FORUMS

GSM Modification SPH-L900 Sprint Note 2

20 posts
Thanks Meter: 72
 
By francisatrm, Junior Member on 19th March 2013, 11:55 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
THESE ARE THE STEP BY STEP THINGS I HAVE DONE TO MAKE MY SPRINT NOTE 2 SPH-L900 INTO A TRUE WORLD PHONE!!!!!
if this looks weird sorry its my first thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1959005 was the original thread but all my posts were cluttered and i just want to make one that shows the step by step of how i made my Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 2 SPH-L900 into a true CDMA/GSM world phone.


BASIC INFO ON WHAT I HAVE DONE:
1 ROOTED USING ODIN
2 SWITCH GSM MODULE OF N7100 (which will cause you to lose sprints 4G LTE)
3 TITANIUM BACKUP PRO
4 APN MANAGER PRO




CLICKING THANKS WOULD BE APPRECIATED HAHAHAH

EACH STEP FOR THE HARDWARE MOD HAS AN ATTACHED PICTURE

step 1 remove screws/remove sd card
step 2 i lined up the new module's sim and marked points for cutting later
step 3 remove back plate
step 4 remove the connection then remove old LTE and sd card module. you can just peel this off but it is attached with a 2 sided tape. it is pretty sticky i used a credit card to pry it off so there would not be any scratches and prevent bending the part.
step 5 install new module with sim adapter. ( i peeled off a piece of 2 sided take from the old module and used it to stick the new one on)
step 6 i cut the back plate using a dremel tool
step 7 you see that white circle with the "L1" right below the sd card hole, that actually will interfere with the new module so you have to cut some more off
step 8 this is how i cut the part off.
step 9 install back plate ( i had to fine tune the cuts with a nail file before installing the back plate perfectly. )
step 10 install back sim card and battery.

WITH THE TALK/TEXT AND DATA THIS IS WHAT I DID

If with in the USA you have to choose CDMA in you mobile network setting. doing this i have found that i am still able to connect to 3G and roam data and talk/text

when you use your simcard you have to swith to GSM/UMTS

I HAVE NOT TRIED IT WITH ATT OR TMOBILE well i lied i actually tried my international sim here in Washington dc and in new york but i would not recognize any of the networks it can roam on. maybe because its only att and tmobile that my sim would roam on.

I DONT CARE ABOUT ATT OR T-MOBILE I DID THIS MOD TO TURN MY NOTE 2 INTO TRUE A WORLD PHONE.

WARNING!!!!!!
You will lose sprints 4g connectivity (we all know that by now) but 3g will still work if you choose CDMA only in the network settings.
WARNING!!!!!!

What you need:
ROOTED NOTE 2
APN SETTINGS FOR THE NETWORK SIMCARD YOU"RE USING
Titanium Backup PRO
APN MANAGER PRO
both have to be pro versions!!!![/B]

Step 1: Download and install both apps
Step 2. Open Titanium Backup app then hit the “Backup/Restore” tab.
Step 3. Find “APN Manager PRO” and press and hold the icon.
Step 4. tap “Convert to system app”.
Step 5. Once converted, close Titanium Backup Pro and open APN Manager PRO, it might be changed to “ale.android.apnmanager…”
Step 7. You will need to insert the APN settings for your carrier. Sometimes, you may have to search a bit more to find all the necessary information, make sure you insert the correct MCC and MNC values.
Step 8. Once inserted, you can press “Swap APN” and choose the new APN and the Sprint APN so you can easily switch between the two APNs.
Step 9. Once you travel to another country, you can swap your SIM card out. Go to Mobile Network settings and chose GSM/UMTS
Step 10. Open up APN Manager PRO and simply hit “Swap APN”.
Step 11. If you used the correct APN values for the SIM you are using, you should be getting either 3G, G, H, H+ HSPA+, or 4G LTE (if you use 4G LTE SIM).

That is it!! now you have a legit world phone!!!!


i attached some screenshots.

if you find this helpful don't hesitate to click the Thanks Button
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.php.jpg
Views:	21937
Size:	204.8 KB
ID:	1817986   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment2.php.jpg
Views:	20944
Size:	188.7 KB
ID:	1817987   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment3.php.jpg
Views:	20982
Size:	189.9 KB
ID:	1817988   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment4.php.jpg
Views:	23287
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	1817989   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment5.php.jpg
Views:	19340
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	1817990   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment6.php.jpg
Views:	17938
Size:	196.5 KB
ID:	1817991   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment7.php.jpg
Views:	17029
Size:	203.8 KB
ID:	1817992   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment8.php.jpg
Views:	16579
Size:	200.0 KB
ID:	1817993   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment9.php.jpg
Views:	17254
Size:	188.2 KB
ID:	1817998   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment10.php.jpg
Views:	17781
Size:	193.1 KB
ID:	1817999   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment11.php.jpg
Views:	17752
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	1818005   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment12.php.jpg
Views:	17900
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	1818006   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment13.php.jpg
Views:	17415
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	1818007   Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment14.php.jpg
Views:	15596
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	1818008  
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to francisatrm For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift francisatrm Ad-Free
20th March 2013, 01:08 PM |#2  
DarkManX4lf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 489
 
More
Re: GSM Modification SPH-L900 Sprint Note 2
Aside from the hardware modifications, could you use the Note 2 as a gsm world phone using Cm10.1?
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkManX4lf For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DarkManX4lf Ad-Free
21st March 2013, 07:35 PM |#3  
xKrisx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Re: GSM Modification SPH-L900 Sprint Note 2
For loosing the Sprint 4G in wonder if you used a SIM card from an IPhone 5 and called in and had sprint tech support swap the iccid in the system could you restore sprint 4g.

UICC/ICCID is the SIM number. I have had to edit them before because the factory paired the wrong card number with the esn.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using xda app-developers app
3rd June 2013, 11:17 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Francisatrm,

Please confirm a few questions listed below here:
After your GSM SIM Mod for Tmobile USA.

Can you install Tmobile Note 2 (T889) Stock Rom? (Which version?)
Do you have to install N7100 International Note 2 Rom? (Which version?)
Can you pick up Tmobile LTE 4G / H+ / 3G?
What version of Android and what modem?
How is the signal or reception?
Any webstie you can recommend to purchase a N7100 GSM Module?

Sorry for all the questions but I just purchased a Sprint Note 2 (L900) and interested to do this GSM Mode for Tmobile or AT&T use.
Please provide some more details so I can better understand and prepare before performing this mod.
Thanks for all your steps-by-steps instructions.
4th June 2013, 12:29 AM |#5  
AlpineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
You can't use a Sprint Note 2 on Tmobile or AT&T. It is unlocked to any GSM carrier outside of the US.

The Verizon Note 2 is fully unlocked. I've tried it successfully on Tmobile. You can't get Tmobile LTE on this version of the Note 2. You can get HSPA+ however.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
13th June 2013, 10:37 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I'm from Costa Rica and this week bought one L900, I'll tell you how it goes with this modification. Here the network is hsdpa 850.

maybe someone looking for a sim module, I bought mine here: http://www.parts4repair.com/samsung-...er-flex-cable/
14th June 2013, 04:19 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
which rom and firmware are you on
27th June 2013, 04:36 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Would be perfect to add to the topic any good rom that already has modifications and works perfect.

I will try this ROM the other week when my note arrive to me: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2337204
27th June 2013, 05:06 PM |#9  
mccurt29's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtkool

Francisatrm,

Please confirm a few questions listed below here:
After your GSM SIM Mod for Tmobile USA.

Can you install Tmobile Note 2 (T889) Stock Rom? (Which version?)
Do you have to install N7100 International Note 2 Rom? (Which version?)
Can you pick up Tmobile LTE 4G / H+ / 3G?
What version of Android and what modem?
How is the signal or reception?
Any webstie you can recommend to purchase a N7100 GSM Module?

Sorry for all the questions but I just purchased a Sprint Note 2 (L900) and interested to do this GSM Mode for Tmobile or AT&T use.
Please provide some more details so I can better understand and prepare before performing this mod.
Thanks for all your steps-by-steps instructions.

+1... can we use straight talk or net10 etc.. any other pre paid gsm US carriers? ????
27th June 2013, 05:51 PM |#10  
AlpineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
See my reply a few posts back. This includes all domestic MVNO such as those you mentioned.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
27th June 2013, 07:59 PM |#11  
mccurt29's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineMan

See my reply a few posts back. This includes all domestic MVNO such as those you mentioned.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2

Is there a way we can fully unlock our phones without asking sprint?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
sph-l900

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes