FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide]How to port rom/Tweake rosie and more

1,640 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Post Reply Email Thread
How To Port a Rom
Most efficiant way .

Hello Guys i have been triying a lot of methods to port roms and i found this method brilliant and a 100% Working on HTC And samsung devices 90% On others as i did not test them myself
Let us start .First you need the following :
1.DsiXDA Android Kichen.
2.Kernel Sooting the rom that you want to port to device .
3.A little knowlege on how to port roms.
4.Device with same resolution to port rom from.

5.Note pad++ Or adobe dreamware.
6.Winrar Zip archieve.

[FONT="Century Gothic"][COLOR="Black"][SIZE="2"]Ok so now make 2 folders one named base and the other named port.
Copy the rom that you want to port to your device to port folder and copy a rom that works on device to base folder.
In Port folder delete USR Folder and replace it with USR Folder from base folder.
Now lets open bin in port folder And in base folder.
Copy and replace the following from base to port.
Code:
1.rmt_storage.
2.vold
3.wpa_cli
4.wpa_supplicant.
Again lets open ect folder in base and port folder.
Now Delete the following in port folder:
Code:
1.hw folder .
2.modules folder. 
And Replace them with HW And modules folder from base folder.
Now copy and replace the following lib files from base rom to port.
Code:
1.libhardware_legacy.so
2.libhtc_ril.so
3.libhtc_ril_switch.so
4.libril.so
Now lets open ect folder in port and base folders.
Delete the following folders from port rom:
Code:
1.Firmware.
2.init.d
3.Sound Image. 
And replace them with the following from base rom:
Code:
1.Firmware.
2.init.d
3.Sound Image
Now copy and replace the following in ect folder from base rom to port rom:
Code:
1.AdieHWCodec
2.AIC3254_REG
3.AIC3254_REG_XD
4.AudioBTID
5.CodecDSPID
6.TPA2051_CFG
:You might not find them all So dont panic.
Now If your your using "adreno processor or any processor" and the port rom has "lets say portprocessor" in ect of base rom you will find "yourprocessor_config" Copy and paste it in ect of port rom now delete "Portprocessor_config"
Now copy and replace vold.fstab from base rom to port.
Last step delete boot.img in port and replace it with the one from base.
:if both devices have same storage mods "I mean both need sd cards"You can continue if one of them has "SD CARD AND THE OTHER NO SD CARD MAKE SURE!!! to copy and replace ext.jar from framewrok folder in base rom to framework folder in port rom.
Now lets open customize folder in port rom
Customize/MNS/default.xml
And search for the following code:
Code:
  

    
      
        
          HTC_Sensation_xl/1.0
        
      
    
Now i am using htc sensation xl rom as a base as base and need to port it to desire hd replace code with this:
Code:
  
    
      
        
          HTC_Desire_HD/1.0
        
      
    
Exit and save
Ok now open customice/cid/default.xml with the note pad ++ or adobe dreameware and find the following code :
Code:
 
    
      
        
          HTC Sensation xl with beats audio 
        
      
    

and replace it with this code:
Code:
 
    
      
        
          HTC Desire HD with Beats Audio
Exit and save
now lets open Build.prop in port folder and in base folder with note pad ++ or adobe dreamware
no find the following codes:
Code:
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.build.product="Replace with one of base rom" [MENTION=522570 [MENTION=1065870 @@@@@@@@
ro.product.processor="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.ram="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.display_resolution="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.main_camera="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.front_camera="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.bluetooth="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.wifi="Replace with one of base rom" [MENTION=522570 [MENTION=1065870 @@@@@@@@
ro.build.host="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.model="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.brand="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.name="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.device="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.board="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.cpu.abi="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.cpu.abi2="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.manufacturer="Replace with one of base rom"
ro.product.version="Replace with desired name"
ro.build.id="Replace with desired name"
ro.build.display.id="Replace with desired name" 
Exit and save
Now delete Meta-inf folder in port and replace it with one from base
Now you can open updater script and change some name like name of rom......
Like my work ?Donate to me and help me expand or you can just hit the thanks button Thanks{Pleaze list donations on thread}
Thanks The Epik Dude For Figuring Out Some Mistakes and Helping me In Tests
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SnipSnip_Capture_2013-03-13-1007PM_1.jpg
Views:	1409
Size:	15.6 KB
ID:	1802705   Click image for larger version

Name:	SnipSnip_Capture_2013-03-13-1008PM_1.jpg
Views:	1368
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	1802707   Click image for larger version

Name:	SnipSnip_Capture_2013-03-13-1009PM_1.Png
Views:	1346
Size:	3.9 KB
ID:	1802708   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kichen1.jpg
Views:	1718
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	1802807   Click image for larger version

Name:	kichen2.jpg
Views:	1278
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	1802808   Click image for larger version

Name:	kichen3.jpg
Views:	1251
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	1802809   Click image for larger version

Name:	kichen 4.Png
Views:	1214
Size:	4.1 KB
ID:	1802810  
Attached Images
 
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Samer Diab For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Samer Diab Ad-Free
 
 
13th March 2013, 10:59 PM |#2  
Samer Diab's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Beyrouth
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Donate to Me
More
Angry Build.Prop Tweaks
Tweaks
No Rom Is complete with out tweaks
Build.prop tweaks:
Code:
Add these to you Build.prop:
# Disable checkin services
ro.config.htc.nocheckin=1
ro.config.nocheckin=1

# Enable noice cancelling mic
media.a1026.enableA1026=1

# Enable Dual Transfer Mode
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1

# Disable debugging notify icon
persist.adb.notify=0

# For emmc phone storage
ro.phone_storage=0

# Render UI with GPU
debug.sf.hw=1

# Raise JPG quality to 100%
ro.media.enc.jpeg.quality=100


# Improve overall media quality
ro.media.enc.jpeg.quality=100
ro.media.dec.jpeg.memcap=8000000
ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps=8000000

# Disable 3 Dot menu
qemu.hw.mainkeys=1

# Increase overall touch responsiveness
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=300       For newer devices you can go up to 400 
debug.performance.tuning=1
video.accelerate.hw=1

# Disable checkin services
ro.config.htc.nocheckin=1
ro.config.nocheckin=1

# Improve Dalvik
dalvik.vm.heapsize=128m
dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=48m
dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=5m
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

# Disable sending data and logging
ro.kernel.android.checkjni=0
ro.kernel.checkjni=0
dalvik.vm.checkjni=false
profiler.force_disable_err_rpt=1
profiler.force_disable_ulog=1

# Disable HTCs Screenshot feature
ro.htc.framework.screencapture=false

# Disable Bytecode Verification
dalvik.vm.verify-bytecode=false 
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=v=n,o=v,m=y

# Enable 3 fingers swipe
ro.framework.gestureservice=1

#Bravia Engine
ro.service.swiqi.supported=true
persist.service.swiqi.enable=1                Only if you want to add bravia engine

# Enable GPU Acceleration
debug.fb.rgb565=0
debug.sf.hw=1
video.accelerate.hw=1
debug.performance.tuning=1
persist.sys.composition.type=gpu

# Qualcomm display settings
debug.qctwa.statusbar=1
debug.qctwa.preservebuf=1
com.qc.hardware=true                   Only if you have qualcom chipset.
How to add bravia engine:
Donload this Bravia engine.zip and extract copy both folders and merge with folders of rom

Like my work ?Donate to me and help me expand or you can just hit the thanks button Thanks{Pleaze list donations on thread}
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Samer Diab For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Samer Diab Ad-Free
13th March 2013, 11:00 PM |#3  
Samer Diab's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Beyrouth
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Donate to Me
More
Angry For htc devices only Rsie+systemui tweaks
Rosie + Sytem Ui Tweaks

First i wanted to teech you how to enable unlock animation one sese 4 and up roms .
What uou need is apktool <If your new to apktool use i bot peaches apktool> and one click signer.
No after you install framework files lets decompile rosie.apk with this code :
Code:
Apktool d rosie.apk Animrosie
After decompiling navigate to animrosie and go into :
animrosie\res\values\arrays.xml and open arrays with notepad++ or adobe dreamware
Now you will probably see this code :
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources>
    <string-array name="app_sort">
        <item>Alphabetical (A to Z)</item>
        <item>Date (Most recent)</item>
        <item>Date (oldest)</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title">
        <item>Favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_id">
        <item>nn_favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_local">
        <item>Favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_id_local">
        <item>default_scene_folder_title</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="custom_pause_wallpapers">
        <item>com.htc.android.WeatherLiveWallpaper.Weather</item>
        <item>com.htc.android.weatherlivewallpaper.service.WeatherWallpaperService</item>
    </string-array>
</resources>
I want you to change this code to this code :
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<resources>
    <string-array name="app_sort">
        <item>Alphabetical (A to Z)</item>
        <item>Date (Most recent)</item>
        <item>Date (oldest)</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title">
        <item>Favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_id">
        <item>nn_favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_local">
        <item>Favorites</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="default_scene_folder_title_id_local">
        <item>default_scene_folder_title</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="custom_pause_wallpapers">
        <item>com.htc.android.WeatherLiveWallpaper.Weather</item>
        <item>com.htc.android.weatherlivewallpaper.service.WeatherWallpaperService</item>
    </string-array>
    <string-array name="unlock_spin_markers">
        <item>unlock_to_00</item>
        <item>unlock_to_01</item>
        <item>unlock_to_02</item>
        <item>unlock_to_03</item>
        <item>unlock_to_04</item>
        <item>unlock_to_05</item>
        <item>unlock_to_06</item>
    </string-array>
</resources>
Add the worlds in red
Now let us recompile with this code :
Code:
Apktool b animrosie animrosie.apk
Now if you had problems compiling rosie add this line to publick.xml same folder:
Code:
    <public type="array" name="unlock_spin_markers" id="0x7f050006" />
Now copy anim rosie.apk to one click signed and sign it and its ready to be flashed or replaced in root browser



Now lets learn how to make rosie 4x5 or 5x5 appdrawer <That means all apps>
Decompile rosie.apk and navigate to com\res\valuse and open dimens.xml
Now Lets get ready to code .
Start searching for this :
Code:
app_icon_size_ext
You will find this
<dimen name="app_icon_size">60.0px</dimen>
Now 40.0 px is my icon size If i need to make an 5x5 app drawer i will need to change it to 40.0 px
And for 4x5 rosie 49.0px<You should get the point>
Now save and exit.
Here comes the tricky part's
Now we need to change portrait mode you will need to go to this folder:
Values-norma-hdpi or in some cases valuse-portrat lw630 or valuse-normal-xhdpi ........
Now lets open that folder and search for the folloowing :
Code:
page_view_icon_cell_width
you will find this
 <dimen name="page_view_icon_cell_width">140.0px</dimen> in my case its 140.px yours might be 120 px I will explain in pic 
Click image for larger version

Name:	5x5.jpg
Views:	872
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	1804254
Now i need to change that code to 
 <dimen name="page_view_icon_cell_width">126.0px</dimen>
now you need to also search for this :
page_view_icon_cell_height
and you will find this 
    <dimen name="page_view_icon_cell_height">148.0px</dimen> in my case 
I will need to change it to 
    <dimen name="page_view_icon_cell_height">106.0px</dimen>
Now for landscape same thing but its in values-land ......... And diffrent valuses .
Now in valuse-Portrait .......... Open integres.xml file and search for the following :
Code:
<integer name="config_allAppsTabbedCellCountX">4</integer>
    <integer name="config_allAppsTabbedCellCountY">4</integer>
Now Change them to these :
<integer name="config_allAppsTabbedCellCountX">5</integer>
    <integer name="config_allAppsTabbedCellCountY">5</integer>
That will make 5x5 apps in drawer
Now same thing in land but diffrent values if you have 480x800 rsolution i suggest cellcount x 6 and cell count y to 3 .
And we are finished recompile rosie and sign and its ready to be flashed .
Rosie empty flashable zip .

Like my work ?Donate to me and help me expand or you can just hit the thanks button Thanks{Pleaze list donations on thread}
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Samer Diab For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Samer Diab Ad-Free
13th March 2013, 11:01 PM |#5  
Samer Diab's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Beyrouth
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Donate to Me
More
reserved 4
reserved 4
14th March 2013, 09:14 AM |#6  
Arjav23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,243
 
More
dude there isnt any rmt-storage in port or base
14th March 2013, 09:33 AM |#7  
Rittik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 780
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Guide]How to Port a rom and manage tweaks and More.
Nice guide
Another thing u can add as you have used Dxdia kitchen. Is how to change kernel boot splash screen. In boot.img

-Rik[Rittik]
14th March 2013, 09:40 AM |#8  
Arjav23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,243
 
More
also , my base rom doesnt have hw folder
hw and module folder in port is in lib and not etc
i dont have the 3rd and 2nd lib file you mentioned
14th March 2013, 12:47 PM |#9  
Samer Diab's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Beyrouth
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjav23

also , my base rom doesnt have hw folder
hw and module folder in port is in lib and not etc
i dont have the 3rd and 2nd lib file you mentioned

You are Using samsung right ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Samer Diab For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Samer Diab Ad-Free
14th March 2013, 02:44 PM |#10  
Arjav23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1,243
 
More
Re: [Guide]How to Port a rom and manage tweaks and More.
Quote:
Originally Posted by S.a.M.e.R_d

You are Using samsung right ?

Ya

Sent from my GT-I5800 using Tapatalk 2
14th March 2013, 04:16 PM |#11  
Samer Diab's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Beyrouth
Thanks Meter: 3,165
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Guide]How to Port a rom and manage tweaks and More.
I will be making tutoriol tell me what Rom you sana port

Sent from my HTC Sensation XL with Beats Audio X315e using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes