FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Why flash custom ROM on SK4G?

40 posts
Thanks Meter: 5

By kelltech, Member on 14th June 2013, 10:09 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
First, I am very new at rooting and customizing Android and appreciate any help understanding. Please don't take my questions wrong, the screenshots on these ROMS look amazing and I know more than a few tons of hours went into developing and testing, it really is that I am not comprehending the differences I'm finding.

Thanks to the help of the great tutorials here, my SK4G is now successfully rooted! I've been looking at ROMS now for a very long time and found I am really leaning towards Glorious Overdose v5 or neXus JB.

What I'm wondering though, is why would I go through the trouble and risk of flashing if it is essentially still running froyo? Since it's rooted, could I simply uninstall the junkware and use Holo or ADW for a similar effect and virtually no risk? Of course I do see the difference in the kernal version, but as I said I am new to this and it's just my guess that kernal is even a big difference maker.

I am very obviously missing something here, and though I am searching I'm not quite finding what it is I'm not understanding. Otherwise as the video stated when I signed up... I'm a noob...

15th June 2013, 01:58 AM |#2  
Flag Hesperia
Thanks Meter: 183

More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelltech

First, I am very new at rooting and customizing Android and appreciate any help understanding. Please don't take my questions wrong, the screenshots on these ROMS look amazing and I know more than a few tons of hours went into developing and testing, it really is that I am not comprehending the differences I'm finding.

Thanks to the help of the great tutorials here, my SK4G is now successfully rooted! I've been looking at ROMS now for a very long time and found I am really leaning towards Glorious Overdose v5 or neXus JB.