FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

CYANOBIZ CM9 Support Thread!

580 posts
Thanks Meter: 110
 
By Mavasilisk, Senior Member on 10th April 2013, 03:57 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Welcome to Gen8 CYANOBIZ Support thread!


ATTENTION: This build is stil in early Beta stage! Bizcuite is not responsible of bricked tabs, world war or some kind of alien invasion!

What is this thread for?
This thread is made to help people run CYANOBIZ Unofficial CM9 on their tabs, report bugs related to this ROM and share tips and tweaks.

Before adding your problem(s):
Make sure you are running the latest release of CYANOBIZ !
Make sure your problems is not already listen in the OP (aka this post) !

Bug/Problem list:
Bluetooth can work only by command in Terminal Emulator. Not fixed yet.
Camera. Preview only (can not take pictures for now). Not fixed yet.
Battery stats (% works but no notification of charge). Not fixed yet.
Each problem reported by user will be posted here after its accepted. Remember to use the latest build before reporting.

How to install CM9 step by step:
You have to install SDE before you attempt to install CM9. Follow the guide in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=930197

From now on you have to download the files only from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1941377
Step 1: Download and decompress (unzip) CM9 image file. Rename it to "openaos-cm.img".
always remember to download the file made for your device. Each device has different specification like screen size, RAM, etc.
Step 2: Download zImage.zip (its usually named with the date of the build like "zimage041013.zip") and rename it to "zImage". Do NOT decompress it!
Step 3: Download "initramfs.cpio.gz".
Step 4: Download "data.img.tar.gz", decompress it and choose the size that fits to your needs. (This file will be used to install apps. If you usually install low amount of apps you can use 256MB. Recommended size: 512 MB.. After you decompress it, rename it to "data_ICS.img" and copy it to the root of your internal storage.
Step 5: Copy the decompressed CM9 system file (openaos-cm.img) to the root of your internal storage.
Step 6: Create a new text file. Insert this line: ICS||/openaos-cm.img|/init|0Archos|ARCHOS|ARCHOS|/init and save it. Rename the text file to "menu.lst" and copy it to the internal storage. (If it doesnt work open "menu.lst" with Notepad++ and add one additional line below by pressing enter)
Step 7: Installing the kernel and initramfs.cpio.gz:
Reboot your tab into recovery. Select Recovery System => Developer Edition Menu => Flash Kernel and Initramfs. Connect your tab to your PC via USB and copy the files from steps 2 and 3. (Its recommended to copy the files one by one)

You are done!

Currently the kernel is not supported by other ROMs (except stock firmware with stock kernel).

How to add swap file
Use adb or Terminal Emulator and add these lines:
If you are going to copy the lines copy it line by line do not copy-paste the whole guide else it wont work!

swapoff -a
rm /swapfile
rm /system/etc/fstab
dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=1024 count=50000
mkswap /swapfile
touch /system/etc/fstab
echo "/swapfile none swap sw 0 0" >> /system/etc/fstab
swapoff /dev/block/ramzswap0
swapon -a /swapfile


This activates a swap file of 50MB in the root of your system image file (CYANOBIZ_xxx.img also knows as openaos-cm.img
Do NOT increase the size over 50MB because the system will become full and it will result in a bootloop!

How to activate swap in internal SD card (storage). This way you can put highter value like 128MB/256MB/512MB/etc.
Use adb or Terminal Emulator and add these lines:
If you are going to copy the lines copy it line by line do not copy-paste the whole guide else it wont work!

swapoff -a
rm /mnt/storage/swapfile
rm /system/etc/fstab
dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/storage/swapfile bs=1024 count=128000
mkswap /mnt/storage/swapfile
touch /system/etc/fstab
echo "/mnt/storage/swapfile none swap sw 0 0" >> /system/etc/fstab
swapoff /dev/block/ramzswap0
swapon -a /mnt/storage/swapfile


If you want to see if it's working type "cat /proc/swaps"
You should see this:

cat /proc/swaps
Filename Type Size Used Priority
/mnt/storage/swapfile file 127972 0 -1


You swapfile is done!


Notice: Sometimes a logcat worths more then a hundred words.
If you like the ROM and you'd like to support it feel free to donate to Bizcuite. This way you can tell him a huge "Thank You" and support his job.
Attached Files
File Type: zip menu.lst.zip - [Click for QR Code] (219 Bytes, 350 views)
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Mavasilisk For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Mavasilisk Ad-Free
 
 
10th April 2013, 04:15 PM |#2  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
CYANOBIZ Unofficial CM9 Tips & Tweaks
These tweaks come with no warranty! There is a change of bootloop if you edit the wrong value.

Open your root File Explorer (most people use RootExplorer) then go to /system and add these lines to your Build.prop file:

# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.com.android.dateformat=MM-dd-yyyy
wifi.interface=tiwlan0
net.dns1=8.8.8.8
net.dns2=8.8.4.4
qemu.hw.mainkeys=1
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=120
persist.sys.usb.config=mass_storage,adb
ro.telephony.default_network=0
# dalvik props
persist.adb.notify=0
dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=25m
dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=128m
dalvik.vm.heapsize=160m
#dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=m=y
#dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=5m
#dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=48m
#dalvik.vm.heapsize=196m
dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags m=y,o=v,u=y
ro.fb.mode=1
ro.sf.compbypass.enable=0
# persist.sys.shutdown.mode=hibernate
ro.config.hw_quickpoweron=true
mot.proximity.delay=25
ro.mot.buttonlight.timeout=0
ro.max.fling_velocity=12000
ro.min.fling_velocity=8000
ro.ril.disable.power.collapse=1
debug.sf.hw=1
debug.composition.type=gpu
debug.composition.type=c2d
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=240
ro.ui.fullscreen=false
debug.performance.tuning=1
debug.qctwa.preservebuf=1
dev.pm.dyn_samplingrate=1
video.accelerate.hw=1
ro.vold.umsdirtyratio=20
debug.overlayui.enable=1
debug.egl.hw=1
hw3d.force=1
persist.sys.composition.type=c2d
persist.sys.ui.hw=0
#ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=0
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
ro.carrier=wifi-only
#crash tab don't enable it
#debug.enabletr=true
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mavasilisk For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Mavasilisk Ad-Free
10th April 2013, 05:09 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Many thanks for your works Mavasilisk. It's perfect!! Just don't forget the "e" in Bizcuite

Upload of first BETA release is in progres
Don't forget, if you install my kernel, you will NOT be able to use others OS (except original Firmware with original kernel of course)

Maybe we must add "This release is not official and not supported by cyanogen".

Bizcuite
10th April 2013, 05:59 PM |#4  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizcuite

Many thanks for your works Mavasilisk. It's perfect!! Just don't forget the "e" in Bizcuite

Upload of first BETA release is in progres
Don't forget, if you install my kernel, you will NOT be able to use others OS (except original Firmware with original kernel of course)

Maybe we must add "This release is not official and not supported by cyanogen".

Bizcuite

Updated. Sorry, I was so focused so I missed "e" in your nickname. Cant wait to try the first beta!
10th April 2013, 06:37 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavasilisk

Updated. Sorry, I was so focused so I missed "e" in your nickname. Cant wait to try the first beta!

First page updated in dev section.
Link updated

Bizcuite

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
11th April 2013, 03:04 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
More
How is sleep with CM9? I used to find with CM7 Bull my tab used to use more power than stock Froyo when sleeping. Also how well does Chrome work with 256mb ram? Thanks.
11th April 2013, 07:35 AM |#7  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
I prefer Boat Browser. Its very fast and snappy with the new HW. I can compare it to Opera. Chome is just....not my taste.
11th April 2013, 08:59 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Exclamation Browsers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavasilisk

I prefer Boat Browser. Its very fast and snappy with the new HW. I can compare it to Opera. Chome is just....not my taste.

Yes Boat browser works best but is laggy on bigger pages and force closes when I try to start flash content - flash player is still not working. Other browsers force close on bigger pages and chrome is slow. Opera final still dont work, beta is working but freezes on first couple starts. Even stock browser freezes on first couple starts and crashed system once and then started to work pretty normal. Most interesting thing is with Puffin browsers, they worked well under 1.8 and now Puffin free cant even start and Puffin paid freezes or force close when I try to start some web address or edit speed dial. I edited vm heapsize but it didnt help. I am still suspicious on GPU driver. Rom is fast and many apps and games works but we still have some major problems. Keep up with good work Biz and I hope that we will get stable rom soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to aleksandarvs For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift aleksandarvs Ad-Free
11th April 2013, 09:29 AM |#9  
Mavasilisk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
Biz, check for dalvik cache and cache errors. I had some problems with apps when I forgot to wipe caches.
11th April 2013, 11:30 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
WiFi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavasilisk

Biz, check for dalvik cache and cache errors. I had some problems with apps when I forgot to wipe caches.

I dont have problem with cache but you were right we still have problems with wifi driver, that is our major problem for now. I hope that Biz will find good driver and recompile it soon.
12th April 2013, 09:01 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Corbeil-Essonnes
Thanks Meter: 764
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleksandarvs

I dont have problem with cache but you were right we still have problems with wifi driver, that is our major problem for now. I hope that Biz will find good driver and recompile it soon.

I try both. Today i have try to compile the driver module from cm9 sources and with archos gen8 stock kernel.
Compilation success but the driver doesn't want to be insert. I have warning during compilation and this failed the insertion.

Can you say me which security you use to connect you to your wifi?
I think that there is an issue with wpa1/2 security.
Because when i am at work i have no pb, it's a free hotspot wifi without any security just a login.

Bizcuite

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes