[Q] OpenVPN Connect setup

40 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Rushey_Platt, Member on 5th June 2013, 05:59 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi

I've got a paid VPN from ProXPN and I'm trying to set it up on my HTC One X using the official OpenVPN Connect app.

Copied my *.ovpn, *.crt and *.key files over from my laptop to the device, but get the following error:

"Error Parsing OpenVPN profile : ProXPN.ovpn : option_error: remote option not specified"

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong, please?

Thanks

Rob

P.S. Not a huge issue if I can't get it working, as I'll just use the built-in VPN via pptp, but hopefully I'll be able to sort this out.
5th June 2013, 06:19 PM |#2  
pakjebakmeel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ankeveen
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushey_Platt

Hi

I've got a paid VPN from ProXPN and I'm trying to set it up on my HTC One X using the official OpenVPN Connect app.

Copied my *.ovpn, *.crt and *.key files over from my laptop to the device, but get the following error:

"Error Parsing OpenVPN profile : ProXPN.ovpn : option_error: remote option not specified"

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong, please?

Thanks

Rob

P.S. Not a huge issue if I can't get it working, as I'll just use the built-in VPN via pptp, but hopefully I'll be able to sort this out.

Judging by the error message I would say that your config file contains a typo or the line that specifies the remote address to connect to is missing or misformed.

http://openvpn.net/index.php/open-so...x-manpage.html

Quote:

# The hostname/IP and port of the server.
# You can have multiple remote entries
# to load balance between the servers.
remote my-server-1 1194

And http://openvpn.net/index.php/open-so....html#examples

Obviously you cannot copy paste the examples . Can you not get a ready made ovpn config file from those ProXPN dudes?

If this config file contains no sensitive information you could post it here for a quick syntax check?
The Following User Says Thank You to pakjebakmeel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pakjebakmeel Ad-Free
5th June 2013, 06:51 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakjebakmeel

If this config file contains no sensitive information you could post it here for a quick syntax check?

I don't think any of this is sensitive (hopefuly!) so here it is:

Code:
client
dev tun
proto tcp
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
ca ssl/ca.crt
cert ssl/client.crt
key ssl/client.key
cipher BF-CBC
keysize 512
comp-lzo
verb 4
mute 5
tun-mtu 1500
mssfix 1450
auth-user-pass
reneg-sec 0

route-method exe
route-delay 1 10
route-metric 512
route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0

# If you are connecting through an
# HTTP proxy to reach the actual OpenVPN
# server, put the proxy server/IP and
# port number here.  See the man page
# if your proxy server requires
# authentication.
;http-proxy-retry # retry on connection failure
;http-proxy [proxy server] [proxy port #]
5th June 2013, 07:16 PM |#4  
pakjebakmeel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ankeveen
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
So yes, you're missing the 'remote' statement in your config file.. Client doesn't know to which server it has to connect if this line is omitted.

That explains.

Also, this config looks like a config for a Windows client. Can you not just use a prefab config file for linux?

Think this is what you're on about: http://www.proxpn.com/ ?

I don't know this service but maybe use something like this: http://downgoat.net/2013/04/20/proxp...configuration/

Quote:

client
dev tun
proto tcp
remote uk.proxpn.com 443
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
ca ca.crt
cert client.crt
key client.key
cipher BF-CBC
keysize 512
comp-lzo
verb 3
mute 5
tun-mtu 1500
mssfix 1450
auth-user-pass
reneg-sec 0
redirect-gateway def1

Also, it uses this config to connect to VPN but you still need to provide a username and password because of the auth-user-pass statement. I've not seen this option in my Android client but maybe it appears on the connection preferences when it sees this statement? Or maybe it will ask you upon connecting.. Not sure but try this and see if you get an option to configure username and pass or whether it asks you upon connecting..

Make sure the ca.crt, client.crt and client.key files are in the same folder as the ovpn config file. I use /sdcard/openvpn.

If you get stuck enable logging on the connection and post that. (AFTER YOU HAVE REMOVED ANY SENSITIVE INFORMATION).
The Following User Says Thank You to pakjebakmeel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pakjebakmeel Ad-Free
5th June 2013, 07:53 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Great, thanks, that tip enabled me to successfully import the linux-based profile.

After import I was indeed asked for a username and password, and then it connected to ProXPN. However, it then got stuck in some sort of connect / disconnect loop, with the disconnect message disappearing so fast I can't actually read what it says!

Rob
5th June 2013, 08:10 PM |#6  
pakjebakmeel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ankeveen
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushey_Platt

Great, thanks, that tip enabled me to successfully import the linux-based profile.

After import I was indeed asked for a username and password, and then it connected to ProXPN. However, it then got stuck in some sort of connect / disconnect loop, with the disconnect message disappearing so fast I can't actually read what it says!

Rob

Enable logging, that's what it's for.
The Following User Says Thank You to pakjebakmeel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pakjebakmeel Ad-Free
5th June 2013, 08:24 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Some loops are terminating because of session invalidated; others because of a transport error.
6th June 2013, 07:02 AM |#8  
pakjebakmeel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ankeveen
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rushey_Platt

Some loops are terminating because of session invalidated; others because of a transport error.

Maybe if you post the full log file we can see what's happening. As I don't know what the correct settings should be for this provider it makes it harder to troubleshoot.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
openvpn, proxpn

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes