FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Enable AWS on Samsung Galaxy IV AT&T i337 & Canadian i337M

62 posts
Thanks Meter: 118
 
By zaryan, Member on 23rd May 2013, 08:00 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
This guide will help you enable AWS on AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4 i337 or Canadian Samsung Galaxy S4 i337M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All Files Have been Included In The Attachment ( See Below )

Instructions

1. Run & Install QPST Setup build 323 on your windows computer [File attached below]

2. [ With Latest Android Updates on S4, you don't need this step(2) which requires an application to be installed which is attached below named as phoneutil.apk, skip this step, How to know if you don't need, when Dial *#0808# on your dial pad if it shows a prompt poped up you don't need this step ]
Copy phoneutil.apk (attached to this post) to your phone & Install it on your phone -> go to myfiles (on your phone), browse and install it.

3. Disconnect your phone from computer & dial:
For stock android versions:
Dial *#7284# on your phone dialer and hit “Qualcomm USB settings” button
For Updated Android Versions
*#0808# for new updated android S4

4. Check “RNDIS + DM + MODEM” then connect to computer again. (Some people got it working with "DM + MODEM + ADB")


5.Your windows will install driver ( Samsung Kies if is installed, it will install drivers for your device )

6. Next, open up Device Manager on your computer and find “Samsung Mobile USB Serial Port” under Ports.
Make a note of the COM number (usually the second one)


7. Start QPST Confirguration application

8. Press Add New port, Uncheck “Show Serial and USB/QC Diagnostic ports only”, choose the COM port with the number you noted earlier then hit “OK”.


10. Choose “Start Clients” and choose “SOFTWARE DOWNLOAD”.

11. Choose the “Backup” tab, hit “Browse” for Port and choose your COM number, hit “Browse” for QCN File and make a new file name for the QCN file you will be making a backup of. We will be backing up the NV Memory on your phone just in case you mess up something. Then hit Start.

12. Hit the “Restore” tab, set Port to your COM number. Next, choose the QCN File as “337_AWS.qcn”. (I have attached below)
Then hit “Start” button. If you get a warning just hit “OK”.

13. Once that’s done restoring, your phone will reboot. Just give it about a minute as it will reboot. Once rebooted, you can insert your T-Mobile/Wind/Mobilicity SIM card and start enjoying

Tested 100% Works with all AWS network flawlessly.

FAQ

Will this void my warranty?
No.
What to do if i get this error ? "The model number in the QCN file and the phone do not match. Do you still want to restore the phone with this file?"
It is safe to continue
Will it work with other networks Rogers, Bell, Fido ?
Yes.
Phone has to be sim unlocked for this patch to work?
Yes, phone must be sim unlocked
Will it work with Custom ROMs?
Many custom ROMs work, some ROMs don't work because USB Qualcomm Setting doesnt pop up.
Is it permanent?
When you hard reset your phone(Some custom roms require hard resetting), this needs to be patched again following this guide from beginning other than that, it stays patched even if you restart it.

You are responsible on following the instructions carefully, instructions are provided assuming user has adequate knowledge to carry out basic operations. For those who know, this is done exactly the same way the NOTE 2 was done.

Special Thanks: to FastGsm.com for the phoneutil.apk
I would also like to thank the XDA Team and all those members who'd come up with this idea on the note 2 & before, indeed it wouldn't have been possible without them, originally by sjravi and other respected members


Now Buy me a coffee Donate
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...=R49VLCBR45322

Attachment:
QPST Software: Download
All Other Files: Download

Temporary AWS Patch Guide for Samsung S3 i747 Coming Soon Using Smart Apps Makes It Convenient to patch again on ever restart
chen sheng - thanks for donation
Saad Al Haddawi - thanks for donation
Pierluigi Zamparella - thanks!
and many others thank you for your donations.
The Following 92 Users Say Thank You to zaryan For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zaryan Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 08:07 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
Before and after...

Sent from my SGH-I337M
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1369289242173.jpg
Views:	25870
Size:	108.9 KB
ID:	1984306   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1369289250123.jpg
Views:	26258
Size:	120.7 KB
ID:	1984307  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WorldIRC For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift WorldIRC Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 08:22 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
OP - Can you please add mention and thanks to the team here on XDA that originally discovered this workaround for prior Samsung models -- I believe they deserve the majority of thanks as it was their methods that make today's methods possible.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WorldIRC For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift WorldIRC Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 08:29 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldIRC

OP - Can you please add mention and thanks to the team here on XDA that originally discovered this workaround for prior Samsung models -- I believe they deserve the majority of thanks as it was their methods that make today's methods possible.

I was about to point that out. The methods of previous model that prior known to work is EXACT SAME, just the little app which allows us to access that menu for S4. I also would like to know about band 2600 and if it stays intact for Rogers/Bell.
23rd May 2013, 08:31 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonny21

I was about to point that out. I also would like to know about band 2600 and if it stays intact for Rogers/Bell.

It does -- tested and verified B7 is still "enableable" in the Band Selection program *#2263# (shows a * once selected and I maintain SOS signal on Rogers 2600).

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WorldIRC For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift WorldIRC Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 08:36 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldIRC

It does -- tested and verified B7 is still "enableable" in the Band Selection program *#2263# (shows a * once selected and I maintain SOS signal on Rogers 2600).

Perfect. If you have Rogers sim, you should be able to get 2600 if you force it since most places get it unless you're in a area which doesn't. Maybe do a speed test to make sure but yeah it makes sense that it stays intact.
23rd May 2013, 03:46 PM |#7  
howipig's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Folks,

Would it be necessary to change it back to MTP or MTP+ADB mode when done?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk 2
23rd May 2013, 03:59 PM |#8  
OP Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 118
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by howipig

Folks,

Would it be necessary to change it back to MTP or MTP+ADB mode when done?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk 2

Yes, if you'd like to use the usb storage and ADB
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zaryan For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift zaryan Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 04:39 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 158
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by howipig

Folks,

Would it be necessary to change it back to MTP or MTP+ADB mode when done?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk 2

Only if you use USB storage.

---------- Post added at 10:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:38 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonny21

Perfect. If you have Rogers sim, you should be able to get 2600 if you force it since most places get it unless you're in a area which doesn't. Maybe do a speed test to make sure but yeah it makes sense that it stays intact.

If you see my screenshot, the phone remained on B7 (2600) with 20MHZ (that is how we verify it is indeed LTE 2600). No need to worry about it "sticking". That being said, I won't be caught dead going out and getting a Rogers SIM card...ever
23rd May 2013, 04:41 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Would this re-lock the phone, if I unlocked it using the ServiceMenu method (i.e. not using a code)?


EDIT:
To answer my own question; patching the supplied .qcn *will not* re-lock the phone if it was unlocked using the ServiceMenu method.
The Following User Says Thank You to hidea For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift hidea Ad-Free
23rd May 2013, 05:38 PM |#11  
ronj1986's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Queens, NY
Thanks Meter: 179
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidea

Would this re-lock the phone, if I unlocked it using the ServiceMenu method (i.e. not using a code)?

No, it will not re-lock your device.
The Following User Says Thank You to ronj1986 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ronj1986 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aws i337, aws i337m, aws s4

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes