FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

/!\ OLD THREAD 16-10-2013 /!\ -- CYANOBIZ - ICS for GEN8 based on CM9 - BETA2.6

1,180 posts
Thanks Meter: 764
 
By bizcuite, Senior Member on 17th October 2012, 09:03 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
The system is stable now on my tab, don't forget, you have only 256MB of RAM, i cannot make the impossible Lots of tweaks are include into the kernel and the ROM to have a fast tab...!

If you have any problem, go there:

Sources:
Github: https://github.com/bizcuite
Kernel sources is available here: https://github.com/bizcuite/Archos_OPENAOS_Kernel_ICS
Frameworks base folder: https://github.com/bizcuite/android_frameworks_base
Device Folder: https://github.com/bizcuite/Device_ICS-for-ARCHOS-GEN8


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

/!\
DON'T TRY THE KERNELWITH OTHERS OS for GEN8
IT IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH OTHERS SYSTEMS
/!\


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Works:
3D - libs comes from Galaxy SL - and Kernel drivers from RowBoat
Sensors - Rotation
Sound
Youtube (HD is not smooth- 15/20FPS)
Touchscreen in multipoint (thanks to Divx118 and Letama for their help on my thread)
Wifi
Sdcard & MMC - USB SHARE
12/03/2013
H264/H263 - MP3/AAC played with hard decoders
OMX interface comes from CM10.1
UI optimised (thanks defy dev)
Sound HAL from opensource
Camera but you cannot take any picture or video with this camera ATM
Version 1.6 (17/03/2013):
- Dspmanager has been removed (bug)
- MusicPlayer from google AOSP include.
- Phone.apk removed too
CYANOBIZ - BETA 2.0/2.3 - 10/04/2013
- GPU Libs update
- OPENGL renderer activated
- WallPaper works
- WebGL works well (Chrome can works now)
- Network statistics works
- Sound noises are less frequents than v1.7 and V1.8
CYANOBIZ - BETA 2.1 - 18/04/2013
- Youtube works (i had heard that it doesn't worked in beta 2.0)
CYANOBIZ - BETA 2.4 - 11/05/2013
-Libs from Samsung Galaxy Ace works very well (better) than rowboat libs.
-A43 must have a working TS
-Zram configured directly to have 250MB of ZRam (better perf than compcache)
CYANOBIZ - BETA 2.5/2.6 - 19/05/2013
-TLS register activated
-Swap of 175MB added in the image file
-Zram can be activated (re-added) - i have a way to activated zram1 as ext4 partition...

KERNEL:
- OC kernel by interface (see in /sys/power/)
- dsp to 800MHz when 5th step is activated
- GPU drivers Updated (backported)
- CPU Alignment (backported)
- JHash update
- Network stat driver added (backported)
- Lots of modules directly include into the kernel
- Cleancache include (backported) and activated http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/ker...84f5c575917c7f
- Genlock Backported from 2.6.35
- New Zram
- New driver wifi functions (configurate in ".config" files) i find wifi better
- TLS register hacked
- Zram
- Snappy compression from google
- Compcache 25% or 35% of RAM


Doesn't work:
-Bluetooth can works with a command enter in a terminal hciconfig hci0 up.
-Camera (you can preview only)
-Battery stats (% works, but no notification of charge)
-Bugs - report please


-------------------------------------------------------------FILES TO DOWNLOAD-------------------------------------------------------------

SINCE V2.4 AND DON'T USE ANY SWAP SOFTWARE WITH THIS VERSION

---------- V2.6 with another start order for Swap: /swapfile (175MB) uses in first, zram in second and compcache in last. = 175+50MB+25%/35% of your RAM

A101 - v2.6 = http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?444vbceqerzboqb

A70 - A70S2 (change the dpi to 160 in build.prop for A70S2 only) - v2.6 = http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?1urte0y2f5dnzwu

A43 - TS not fix in landscape ATM - v2.6 = http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?206d2tqybl1260w


GAPP: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?blsz6ie172i1qzo


For kernel initramfs and data image see attachment files
25% of RAM is "compcached" with zram snappy compression
35% of RAM is "compcached" with zram snappy compression
25% of RAM is "compcached" with zram LZO compression


-------------------------------------------------------------SYSTEM INSTALLATION-------------------------------------------------------------

How install CM9 on archos gen8
-Download CM9 image files from mediafire that i have shared, choose appropriate image.
-Download initramfs.cpio.gz (NOT MINICOM except i tell you to install it for a report)
-Download Kernel in attachment files (don't uncompress the Kernel file, just rename it like this: zImage)
-Download data.img.tar.gz and uncompress it - choose the data image that you want and renamed it like data_ICS.img

Install Kernel and initramfs.cpio.gz
-install kernel and initramfs.cpio.gz (don't install the minicom version) by SDE menu
-Don't uncompress the Kernel file, just rename it like this: zImage
-Just copy-paste, ONE BY ONE the kernel and initramfs.cpio.gz (if I paste together the files, it doesn't worked for me)
/!\ BUT BIZCUITE, I HAVE A PROBLEM, THE TAB SAYS ME THAT zImage IS NOT INSTALLED, AAAAAAAAH!!!!!PLEAAAASE HEEELP
=>You have WINDOWS please read this!!!


Install CM9 Image:
-uncompress image of CM9 downloaded
-copy paste image on the root of internal sdcard (like CM7)
-uncompressed data.img.tar.gz if it's not done, choose an image and rename it like data_ICS.img
-copy/paste the data_ICS.img to the root of the internal sdcard.

How configure menu.lst (See the file in attachment, just uncompress it)
-edit your menu.lst, copy paste my line
Code:
CYANOBIZ||/CYANOBIZ_BETA2.X_AX.img|/init|0Archos|ARCHOS|ARCHOS|/init
Change "CYANOBIZ_BETA2.X_AX.img" by the version and the type of tab that you have downloaded
Exemple: CYANOBIZ_BETA2.4_A101.img


If you haven't the file. Create a file named "menu.lst" with notepad++ under windows (not the windows notepad!!!) Or gedit for ubuntu.
And copy paste the line on it. Save and copy paste the file on the root of the internal sdcard.

-------------------------------------------------------------GOOGLE APP. INSTALLATION-------------------------------------------------------------
How install Google App.
If you have NEVER installed GApp:
-Download the file
-Rename the file like this "gapps-ics-20120429-signedremake_all_dpi_works.zip" ( just WITHOUT the "-" )
-Copy paste the file in the download folders of your internal SDCARD
-Reboot
-After the first reboot wait 5 minutes (the system uncompresses the files and install its)
-Reboot and enjoy

-------------------------------------------------------------BLUETOOTH ACTIVATION-------------------------------------------------------------
If you want to have Bluetooth
In a terminal enter:
Code:
hciconfig hci0 up
-------------------------------------------------------------SWAP CONFIGURATION-------------------------------------------------------------
SWAP / Zram / CompCache:
The swap is used with this priority:
Code:
[email protected]:/ # cat /proc/swaps                                               
Filename				Type		Size	Used	Priority
/swapfile                               file		179156	5716	-1
/dev/block/zram0                        partition	51192	0	-2
/dev/block/ramzswap0                    partition	175464	0	-3
This the new swap_activation.sh

Code:
swapoff /dev/block/ramzswap0
swapoff /dev/block/zram0
echo $((50*1024*1024)) > /sys/block/zram0/disksize
mkswap /dev/block/zram0
swapon /swapfile
swapon /dev/block/zram0
swapon /dev/block/ramzswap0
Just change the order of this lines to start differently the swap.
First to start : swapon /swapfile
second to start: swapon /dev/block/zram0
last to start: swapon /dev/block/ramzswap0

Play with this lines to see if performance are better.

-------------------------------------------------------------OVERCLOCK-------------------------------------------------------------


HOW OVERCLOCK THE CPU

just change the value with a root explorer into the file at this path:
/sys/power/mpu_freq_opp5

YOU WILL LOSE THE CHANGE AFTER A REBOOT
but if you find your oc stable write the line in the init.rc, under " # Enabling power management features":
Code:
write /sys/power/mpu_freq_opp5 1100


-------------------------------------------------------------SOFT TO USE-------------------------------------------------------------
Which software i used to have a better tab or functions:
Performance:
Seeder (more smooth): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1987032

Tools:
Archos Video player: To have access to SMB server and watch directly video. (deactivate hardware decoding)
ZRAM Status:to keep an eye on my Zram Swap (lots of information)

LogCat:
Logcat Extreme: to share me a logcat when you have a crash or others problems


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FAQ:

I HAVE TRIED GMAIL, IT DOESN'T WORKED WITH MY TAB
HOX FIX IT: Biz, gmail works by installing maps, then open gmail it will force close, then go to accounts and sync gmail reboot tablet and works ==> Thanks Porobu

How have a good Camera image :
-> just open camera app, unplug usb cable and press power button to activate deep sleep mode (wait the led turn off) and presss again power button. Re open the camera app and the image is clean.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you have any problem with kernel or OS, download again all files and reinstall its.
If you have bootloop or crash of tablet, make me a report plz.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


/!\ To make a report /!\ MINICOM version of initramfs is required.
YOU DON'T USED ADB (select NONE option) .. JUST MINICOM (SERIAL option)
I used the initramfs.cpio.gz with debug by serial made by Divx118.
install minicom and enter in a terminal under root rights:
"minicom -D /dev/ttyACM2" (when you are after selection of debug types screen and when OS screen selection appears press "enter" don't forget to plug usb cable )
The minicom must be connected. and DMESG log appears on terminal.
CONFIGURE YOUR TERMINAL TO HAVE UNLIMITED CHARACTERS ON THE SCREEN (else log will be cut)

See the tutorial about debug on Openaos website


Have Fun!!

Bizcuite


Thanks to:
-Letama
-Divx118
-Powerplop for his help on sound pb
-All who have helped me indirectly or directly
-My beer shop
-Many thanks to Wilsey and Guanfy to have helped me to debug screen and TS without them, your tabs couldn't worked correctly.
-Bingoig for his help to fix menubutton for A101
-Mavasilisk for his great help and his topic about my ROM in general section
-Mikerla
-Porobu
-All donators (4 times)]
Attached Files
File Type: gz MINICOM_initramfs.cpio.gz - [Click for QR Code] (736.4 KB, 1517 views)
File Type: bz2 data.img.tar.bz2 - [Click for QR Code] (10.6 KB, 4405 views)
File Type: gz initramfs.cpio.gz - [Click for QR Code] (736.1 KB, 4330 views)
File Type: zip zImage_v2.6_LZO_ZRAM_CC_25%.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.18 MB, 2464 views)
File Type: zip zImage_v2.6_Snappy_ZRAM_CC_25%.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.18 MB, 2402 views)
File Type: zip zImage_v2.6_Snappy_ZRAM_CC_35%.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.18 MB, 3453 views)
File Type: zip menu.lst.zip - [Click for QR Code] (219 Bytes, 2247 views)
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to bizcuite For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bizcuite Ad-Free
 
 
17th October 2012, 09:27 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
[I]18/10/2012
UPDATE: init.rc FOR A101 ONLY FIX SCREEN ORIENTATION
How push it:
With adb, you must have installed adb initramfs.cpio.gz (see first page)

run adb with adb shell after have configure it to see if the configuration is good:
"adb shell"
"exit"
"adb root"
"adb push / /"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
19/10/2012
UPDATE KERNEL TO SEE IF TouchScreen OF A70S WORKS works with all Tabs!!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
22/10 i have include in rom, binaries for TS from archos firmware. And update init.rc. see first post to download the new update.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
26/10 I have made a modification in code to have TS working for all tabs, i need log and report to see if it works correctly
See V0.4 to have update.
Modification in the code are situate in inputreader.cpp in framework/base/service/:
Code:
if (mParameters.orientationAware
            || mParameters.deviceType == Parameters::DEVICE_TYPE_TOUCH_SCREEN
            || mParameters.deviceType == Parameters::DEVICE_TYPE_POINTER) {
        mParameters.associatedDisplayIsExternal = false;
                mParameters.deviceType == Parameters::DEVICE_TYPE_TOUCH_SCREEN
                        && getDevice()->isExternal();
        mParameters.associatedDisplayId = 0;
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
29/10 -- CM9 - V0.5
-Kernel revert back (for A101, bad name of TS, it was a test that i had forgotten to remove)
-data_ICS.img to install to root of SDCARD (like CM7)
-Bootloop fix
-NO BOOTANIMATION (black screen, please wait that the first boot finished it)
-BUG WITH CPU GOV ALWAYS AT PERFORMANCE (see first post to fix it)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
30/10 -- CM9 - V0.6
-soft button fix (ty guanfy and Wisley)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
31/10 -- CM9 - V1.0
-All about screen works well for all tabs (A70S2 - A101S - A70S-H confirmed)
-CM9 Sources in "cooking" for share

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
22/12:
FIx USB SHARE for SDRAM Version.
New version ALPHA 1.1 in progress
Had to need to update my Ubuntu to 12 to download update of ICS from Cyanogen (Git-Core error, impossible to update git-core with 10.04)
Kernel modify for more stability (Cpu Gov conf - 5th freq. step deleted)
I will make another kernel to include driver for A43 tabs TouchScreen.
But i need logcat by A43 tabs users.[/B]

VolumeManager.cpp has been changed to have USB SHARE working.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[B]
Problem with stability is fix. with Kernel V1.4
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to bizcuite For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bizcuite Ad-Free
17th October 2012, 10:29 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
DON'T TRY TO COMPILE ATM, IT'S JUST A BETA VERSION OF THE HOW - I HAVEN'T TEST IT!!

How to compile CyanoBiz:

Make sure that you have Ubuntu 10.04 or 12 - 64Bits - 4GB of RAM - 100GB free on HD and a Quad core CPU is better to compile it (i have 4GB of RAM and a little Core2duo 1.6GHz - dual core on a T60P Lenovo - HD of 300GB).

Go to your work foder. i have put it directly in my home directory, done it as you want.

mkdir -p ./BIZ_ICS
PATH=~/bin:$PATH
curl https://dl-ssl.google.com/dl/googlesource/git-repo/repo > ~/bin/repo
chmod a+x ~/bin/repo
repo init -u git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git -b ics-release
repo sync -j16

Wait that the download is finished....

Download my github and uncompress the framework, device and hardware zip files (not update ATM).
Replace CM9 folders by mine:
-./framework/base
-./hardware/...
-./device/archos/g8

To compile:
. build/envsetup.sh
lunch
choosecombo
-> option userdebug let the others default value

Make -j4

To make the image file after compilation
Code:
rm CYANOBIZ*.img
umount /mnt

echo A70S:
qemu-img create -f raw ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A70.img 300M
mkfs.ext4 -qF -O ^huge_file ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A70.img
mount -o loop ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A70.img /mnt/
rsync -rlpgotvDH --progress --delete ./root/ /mnt/
rsync -rlpgotvDH --progress --delete ./system/ /mnt/system/
mkdir -p /mnt/data/test /mnt/mnt /mnt/mnt/storage
ln -sf /mnt/storage /mnt/storage
chmod 0777 /mnt/mnt/storage /mnt/data/test
chown -R root:root /mnt/
chmod 0755 /mnt/system/framework/*
chmod 6755 /mnt/system/xbin/su
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/media/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/lib/dsp/*
chmod -R 0644 /mnt/system/lib/libOMX.*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/lib/*
chmod -R 0777 /mnt/system/app/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/bin/*
mkdir /mnt/system/media
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/media/* /mnt/system/media/
mkdir /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/system/usr/share/alsa/* /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa/
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/init.rc /mnt/init.rc
mkdir /mnt/system/lib/dsp
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/system/lib/* /mnt/system/lib/
mkdir /mnt/lib
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/lib/* /mnt/lib/
rm /mnt/system/app/Phone.apk
chmod -R 0777 /mnt/system/app/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/bin/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/lib/*
sync

umount /mnt

echo A101:
qemu-img create -f raw ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A101.img 300M
mkfs.ext4 -qF -O ^huge_file ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A101.img
mount -o loop ./CYANOBIZ_BETA2.x_A101.img /mnt/
rsync -rlpgotvDH --progress --delete ./root/ /mnt/
rsync -rlpgotvDH --progress --delete ./system/ /mnt/system/
mkdir -p /mnt/data/test /mnt/mnt /mnt/mnt/storage
ln -sf /mnt/storage /mnt/storage
chmod 0777 /mnt/mnt/storage /mnt/data/test
chown -R root:root /mnt/
chmod 0755 /mnt/system/framework/*
chmod 6755 /mnt/system/xbin/su
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/media/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/lib/dsp/*
chmod -R 0644 /mnt/system/lib/libOMX.*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/lib/*
chmod -R 0777 /mnt/system/app/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/bin/*
mkdir /mnt/system/media
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/media/* /mnt/system/media/
mkdir /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/system/usr/share/alsa/* /mnt/system/usr/share/alsa/
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/init.rc /mnt/init.rc
mkdir /mnt/system/lib/dsp
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/system/lib/* /mnt/system/lib/
mkdir /mnt/lib
cp -R ../../../../device/archos/g8/lib/* /mnt/lib/
rm /mnt/system/app/Phone.apk
chmod -R 0777 /mnt/system/app/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/bin/*
chmod -R 0755 /mnt/system/lib/*
sync
umount /mnt
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to bizcuite For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bizcuite Ad-Free
17th October 2012, 10:47 AM |#4  
GoL LuM's Avatar
Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Hello,

ICS doesn't work on my A43. It stay locked on the OpenAOS screen after the .img selection menu.

Maybe my tablet isn't compatible.
Thanks for your great work

Sent from my A43 using xda premium
17th October 2012, 10:52 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoL LuM

Hello,

ICS doesn't work on my A43. It stay locked on the OpenAOS screen after the .img selection menu.

Maybe my tablet isn't compatible.
Thanks for your great work

Sent from my A43 using xda premium



Have you any cable connected on the tab and have you seen this?
Others things:
If you want to power on your tab without make any debug, don't forget to disconnect the tab from the USB computer.
If you do that, the CM9 doesn't want boot.

DISCONNECT USB CABLE IF YOU HAVEN'T MINICOM RUNNING

Retry without cable please and with the new kernel!!

Try to see if you have any log on terminal if it doesn't worked

Bizcuite
The Following User Says Thank You to bizcuite For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bizcuite Ad-Free
17th October 2012, 01:23 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Please report about Touchscreen it's very important for me (and for you if you want a CM9 who works on your tab )

Make a report like this:
Model of tab: Archos xx
Touchescreen works: yes / no
Another bug (except if it writes on first post)


Remember: the first boot takes time the dexopt is active 2-3 minutes to have unlock screen.

Bizcuite


Bizcuite
17th October 2012, 01:25 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Biz,
I've flashed the new kernel, booted back into CM. I've been sitting at the bootsplash for 20 minutes now. Attachment below.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Bootlog2 Archos 70IT HDD Guanfy.zip - [Click for QR Code] (16.0 KB, 171 views)
17th October 2012, 01:36 PM |#8  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Is it safe to try it on A70S with "kboot" installed? Seconds question that I'd like to know is that the touchscreen isnt currently working, right?
17th October 2012, 01:49 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavasilisk

Is it safe to try it on A70S with "kboot" installed? Seconds question that I'd like to know is that the touchscreen isnt currently working, right?

I don't know if it works with kboot, the kernel is based on CM7 kernel, if it works with it i think that yes!!
Touchscreen for A70S doesn't work (except if it uses Hanvon TS, it must work now), yes and i need a full log to fix it if i can (without tab it's very difficult).

Quote:

Biz,
I've flashed the new kernel, booted back into CM. I've been sitting at the bootsplash for 20 minutes now. Attachment below.

You have a harddrive version, that's the pb, there is no error who permit me to fix it ATM.
I will pm you and see it later.
Edit: i have seen that all your log is cut, can you remake it with a more larger terminal (or more little char.) to have all lines

Bizcuite
17th October 2012, 02:11 PM |#10  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
the last thing that I see when I boot is some cyano guy who is traveling in space. Do I have to wait longer or its the unlock screen and my touchscreen isnt working?

EDIT: Rename your data.img to something else.
EDIT2: Can u help me run adb successfully, I've tried many times with guides but it was not for gen8 and I couldnt make it run. I really wanna join.
EDIT3: It booted. The touchscreen on A70S is working only at the upper left side (I can pull down the statusbar and enable/disable wifi). Nothing else is working on touchscreen. Hope it helps you cuz I cant run adb.
17th October 2012, 02:29 PM |#11  
Member
Flag Etiolles
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Bootloop
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
archos gen8 ics

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes