FORUMS

[Q] Help doing factory reset through adb with non-functional screen

131 posts
Thanks Meter: 37
 
By gadsden, Senior Member on 14th May 2013, 05:50 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
My screen is totally destroyed, it's black and unresponsive. The phone turns on just fine, though. I just got my new phone and I have to send this one back now. I want to wipe the phone before I send it back, but I'm not sure how. I don't care too much about sending back a rooted phone, it seems Asurion doesn't really care about that from what I've read, but I don't want my personal data on the phone when I send it in. What are my options to wipe the phone without a screen? I've already read a lot of threads on the subject, but everyone seems to say to wipe through ADB shell. Well, I can see the phone in ADB, but I am unable to enter SU through ADB shell. I assume it's because the screen is locked, and I have no way to unlock it. Others have also said to wipe through fastboot in ADB, but I am seeing conflicting recommendations and I'm not sure how to proceed. I'm not that proficient with ABD, so I want to make sure I don't mess this up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gadsden For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gadsden Ad-Free
20th May 2013, 12:36 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
I solved the issue with help from another forum. Here's what I did:

Reboot the phone to the bootloader (fastboot):

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
Check to see if the phone is in fastboot mode.

Code:
fastboot devices
If it doesn't show anything, wait a few seconds and try again.

Wipe the user data/cache:

Code:
fastboot -w
Hopefully this helps if anyone else has the same problem.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to gadsden For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gadsden Ad-Free
16th September 2013, 05:11 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Angry THANK YOU!
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadsden

I solved the issue with help from another forum. Here's what I did:

Reboot the phone to the bootloader (fastboot):

Code:
adb reboot bootloader
Check to see if the phone is in fastboot mode.

Code:
fastboot devices
If it doesn't show anything, wait a few seconds and try again.

Wipe the user data/cache:

Code:
fastboot -w
Hopefully this helps if anyone else has the same problem.


a BIG THANKS for posting this very helpful tip mate. It helped me a lot. Cheers! Kings to you!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Pajoe1029 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Pajoe1029 Ad-Free
27th October 2013, 05:09 PM |#4  
qnc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
Thanks just destroyed my screen and this was helpful to wipe and sell for motherboard parts on nexus 4.
13th November 2013, 01:56 PM |#5  
kranthi9s's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
ADB Factory reset
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pajoe1029

a BIG THANKS for posting this very helpful tip mate. It helped me a lot. Cheers! Kings to you!

not showing devices after typing fastboot devices
. I'm getting the following message. see the attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	android.png
Views:	11588
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2389772  
13th November 2013, 04:35 PM |#6  
callousparade's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kranthi9s

not showing devices after typing fastboot devices
. I'm getting the following message. see the attachment.

so you're getting a segmentation fault as well as not showing up in fastboot? screenshot doesn't show your output from 'fastboot devices' so i assume you're having both issues.

So a couple of questions...
1) Do you have the correct drivers installed? What does Windows Device Manager call your razr when it's plugged into USB (and turned on)?

2) Did you change your environmental variables correctly to allow ADB to work in windows?

3) I could be wrong on this one, but i've never seen "adb shell recovery --wipe_data" as a command. Last i was aware (haven't messed with recovery via usb in a while so it could have changed) it was "adb shell" ENTER "--wipe_data". No 'recovery'in there.

I know I know, these are all "well duhh" questions. But without more info I gotta start at the basics!
31st December 2013, 02:06 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Christchurch
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Cant erase
I get the following :
fastboot -w
erasing 'userdata'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
9th January 2014, 07:05 PM |#8  
zakbeng's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Post repair lg L5
this is how to repair Lg L5 when crached
sorry i write in french :
etape 1. telecharger KDZ_FW_UPD i, fichier de 3 Mo a peu pres
etape 2. telecharger le firm de votre telephone , si c'est LG allez au site et choisssez le firmaware de votre model et choisissez votre model et telecharger le fichier .KDZ, de grande taille quelque 300 Mo ou plus.
etpae 3: de compresser le fichier kdz_fw_up telechargé auparavant , ou vrir le dossier et ouvrir le fichier msxml , un package pour l'installer.ensuite et toujour dans le meme dossier ouvrir le fichier KDZ_FW_UPD.exe
vous aurez cette image

choisir type : 3GQCT et Phone mode : DIag
dans KDZ file cliquer sur ouvrir et allez chercher votre gros fichier que vous avez telecharger , qui finit .KDZ.
stop , mnt prenez votre telephone , appuiez sur le bouton du volume , au milieu ni le haut seul ni le bas seul mais les 2 , donc appuiez au milieu et inserer le cable usb branché a l'ordinateur bien sur , le telephone va s'allumer en mode emergency download avec le message " download is in progress don't diconnect cable' , la vous aller a votre programe et cliquer sur le bouton launche software update ,
vous n'avez qu'a attendre la fin du telecrgement et le telephone va remdemarrer comme tout neuf .
voila ..j'espere vous aider , j'ai fait cette manip et ca ma aider a recuperer mon tel , lg L5 .
pour finir vois ci un site avec la video
chercher android teen dans google et taper Lg E610.
android teen , cest un site
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-09 19_41_58-.png
Views:	3342
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	2504877  
20th May 2014, 09:31 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
same problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwiandy

I get the following :
fastboot -w
erasing 'userdata'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)

I got the same problem. Anyone can help?
2nd November 2014, 01:30 AM |#10  
alkatraze-noob's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag hmd
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadsden

My screen is totally destroyed, it's black and unresponsive. The phone turns on just fine, though. I just got my new phone and I have to send this one back now. I want to wipe the phone before I send it back, but I'm not sure how. I don't care too much about sending back a rooted phone, it seems Asurion doesn't really care about that from what I've read, but I don't want my personal data on the phone when I send it in. What are my options to wipe the phone without a screen? I've already read a lot of threads on the subject, but everyone seems to say to wipe through ADB shell. Well, I can see the phone in ADB, but I am unable to enter SU through ADB shell. I assume it's because the screen is locked, and I have no way to unlock it. Others have also said to wipe through fastboot in ADB, but I am seeing conflicting recommendations and I'm not sure how to proceed. I'm not that proficient with ABD, so I want to make sure I don't mess this up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

it work with me try this
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	8392
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	2995000  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to alkatraze-noob For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift alkatraze-noob Ad-Free
11th December 2014, 07:12 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkatraze-noob

it work with me try this

Thanks, worked for me
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes