FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP] Updated: 31/10/12 - PIT Magic v1.3.10 - Samsung PIT Creator, Editor, Analyzer!

2,571 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,982
 
By lyriquidperfection, Inactive Recognized Developer on 2nd October 2012, 08:15 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
5th October 2012, 03:51 AM |#11  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,334
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriquidperfection

Search on XDA or Google for I9300 PIT.

Be careful though as there are different ones for 16GB and 32GB depending which model variant you have.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

Ha shockingly i was able to find it. However i have the SGH-T999 Tmo d2Tmo variant. Found a whole bunch of PIT's and even a way to get your stock PIT here but now i need to figure out what everything means exactly in my PIT file. I apologize if im annoying you xD

Here is what i feel needs to be edited.

Code:
Binary Type:                0            (UNKNOWN)
Device Type:                2                (MMC)
Identifier:                 14
Attribute:                  5       (READ / WRITE)
Update Attribute:           5               (FOTA)
Block Size:                 221,184
Block Count:                3,072,000
File Offset (Obsolete):     0
File Size (Obsolete):       0
Partition Name:             SYSTEM
Flash FileName:             system.img.ext4
5th October 2012, 10:52 AM |#12  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 2,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Ha shockingly i was able to find it. However i have the SGH-T999 Tmo d2Tmo variant. Found a whole bunch of PIT's and even a way to get your stock PIT here but now i need to figure out what everything means exactly in my PIT file. I apologize if im annoying you xD

Here is what i feel needs to be edited.

Code:
Binary Type:                0            (UNKNOWN)
Device Type:                2                (MMC)
Identifier:                 14
Attribute:                  5       (READ / WRITE)
Update Attribute:           5               (FOTA)
Block Size:                 221,184
Block Count:                3,072,000
File Offset (Obsolete):     0
File Size (Obsolete):       0
Partition Name:             SYSTEM
Flash FileName:             system.img.ext4

If you are just looking to resize the system partition, then just change the Block Size.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to lyriquidperfection For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lyriquidperfection Ad-Free
5th October 2012, 03:34 PM |#13  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,334
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriquidperfection

If you are just looking to resize the system partition, then just change the Block Size.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

Ahh so i resize the block size not the number of blocks? I was thinking it was the number of blocks.. but if i take my max memory in MB and divide that my the block size number, theoretically that should let me know how many megabytes are in each block. Right?

So i edited block size by 102460 from 221184 and nothing happened. Says it flashed successfully but nothing changed in my partitions table.. did i do something wrong?
5th October 2012, 05:04 PM |#14  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 2,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Ahh so i resize the block size not the number of blocks? I was thinking it was the number of blocks.. but if i take my max memory in MB and divide that my the block size number, theoretically that should let me know how many megabytes are in each block. Right?

So i edited block size by 102460 from 221184 and nothing happened. Says it flashed successfully but nothing changed in my partitions table.. did i do something wrong?

Adjust block count aswell but I think both have to match up somehow. I could be wrong but do some research first.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to lyriquidperfection For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lyriquidperfection Ad-Free
5th October 2012, 07:24 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Hartford
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
anyone have a PIT for the TMo S2 - T989?
5th October 2012, 08:01 PM |#16  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,334
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriquidperfection

Adjust block count aswell but I think both have to match up somehow. I could be wrong but do some research first.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

I've done so much Googling and got no where -.- I'll keep trying and change my keywords and what not. Thanks for all your help!

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 07:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2-MiKe

anyone have a PIT for the TMo S2 - T989?

Use this link. They have instructions for creating a pit file.

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/32867-pits-for-tmo-sgs3/

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift elesbb Ad-Free
5th October 2012, 08:09 PM |#17  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 2,982
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2-MiKe

anyone have a PIT for the TMo S2 - T989?

Here is the PIT File for SGH-T989 / SGH-T989D:

http://devhost.xda-developers.com/juD

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lyriquidperfection For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lyriquidperfection Ad-Free
6th October 2012, 03:53 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Hartford
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriquidperfection

Here is the PIT File for SGH-T989 / SGH-T989D:

http://devhost.xda-developers.com/juD

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

thanks dude...ill try it out when my phone gets here monday.
The Following User Says Thank You to MR2-MiKe For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MR2-MiKe Ad-Free
9th October 2012, 04:40 PM |#19  
bedwa's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Springfield IL
Thanks Meter: 724
 
More
Great googly moogly. Goodsir, I'm drooling. Time to adjust and tweak partitions like Old HTC devices. Now where's my old Captivate?
9th October 2012, 06:50 PM |#20  
dstruct2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 940
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyriquidperfection

Adjust block count aswell but I think both have to match up somehow. I could be wrong but do some research first.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using Tapatalk 2

No, you only need to change the block count, not the block size.

Also, if you take blocks away from /system/, remember to add them to another partition, or you'll just be wasting blocks by not assigning them to any partition at all.
The Following User Says Thank You to dstruct2k For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dstruct2k Ad-Free
9th October 2012, 07:33 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag 台灣
Thanks Meter: 1,134
 
More
I remember from my PIT investigation, there are no such things like block size and block count.
There is starting block and size (in blocks).
So, your application should adjust starting blocks. For example, if i edit size of partition, all following partitions should move accordingly. Starting block shouldn't be editable, but calculated.
The Following User Says Thank You to sorg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sorg Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes