Happening now! New Honor Phone Launch
FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE]How to port roms to your Device

773 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,766
 
By <JohnCarter>, Senior Member on 26th October 2012, 05:33 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
How to port roms to your Device

Sick of seeing roms for other devices ? wanna experience them in your device ?

Well here's a guide to teach you just that .

Code:
KEEP THESE POINTS IN MIND
               
                This guide wont make you a full fledged dev.
                It teaches you the basics of porting ROMS. 
                If anything happens to your device I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE for IT ! try it on your own risk !

So to begin before starting right away have a check list of these items -

Code:
The rom which you want to port for your device is named here as BASE 
            The rom which is already working for your device is called here as PORT
             Your final ROM is in PORT
STEP 1

Grab a rom
Make sure to grab a rom of same resolution. for ex- 320x480.
And prefer to use the roms with same android version. for ex - android 4.0.4=android 4.0.4
also prefer to use roms from same manufacturer for ex - use htc desire S for htc desire HD
use either aosp or cm 7,9 or 10 working for your device as port
Download and install notepad++ and a archiver. ( I use winrar)

STEP 2








First open both the roms side by side in the zip form
perform these actions in PORT.zip
Go to system> then delete the app,media,fonts & framework folders.
now drag and drop the app,media,fonts & framework folders from base.zip to ported.zip



STEP 3

Now go to the etc folder in base.zip and the port.zip now see if the base.zip has any extra files other than those in the port.zip
if you find any put them in your etc folder of port.zip

STEP 4






Now open buid.prop file using Notepad++ and make changes to these of Port.zip
ro.build.id=
ro.build.display.id=
ro.build.date=
ro.modversion=

In build.prop file change these to same as Port Rom build.prop values. you can find these in additional build properties





ro.config.ringtone=
ro.config.notification_sound=
ro.config.alarm_alert=

If you want to port for htc devices try this if you face issues :

to fix network auto select,
decompile framework-res.apk
go to \framework-res\res\values\bools.xml change
<bool name="skip_restoring_network_selection">true</bool>
to false.

to fix graphichal issues,

decompile framework.jar

change these files with cm9 base

smali\smali\android\os
Environment
SystemProperties
smali\smali\android\view
HardwareCanvas
HardwareRenderer$Gl20Renderer
HardwareRenderer$GlRenderer
HardwareRenderer


Happy porting !

SUPPORT MY WORK BY DONATING ME HERE
The Following 103 Users Say Thank You to <JohnCarter> For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift <JohnCarter> Ad-Free
 
 
26th October 2012, 06:26 PM |#2  
Hpsgill's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Earth
Thanks Meter: 1,775
 
More
Nice guide

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hpsgill For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Hpsgill Ad-Free
27th October 2012, 04:35 AM |#3  
<JohnCarter>'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ranchi
Thanks Meter: 1,766
 
Donate to Me
More
try this guide buddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hpsgill

Nice guide

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e using xda premium

try this guide buddy and plz tell me how did it go ?
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to <JohnCarter> For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift <JohnCarter> Ad-Free
russelldias
27th October 2012, 07:02 PM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hey can u suggest me a ROM to port??
28th October 2012, 02:15 AM |#5  
rishabh.raj37's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ranchi
Thanks Meter: 4,259
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by russelldias

hey can u suggest me a ROM to port??

For which mobile do you want to port rom?
The Following User Says Thank You to rishabh.raj37 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rishabh.raj37 Ad-Free
russelldias
28th October 2012, 06:56 AM |#6  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rishabh.raj37

For which mobile do you want to port rom?

HTC Explorer
28th October 2012, 11:22 AM |#7  
<JohnCarter>'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ranchi
Thanks Meter: 1,766
 
Donate to Me
More
well
Quote:
Originally Posted by russelldias

HTC Explorer

just look for roms in lg p500 or galaxy ace if you like any port them
but remember to take their developers permissions first
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to <JohnCarter> For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift <JohnCarter> Ad-Free
28th October 2012, 11:32 AM |#8  
rishabh.raj37's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ranchi
Thanks Meter: 4,259
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayushrox

just look for roms in lg p500 or galaxy ace if you like any port them
but remember to take their developers permissions first

Two more Galaxy gio and most important HTC Wildfire S.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rishabh.raj37 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rishabh.raj37 Ad-Free
28th October 2012, 06:04 PM |#9  
Eris _2.1_2010's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Logansport, IN
Thanks Meter: 427
 
More
How about the Fascinate/Mesmerize?


Sent from my Galaxy S Mesmerize running AOKP Build 5 JellyBean with Devil Kernel 1.6.1
The Following User Says Thank You to Eris _2.1_2010 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Eris _2.1_2010 Ad-Free
29th October 2012, 10:36 AM |#10  
<JohnCarter>'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ranchi
Thanks Meter: 1,766
 
Donate to Me
More
erm yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eris _2.1_2010

How about the Fascinate/Mesmerize?


Sent from my Galaxy S Mesmerize running AOKP Build 5 JellyBean with Devil Kernel 1.6.1

yes you can
but be sure to choose the rom you wanna port from a device having same resolution i.e same as your mesmerize
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to <JohnCarter> For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift <JohnCarter> Ad-Free
29th October 2012, 11:26 AM |#11  
linafluffy's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I want to port a rom to my xperia miro. Which rom can i use to do that?
Screen resolution 480x320 3,5 tum
Android version 4.0.3

Thanks


I canĀ“t find a stock rom, please, can someone help me?
The Following User Says Thank You to linafluffy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift linafluffy Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
how to port any rom, how to port roms, how to port roms to your device, htc, port

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes