FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[HOWTO] Bluestacks for MAC OS X rooted [2012-10-09]

1,579 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,535
 
By bitstra, Senior Member on 6th October 2012, 09:00 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi all, who are interested in using Bluestacks (Bluestacks Mac alpha) rooted and writeable /system & /data!

If you havn't installed or used it before, the android app player Bluestacks alpha for MAc OS X is available here:
http://bluestacks.com/bstks_mac.html

The idea for rooting it came, when I read the thread of xRepinsSporx here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1571308. This is guiding tread for rooting Bluestacks for Windows.

So credits go to xRepinsSporx!

I've managed making full rooted Root.fs for the Bluestacks android app-player for MAC OS X.
The /system of bluestacks is rooted out of the box, but root-permissions are restricted.
So I've copied a new su file ('su.orig') and a symbolic link ('su') into /system/xbin. This was done under ubuntu-linux!
That works for me...

If you want try it, here is a


HOW TO:

(make sure, Bluestacks is not running!!!)



---Attention! this HOWTO is only useable on MAC OS X!---



I.
1. Download Root.fs_hacked.zip (rooted Root.fs)

II.
1. Unpack Root.fs_hacked.zip in a folder of your choice
2. In Finder-Menu go to "Go To'-cklick it once ; hold alt-key down for showing the user-library-folder;
Open Library-Folder; Go into the Folder Bluestacks App Player; Go into the Folder Android;
Rename the file Root.fs to Root.fs_backup (in case for having a backup!)
copy the unpacked Root.fs_hacked to here and rename it to Root.fs .

---- You have full rooted /system now! ----


3. Goto into Folder yourusername/Library/BlueStacks App Player/Runtime; make Alias For Bluestacks App Player.app;
Place this link where you want to (i.e. on Desktop or into the Launchbar);



Now you should activate personalized Home Launcher! (If you did not done it before)
I made it with Holo Launcher...


III.
1. Open Pulse in Bluestacks
2. Click an entry in Pulse; Click on Menu-Button, that goes to an WEBsite of an article; the hidden webBrowser of bluestack will open that;
in addressbar goto HoloLauncher (stable) download page http://hololauncher.com/download.aspx?t=STABLE and download and install it
3. Click on the colored Home-Button of Bluestacks and select Holo Launcher for ever.


Now you can install basic gapps for Bluestacks

IV.
1. open the web Browser

2. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...sFramework.apk; install it
3. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...nitializer.apk; install it
4. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...etupWizard.apk; install it
5. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...cApps/Talk.apk; install it
6. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...ps/Vending.apk; install it
7. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...Apps/Gmail.apk; install it
6. download http://dl.dropbox.com/u/12364391/Blu...cApps/Maps.apk; install it


At last goto Settings->Accounts-> add your Google-Account

You did it! - Congrats


What is working:
- root is granted for apps an the fly (without the use of Superuser.apk - this APk isn't working but not needed!)
(test it with titanium backup and/or root explorer)
- fully read/writeable /system, /data, /data/data
(you can test it by starting a terminal session in bluestack; after starting terminal you are at the $-prompt right(?), enter $ su - and you are the #-prompt - so you are rooted)

If Titanium Backup or other apps don't see your installed apps, then you have to change permissions for /data as following:

open terminal session
and enter

Code:
su
chmod 755 /data
(thanx Jainyankee1993 for his reply!)

- Homelauncher of your choice
- Market
- Synching Gmail
- installing most of apps you can see in your market account

(working apps i.e. here: Root Explorer; Titanium Backup; Adaway; Clocksynch...)


What is not working:
Contacts and Calendar won't synch! (So i use the Google website for my calendar and contacts for the moment )
The colored home button loses his function. (For getting home button function you can load 'button svoir' from market)


The stuff published here is for educational purposes only!
All you do with your Bluestacks installation on your MAC is done at your own risk!

BTW: if your full rooted Bluestacks is running as it should, you can delete the preinstall Bluetstacks-Apps-Folder link from the Launchbar...


(atached 2 screenshots here.)


regards bitstra
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.jpg
Views:	4546
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	1379999   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot2.jpg
Views:	3871
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	1380000  
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to bitstra For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bitstra Ad-Free
 
 
8th October 2012, 05:06 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Rome
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitstra

Hi all, who are interested in using Bluestacks rooted and writeable /system & /data!

I've managed making full rooted Root.fs for the Bluestacks android app-player for MAC OS X.

If somebody is interested in my solution, I would share the Root.fs-file. If so feel free to pm me...

atached 2 screenshots here.


regards bitstra

is wonderful news


you are a great

best regards
9th October 2012, 08:09 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 2,535
 
More
OP is updated with instructions for download and install

regards

bitstra
9th October 2012, 09:36 AM |#4  
Jainyankee1993's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edison
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
I can't find the address bar in pulse anywhere

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
9th October 2012, 09:41 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 2,535
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jainyankee1993

I can't find the address bar in pulse anywhere

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2


First click on a Pulse-Article
Than click on Menu-Button
Than click 'Open in Browser'

..u should see the address-bar

that's it...

bitstra
9th October 2012, 10:05 AM |#6  
Jainyankee1993's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edison
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
okay got evrything to work except my hom e button does not do anything. lol
The Following User Says Thank You to Jainyankee1993 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jainyankee1993 Ad-Free
9th October 2012, 10:14 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 2,535
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jainyankee1993

okay got evrything to work except my hom e button does not do anything. lol

... thats right - I've updated OP with that hint - thanx...

So we can use 'button savoir' from market!


regards

bitstra
The Following User Says Thank You to bitstra For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bitstra Ad-Free
9th October 2012, 10:17 AM |#8  
Jainyankee1993's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edison
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Okay thank you. Sorry to keep bothering you but titanium backup for me just says searching for app data

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
9th October 2012, 10:24 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 2,535
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jainyankee1993

Okay thank you. Sorry to keep bothering you but titanium backup for me just says searching for app data

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2


Can you please open a terminal session and enter

Code:
su
ls -l /
an try to post the output here?
I think I have used chmod for /data to change permisssions

you can try

Code:
su
chmod 755 /data
for a fast shot...

thanx
9th October 2012, 10:30 AM |#10  
Jainyankee1993's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edison
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
here you go
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-10-09 at 5.29.12 AM.jpg
Views:	832
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	1387283  
9th October 2012, 10:33 AM |#11  
Jainyankee1993's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edison
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1349775214113.jpg
Views:	287
Size:	236.5 KB
ID:	1387289  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes