FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide] Quick And Dirty RUU Flashing for CDMA S-OFF Users

9,191 posts
Thanks Meter: 9,682
 
By ramjet73, Senior Member on 11th February 2013, 09:02 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
This is going to be a short and simple guide for S-OFF users that want to update to the current RUU level or refresh their phone because they are having issues like being unable to boot certain ROM's. You will not lose S-OFF by flashing the RUU.

1. Do a nandroid backup of your current ROM if you want to restore it later.

2. Download the current version of the RUU for your phone in exe or zip format from this page.

3. Run the exe version of the RUU in Windows or the zip version as a PG86IMG.zip file through the bootloader. If using the bootloader method make sure the file is named exactly "PG86IMG.zip" and placed in the root of your SD card before starting the bootloader.

There is no need to unlock the bootloader before running it if you are S-OFF and there is troubleshooting information in this post if you have problems. It may be necessary to run the RUU twice if you have a custom bootloader installed when it is run the first time. If the utility hangs after flashing the bootloader from Windows just cancel it and restart.

I recommend downloading and installing the OTA(s) immediately after flashing the RUU to get the most current firmware while still 100% stock, but the OTA firmware update(s) can be downloaded as a separate PG86IMG.zip file if you forget or can't do that for some reason.

4. Flash a custom hboot using the instructions in this post. My recommendation for a good general purpose hboot is the JBear GB 1.50.5050 version unless you are running an ICS Sense ROM like stock or Cool ICS that requires an ICS bootloader (1.57.xxxx or 1.58.xxxx).

5. Connect your phone to a PC and start the bootloader in "fastboot USB " mode, then issue the following command to flash your favorite recovery:

fastboot flash recovery recovery.img (where "recovery.img" is the name of the recovery file in your ADB/fastboot directory)

6. Boot into recovery and restore a nandroid or flash another custom ROM. You may have to wipe cache+dalvik and restart recovery if you get any error messages from the recovery program.

That's it. You're now updated or re-synced with the current firmware, the hboot that meets your requirements and your favorite recovery.

Here are some additional links that might be helpful:

4EXT Recovery OP for the Evo 3D CDMA thread with a direct link to recovery.img in the download section (not the most current version)
Current TeamWin (TWRP2) touch recovery for the CDMA Evo 3d.
Virgin Mobile OTA firmware only in PG86IMG.zip format.
Sprint OTA firmware only in PG86IMG.zip format.

ramjet73
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to ramjet73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ramjet73 Ad-Free
11th February 2013, 09:22 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Thanks for this.
Question,the RUU links...
Am I looking for the link with the radio he has currently on his phone?
0.97.10.0530?
11th February 2013, 09:24 PM |#3  
ramjet73's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 9,682
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3volution

Thanks for this.
Question,the RUU links...
Am I looking for the link with the radio he has currently on his phone?
0.97.10.0530?

No. That's an older GB level and the most current RUU for the Evo 3D is the 2.89.651.2 ICS version. That's the one I recommend.

Since he is S-OFF already it's easy to revert to a GB RUU if neccessary.

ramjet73
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ramjet73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ramjet73 Ad-Free
11th February 2013, 10:10 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
I better not mess with it,lol
This isn't anything like flashing new ROM's on my phone.
Thanks though.
11th February 2013, 10:14 PM |#5  
ramjet73's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 9,682
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3volution

I better not mess with it,lol
This isn't anything like flashing new ROM's on my phone.
Thanks though.

You're welcome.

It's not really that difficult if you are familiar with rooting and flashing HTC devices but I can understand how it might be for users coming from other brands. Samsung in particular is definitely less complicated.

ramjet73
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ramjet73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ramjet73 Ad-Free
13th February 2013, 06:29 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up Thanks!
Thanks for this great post ramjet. Really a great concise How-to.
The Following User Says Thank You to lecosmique For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lecosmique Ad-Free
17th February 2013, 07:50 AM |#7  
sprinttouch666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
More
Nevermind, fixed.
18th February 2013, 04:33 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramjet73

No. That's an older GB level and the most current RUU for the Evo 3D is the 2.89.651.2 ICS version. That's the one I recommend.

Since he is S-OFF already it's easy to revert to a GB RUU if neccessary.

ramjet73

I flashed the above RUU .exe and I'll get to 10%, then my phone reboots (RUU program says "attaining bootloader" or something) and go into a bootloop. Is there a specific hboot necessary to run this. I am on 1.04.200 and s-off, 1.09.00.706

I also tried updating via the bootloader method as well..... runs well....updates like four of the ten check offs and then bootloops as well.

Edit: turns out I was flashing the wrong version, oops
18th February 2013, 04:40 AM |#9  
ramjet73's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 9,682
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedied4me

I flashed the above RUU .exe and I'll get to 10%, then my phone reboots (RUU program says "attaining bootloader" or something) and go into a bootloop. Is there a specific hboot necessary to run this. I am on 1.04.200 and s-off, 1.09.00.706

From experience I've discovered that the RUU.exe utility will sometimes stop after flashing the stock bootloader if it is run with a custom hboot installed, which is why I put this comment in the OP:
Quote:

If the utility hangs after flashing the bootloader from Windows just cancel it and restart.

I've had no problem completing the RUU.exe flash if I just cancel the utility in the Windows task manager and restart it.

Others have reported that re-flashing the RUU.zip file through the bootloader also works if the original flash is incomplete.

Also, make sure that you downgrade your hboot after flashing the RUU since the stock hboot won't boot GB or AOSP based ROM's.

ramjet73
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ramjet73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ramjet73 Ad-Free
19th February 2013, 01:07 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Lost Angeles
Thanks Meter: 473
 
More
Re: [Guide] Quick And Dirty RUU Flashing for CDMA S-OFF Users
Ok one more stupid question, after successfully flashing the correct RUU my phone boots into the stock virgin mobile. How do I get into bootloader (to flash OTA update and hboot) from here since holding power and volume down button from off no longer work.

Sent from my HTCEVOV4G using Tapatalk 2
19th February 2013, 01:22 AM |#11  
ramjet73's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 9,682
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedied4me

Ok one more stupid question, after successfully flashing the correct RUU my phone boots into the stock virgin mobile. How do I get into bootloader (to flash OTA update and hboot) from here since holding power and volume down button from off no longer work.

Try removing/replacing the battery and then use the Power+VolumeDown buttons together to enter the bootloader.

The stock ROM has the "fast boot" option turned on in the power settings by default and that will interfere if you try to enter the bootloader after powering down from the stock ROM.

ramjet73
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ramjet73 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ramjet73 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes