FORUMS

[GUIDE] x86 32-bit OS's on Android (YAT)

824 posts
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Post Reply Email Thread
Okay, I know there is a tutorial for this already, but I am making a new one for a new version of the software that is out.

This tutorial uses Windows XP as an example, you may replace Windows XP with other OS if you want!

***Required Software/Hardware***

SOFTWARE:
-Limbo Emulator (QEMU BASED) for Android(Play Store)
-qemu manager for PC (Windows/MAC/Linux)
-OS Installer CD/DVD(ISO is okay too)(E.G. Windows 2000-XP, Ubuntu, Etc.)

HARDWARE:
-High-end Phone(1GHZ Dual-core recommended although ANY phone WILL work.)
-PC
-USB Cable, etc
-At least 5GB free on SDcard OR Phone.

MISC:
-LOTS OF TIME!!!!
-Root (optional)




STEPS:


Step One:
Download all the required software. Install them to the respective device.

Step Two:
- Open up QEMU Manager and create a new VM, USE QEMU32bit for the processor, and Windows XP as the OS (Because the variables are predefind.)

-Select Make new drive and make a Hard Drive that is 3GB-5GB in size.
Make sure it is in qcow2 format!!
(Please note: after installation, the file size will only be 1.49GB)

-Mount the ISO/CD inside qemu manager in the VM settings and begin installation of the OS to the drive.
(This step will take at least 2HOURS! Let it do its thing.)

-After your first successful boot, Shut down the VM from within the VM (Windows XP VM: Start->shutdown->Shutdown)

Step Three:
-Connect the phone to the computer.

-Mount USB Storage.

-Find the Hard Drive file (Usually Installation/images folder!) and copy it to any directory of your SDcard (No spaces in the names and directories!!!)

- Install Limbo Emulator, and then Launch it!

- Select Load VM and hit New give it any name you would like it doesnt matter.

- then make sure the settings are as follows:

~CPU: qemu32
~RAM Memory Size: 256
~Hard Disk (HDA): /mnt/sdcard/{Location of your qcow2 file}
~Network Configuration: User
~Network Card: ne2k_pci
~VGA Configuration: cirrus


******Please note: if the option is not in the above list Leave it at it's default setting!!!!!!!! or this will not work (For Windows XP)


There you go, Go ahead and hit start!

Things to know:
One, it will take awhile to boot up on any phone (5-30 Minutes)
Two, Emulation is never perfect.

Optional Steps:

Getting more RAM for your BUCK
********NOTE: THIS STEP IS NO LONGER REQUIRED, THE APPLICATION HAS BEEN UPDATED TO ALLOW FOR 1GB OF RAM*******

ROOT ONLY

Go ahead and Exit and Kill the Limbo Task.
With root explorer go to /data/data/com.max2idea.limbo/databases/
and edit limbo.db with an SQlite editor of choice.

Find your VM in the Table and edit max memory size to 512 or more!

Remember how much ram your phone has then divied that by 2, and thats the maximum you SHOULD use, but edit this at your own risk!!!!!!
After this MOD, DO NOT EDIT ANY SETTINGS IN THE LIMBO APP AS IT WILL OVERWRITE THIS MOD.

Thats it enjoy!!
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to sandix For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sandix Ad-Free
27th December 2012, 08:10 PM |#2  
Member
Flag Idiotville, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Thumbs up Neato
Very cool! Prepping this for my Nexus 7 now. Will post the results.
28th December 2012, 05:50 AM |#3  
gallardo5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
Going to try on my HTC One X, and post back here results Thanks
28th December 2012, 05:27 PM |#4  
sandix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Donate to Me
More
Okay! Any news?

Sent from my SCH-R530U using xda premium
29th December 2012, 12:00 AM |#5  
gallardo5's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 275
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandix

Okay! Any news?

Sent from my SCH-R530U using xda premium

Sorry, I felt asleep yesterday doing this I`m just copying windows to my phone, will post results in few minutes
29th December 2012, 01:42 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Any screenshot please?

Thanks...
The Following User Says Thank You to ilustre For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ilustre Ad-Free
29th December 2012, 06:58 AM |#7  
sandix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Donate to Me
More
There is a youtube video of a guy using an older version of the software.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using xda premium
29th December 2012, 09:08 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
File missing
Hi guys,

just for fun i tried to get this to work on my overclocked evo 3D, unfortunately without success.
It says a file is missing or broken (<Windows Root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe)

Can I fix this using my PC or do i have to install my XP again on another VM?

EDIT: I reinstalled my Windows XP and tried it again. When I noticed it still won't work, i tried to change the settings. After playing a bit with them i'm able now to boot into windows without problems. But i got stucked at the desktop, so i rebootet, now it don't works again..
30th December 2012, 03:48 PM |#9  
sandix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Donate to Me
More
Try a different windows install cd. Do not use the one you have been trying to use. I believe that is the reason it will not boot.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using xda premium
30th December 2012, 03:53 PM |#10  
sandix's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 447
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuNcY

Hi guys,

just for fun i tried to get this to work on my overclocked evo 3D, unfortunately without success.
It says a file is missing or broken (<Windows Root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe)

Can I fix this using my PC or do i have to install my XP again on another VM?

EDIT: I reinstalled my Windows XP and tried it again. When I noticed it still won't work, i tried to change the settings. After playing a bit with them i'm able now to boot into windows without problems. But i got stucked at the desktop, so i rebootet, now it don't works again..

Make sure multithreaded AIO is disabled.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using xda premium
30th December 2012, 10:51 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Well sandix, AIO Multithread has never been enabled, so I enabled this & tried it again.. This time it booted successfully and without any problems. The only bad thing is, how slow it runs. So I#m going to give it up to 512mb RAM, hopefully it makes it a bit faster
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes