should work.

Good luck

PS: If either update.zip refuses to install, remember to turn off the checksum and assert checks in the recovery.

And thanks to Chainfire for his work, and the team at CyanogenMod for theirs.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
7th September 2012, 08:03 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermaus

Before I can help, please provide some info:

Can you tell me what ROM you have?
Which flash tools did you use to root?
Also, do you have a working recovery?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hwonggc

I fix the proximity thingy. it's caused by my lousy screen protector. But i've got another bigger problem now. I've accidentally uninstalled the default system home screen. I cant assess anything now. I tried flashing a recovery inside but it still doesn't work as factory. I use SP flash tool v3.1.222.00

---------- Post added at 06:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:18 AM ----------

dont think my recovery is working. Could you please provide me with a working recovery? =(

Yes, a recovery is on the todo.

But for now, you did not answer my questions yet:
- Can you tell me what ROM you have? Or had. Original Lenovo Factory, Etotalk-Dean, some other?
- Which flash tools did you use to root? Or rather, which files did you flash using that tool to deal with root. Actually, the fact that you had to root it yourself probably means you had factory ROM, but please confirm.

As stated, I am uploading S221 original to my Dev-Host. Flash that with the flash tool. On short notice, that is all I can do. On longer notice, I will help you, but give me some time.

Edit: In fact: You you already have messed up your recovery, and I do not have a A789 to play with myself, you may be my guinea pig for the recovery build. So I will work on that today. (as today is not a working day for me anyway). If you do not mind being a tester. After all, the damage is already done, and you apparently already know how to flash using the utility.



EDIT: @ hwonggc : Please test recovery in post#3. Just update your post below with results, or PM me. I would like to avoid too many new posts on this while we are testing.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
7th September 2012, 08:49 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermaus

Yes, a recovery is on the todo.

But for now, you did not answer my questions yet:
- Can you tell me what ROM you have? Or had. Original Lenovo Factory, Etotalk-Dean, some other?
- Which flash tools did you use to root? Or rather, which files did you flash using that tool to deal with root. Actually, the fact that you had to root it yourself probably means you had factory ROM, but please confirm.

As stated, I am uploading S221 original to my 4Shared. Flash that with the flash tool. On short notice, that is all I can do. On longer notice, I will help you, but give me some time.

Edit: In fact: You you already have messed up your recovery, and I do not have a A789 to play with myself, you may be my guinea pig for the recovery build. So I will work on that today. (as today is not a working day for me anyway). If you do not mind being a tester. After all, the damage is already done, and you apparently already know how to flash using the utility.

Yes yes. I had the factory rom. I got the phone just yesterday evening and this afternoon it's half dead already. I use smart phone flash tool to root using a file i got from http://www.fight.org.ua/publications...novo_A789.html. Everything was fine until I deleted the original home UI and the apex launcher also. So there isn't anything I can do. I'm downloading the S223 from some russian site and try, hopefully I can find some luck there. Downloading slowly~ sighhhh.

---------- Post added at 07:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:40 AM ----------

BTW~ i'm willing to test out your rom too! I wouldn't want to sound too demanding, put please please put in the play store will ya?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hwonggc For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hwonggc Ad-Free
9th September 2012, 07:10 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
I posted the custom build, see first post. It may take a while before I can get it uploaded, I am on a bad link.

Also, there have been 20 downloads on the recovery image. Come on guys, someone must be able to provide feedback about it working or not!
The Following User Says Thank You to cybermaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cybermaus Ad-Free
10th September 2012, 08:43 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up A789_S227_cybermaus_V2 ROM is working
Hello
Thanks for Your work.
Your A789_S227_cybermaus_V2 ROM is working.
Simple Flashing and start without problems. Now I must check some functions.

Thx again
basell

Edit:
The 3g connections don't work at first run. After restore they start but in My opinion with less sensitivity (compare to stock rom). It's look like A789 loose some frequency on witch can work.

Edit2:
And they have some strange behavior - After couple min of data connection (on 3G) they disconnect with information - "Restricted access changed" and the same is when I try to choose network manually. After that sometimes they login to 3G sometimes they change to EDGE.
In Stock version (S221) was not this kind of problems.

Edit3:
In place with good 3G signal I have no problem with data transfer.
How Can I check on witch frequency (2100,900,850) I have connected My data transfer?
The Following User Says Thank You to basell For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift basell Ad-Free
10th September 2012, 01:08 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
Thanks for testing


Well, I definitely did not mess with any of the 3G stuff. So if it is true that 3G is less sensitive, then I would claim it is true for the factory S227 vs factory S221, and not directly related to my cleanup of it.

But (sorry to say so) I have learned to take claims of improved or degraded radio sensitivity with a grain of salt, even for the factory ones.

Having said that: Restoring S221 radio into S227 firmware is easy. The radio is separate firmware file, and I can extract the S221, S223 and S227 firmware in a separate file, so you can test. Were you actually using factory S221, or some other?

As to whether it is using 2100, 900 or 850: I can probably figure out how to get that info, *BUT* reality is that your provider most likely has only one frequency anyway. Most, pretty much all, EU providers are on 2100. The phone could not get to 900, simply because your provider does not have that frequency in the air (not for 3G anyway). And 850 is not supported at all on this phone.

Anyway, inside MU utility, engineer mode, bandmode, you can check/set the frequencies that are supported.

But please run a proper test if 3G is really degraded. As stated. it is so often a empty claim, I am somewhat careful to follow it. You want me to extract the 3 versions of firmware files in update.zip files?

Also, what country/vendor are you? please list the MMC and MNC from inside the APN settings.
10th September 2012, 01:59 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hi
If You will prepare this files I can test it tomorrow.
I'm from Poland and I have two frequency on data transfer - 2100 and 900. But I don't know if A789 use only one or change them. The place I'm test the signal is poor and I don't see if I work on 2100 or 900.
If You can, pleas tell me what kind of tests I can do to do that properly
10th September 2012, 04:52 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 475
 
More
Ok, here they are. update.zip type.
I only have S221 and S227, but the firmware files were indeed different, in more than just their timestamps. Of course, normally I would assume newer is better. So to make it clear: below files only replace the radio&dsp firmware, not the phone firmware.

Try to test honestly for yourself. Same conditions, same place, same time (because network load can make a difference)

It is possible that 3G really is degraded in S227, but as mentioned, I learned to not jump to conclusions just because the network is having a bad day.

WARNING: I retracted the two attachment, because I made a typo in the installer script. While the firmware is for the A789 (MT6577), the installer script is for the A750 (MT6575). Sorry. I will upload the correct ones in a moment.... Anyone that took a copy of these files before Oct 14, delete them!!!
I suspect the install would simply have failed, no harm done, but best to get rid of all copies anyway

BTW: basell, is that why you asked how to install? Really, if you ask for help, you should provide a bit more info. Anyway, I attached newer scripts, if you still want to try.
Attached Files
File Type: zip A789_radio_firmware_S221.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.31 MB, 252 views)
File Type: zip A789_radio_firmware_S227.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.31 MB, 772 views)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
a789, mt6577

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes