FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

temporary LG L9 (P760 and P769) rooting/Q&A/accessories thread

3,080 posts
Thanks Meter: 719
 
By mingkee, Senior Member on 14th November 2012, 02:37 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
This is the second edit. Thanks to zanakorus33 for providing the tip for modification of the file. Since .bat is not allowed to attach, I put it up as text file.
The following method is applied to both international version (P760) and T-Mobile US version (P769).

Prerequisite:
  • You must install LG United Driver (simply change the phone USB mode to LG mode and install PC Suite).
  • You must enable USB debug mode (in developers option) and "unknown sources" (in security option).
  • You MUST disable Lookout Security (menu->applications->downloaded) and clear its data.
  • Download and unpack Root and Restore.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1886460

Are you ready? Here it goes:
  • Hook up your phone and choose USB LG mode.
  • Run Root and Restore->Runme.bat.
  • (7th edit Download attached modified RunMe_L9.txt, rename the extension to .bat, put the file to where the original "RunMe.bat" is, and run it as "administrator" (right click the .bat file, and run as Administrator).
  • You will be prompted to restore data. Look at the phone screen and choose "restore my data" when prompted. Press a key when restoration has finished.
  • The phone will reboot. Check the terminal window and check for "(are you rooted?)" error. If there's no error, check the phone to see "Android is updating". If so, the phone should be rooted.
  • Download and install busybox and SuperSU.
  • Done.
Happy Rooting!

First edit: uploaded modified script file (added pause command on running restore part. Press any button after the restore has finished on the phone). Change extension from .txt to .bat (you can review the whole script before renaming to examine). Put the modified file to where RunMe.bat is and run it.
Please give me feedback of this script file.

Thanks zanakorus33 for giving tips for modification

Fourth edit:
After rooting, install Voodoo Root Keeper so you can preserve root after update.

sixth edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by overthatscreen

Alrighty. I went ahead thanks to your vote of confidence. It all worked out ok for me.

Can we add to the instructions:
1. Run the batch file as Administrator
2. When it asks for Encryption key, just press Restore.
3. This will work on 10E update.

Attached Files
File Type: txt RunMe_L9.txt - [Click for QR Code] (10.0 KB, 31330 views)
The Following 31 Users Say Thank You to mingkee For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mingkee Ad-Free
 
 
14th November 2012, 03:58 AM |#2  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
I was not able to get this to work on either of my devices. Her is the output:

================================================== ====================
= This script will root your Android phone with adb restore function =
= Script by Bin4ry (thanks to Goroh_kun and tkymgr for the idea) =
= Idea for Tablet S from Fi01_IS01 =
= (13.10.2012) v15 =
================================================== ====================

Device type:
1) Normal
2) Special (for example: Sony Tablet S, Medion Lifetab)

x) Unroot

Make a choice: 1
Checking if i should run in Normal Mode or special Sony Mode
Please connect your device with USB-Debugging enabled now
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
remote object '/system/app/Backup-Restore.apk' does not exist
remote object '/system/bin/ric' does not exist
.
.

Normal Mode enabled!
.

Pushing busybox....
2122 KB/s (1085140 bytes in 0.499s)
Pushing su binary ....
1439 KB/s (91980 bytes in 0.062s)
Pushing Superuser app
2079 KB/s (996704 bytes in 0.468s)
Making busybox runable ...
.
Please look at your device and click RESTORE!
If all is successful i will tell you, if not this shell will run forever.
Running ...
Successful, going to reboot your device!
Waiting for device to show up again....
Going to copy files to it's place
mount: permission denied (are you root?)
You can close all open command-prompts now!
After reboot all is done! Have fun!
Bin4ry
Press any key to continue . . .



Should I enter an encryption key on the restore screen? I leave it blank and press "Restore" The phone reboots normally and does not go into restore mode.

---------- Post added at 03:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:53 AM ----------

Here is more device info:

Android version: 4.0.4

Baseband version: L6260_MODEM_SIC_01.1233.00

Kernel version: 3.0.21

Build number: IMM76L

Software version: P76910e

Model number: LG-P769
The Following User Says Thank You to kevev For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kevev Ad-Free
14th November 2012, 04:04 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 719
 
More
I suspect Lookout blocked the procedure.
I disabled it and the rooting worked the first time.
14th November 2012, 04:08 AM |#4  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee

I suspect Lookout blocked the procedure.
I disabled it and the rooting worked the first time.

I have it disabled, cleared, and stopped. Rebooted the phone and it is still disabled and not running. Makes no sense. Did I get 2 wack devices?
14th November 2012, 04:23 AM |#5  
zanakorus33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Did any one tryed this on 760 instead of tmobile 769 it looks like both runs same software
The Following User Says Thank You to zanakorus33 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zanakorus33 Ad-Free
14th November 2012, 04:32 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 719
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevev

I have it disabled, cleared, and stopped. Rebooted the phone and it is still disabled and not running. Makes no sense. Did I get 2 wack devices?

Wait...I did unrooting (even it was not rooted) with "unlock root" prior of it. Perhaps this is a key.
14th November 2012, 04:39 AM |#7  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee

Wait...I did unrooting (even it was not rooted) with "unlock root" prior of it. Perhaps this is a key.

Didn't work. Did you create a backup of your device before rooting?

Did you wipe the device before rooting?

Could you remove root by doing a restore and try the rooting process again? I must be missing something.

It is weird that neither of my 2 L9s will sync with PC Suite on any of my computers.
14th November 2012, 04:48 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 719
 
More
I wiped the phone several times today because the mode 2 screwed up the phone.
I just don't understand why I made it work. I can send a captured pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-11-13-23-48-55.jpg
Views:	3003
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	1480459  
14th November 2012, 04:55 AM |#9  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingkee

I wiped the phone several times today because the mode 2 screwed up the phone.
I just don't understand why I made it work. I can send a captured pic.

I wonder if mode 2 tweaked something. I will follow silently and wait for others to try this method. Thanks for being our guinea pig.
14th November 2012, 05:10 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 719
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevev

I wonder if mode 2 tweaked something. I will follow silently and wait for others to try this method. Thanks for being our guinea pig.

Rooting helps migrating data much quicker and I can put in custom voice as ringtone as well as Windows 7 fonts.
14th November 2012, 08:36 AM |#11  
Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanakorus33

Did any one tryed this on 760 instead of tmobile 769 it looks like both runs same software

It does also work for the p760. It worked for me
The Following User Says Thank You to gianrond For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gianrond Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
p769, root

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes