FORUMS

[Q] Nexus 10 Disable HDCP (DIsable HDMI Copy Protection)

53 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Post Reply Email Thread
I'm an android developer having a an issue with my Nexus 10.

HDCP (HDMI copy protection) is turned on making it not possible to capture videos on my development apps, please advise.

I'm using an ElGato to capture HDMI output which needs unecrypted HDMI output.

I can correctly see the display on my HDCP compatible TV. But on my capture software I just get a blank screen.

Where is the Android setting that disables HDCP?

Will I need to root my Nexus 10? Will I need to use cyanagenmod? Will I need to rewrite the firmware?

Or is this a simple setting I can toggle off?

I see other forum posts, but I don't see how an ODBC driver would make this work?

Thanks,

~Tim
The Following User Says Thank You to tgraupmann For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tgraupmann Ad-Free
21st November 2012, 09:14 PM |#2  
Senior Member
None of your bizness
Thanks Meter: 165
 
More
You will need to install a custom ROM to disable this ..

This ROM , http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1998585 has the option ..
The Following User Says Thank You to Watcher64 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Watcher64 Ad-Free
21st November 2012, 09:23 PM |#3  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 686
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher64

You will need to install a custom ROM to disable this ..

This ROM , http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1998585 has the option ..

Or compile AOSP possibly from source
22nd November 2012, 06:01 PM |#5  
alias_neo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 205
 
More
Is it not in developer options anymore?

You get developer options by tapping "build number" 7 or so times. They hid it in 4.2 by default.
22nd November 2012, 06:15 PM |#6  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 686
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias_neo

Is it not in developer options anymore?

You get developer options by tapping "build number" 7 or so times. They hid it in 4.2 by default.

It isn't there on the stock ROM. I compiled AOSP earlier and it was there though.
22nd November 2012, 08:15 PM |#7  
OP Member
Flag Monroe
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Donate to Me
More
Cool
On Nexus 10,

After unlocking the boot loader, it's in download mode. Who designed this without a progress bar? How long should it be downloading? In fastboot mode is there a command I can run to get the download progress to check for an error? Or at least I want to be able to fastboot a command to start the download, and another command to query the progress? How many hours does it sit there with the Google X?
22nd November 2012, 08:31 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgraupmann

On Nexus 10,

After unlocking the boot loader, it's in download mode. Who designed this without a progress bar? How long should it be downloading? In fastboot mode is there a command I can run to get the download progress to check for an error? Or at least I want to be able to fastboot a command to start the download, and another command to query the progress? How many hours does it sit there with the Google X?

Just hold power and turn it off.
Turn it on again while holding volume up and down.
Go to recovery mode.
Tap power and volume up at the same time. (you might have to do this a few times)
Clear cache and delete partition.
Restart.
22nd November 2012, 08:56 PM |#9  
alias_neo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 205
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgraupmann

On Nexus 10,

After unlocking the boot loader, it's in download mode. Who designed this without a progress bar? How long should it be downloading? In fastboot mode is there a command I can run to get the download progress to check for an error? Or at least I want to be able to fastboot a command to start the download, and another command to query the progress? How many hours does it sit there with the Google X?

Bear in mine that "download mode - do not turn off target" doesn't actually mean it's downloading unless you started a "download" yourself, the only time that mode is used is with Odin, but I've only even seen it used on Samsung stuff and not nexus devices.

As long as you don't see the blue progress bar, and if you didn't start some process, you're okay to just switch off and get into the correct mode.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
22nd November 2012, 09:03 PM |#10  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 686
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgraupmann

Apparently it's a 3 step process.

1) Unlock the boot loader (currently can't download)

http://www.androidcentral.com/how-un...-10-bootloader
http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/40...d-recovery.htm
http://forums.androidcentral.com/nex...ry-mac-pc.html

2) Root the Nexus 10

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2001868

3) Install the custom ROM

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1998585

1. Unlock bootloader with fastboot oem unlock
2. Re-stock (might be needed; otherwise device might just hang at Nexus logo); auto-reboot to System
3. Copy the custom ROM files (ROM, Kernel, Gapps) to the root of the Nexus 10 MTP device after setup wizard (might be /storage/sdcard for adb push)
3. Install TWRP or CWM
4. Boot to Recovery (TWRP or CWM)
5. Install ROM, Gapps, and Kernel, in that order
6. Wipe caches, reboot
7. Profit.

You don't need to root the device to install a custom ROM. You do need to install a custom recovery though.
The Following User Says Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift espionage724 Ad-Free
22nd November 2012, 09:14 PM |#11  
OP Member
Flag Monroe
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Thanks for your posts. I am unstuck, rooted, and on my way to defeat HDCP so I can record my developer video on my elgato.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes