FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
H10 Turbo

[EFS/IMEI][ME6/MF2]Please Read Before Flashing

4,601 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,518
 
By UtkarshGupta, Senior Member on 21st June 2013, 09:54 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey everyone,
You must have heard about the latest stability update.
There have been major changes to the working of kernel/modem/efs with the roms ME6 And MF2.
Kernel everywhere in this post means the one packed with me6 or mf2 unless specified.

1)All the custom ROMs based on ME6 or MF2 require the modems XXDME4 or DXDMF1. Or you won't get signal.
2)The kernel will modify the efs so that only XXDME4 and DXDMF1 modems can read it.
3)Once you boot up with the latest kernel, the efs will be modified, and you will need to stick to XXDME4 or DXDMF1 modems even after changing ROMs.
4)The modems XXDME4 and DXDMF1 are compatible with all the kernels (even 4.1.1)
5)Modems can't be changed if you are on a rom based on ME6/MF2.

If you haven't Flashed ME6 or MF2 based rom yet. - Backup EFS First
You will need to flash a custom kernel with the rom or a previous stock kernel.
Any kernels in this kernel changer are safe to use.
To flash a rom based on mf2 or me6, download the rom and the kernel changer. Flash the rom as you normally would(try not to choose the modem and kernel).
Then without rebooting, run the kernel changer and choose any kernel you want (the latest safe stock kernel is dme1)
If however, you want to change modem later on , downgrade to a non ME6 or MF2 ROM then change modem.
If you get a corrupt imei after changing modem, restore the EFS backup you made earlier.

If you have flashed ME6 or MF2 based rom. - Your EFS has been modified, No changing Modems(Only XXDME4 or DXDMF1) Backup EFS anyway.
If you aren't getting signal - flash this modem (DME4) or this one (DMF1)
If you made a EFS backup prior to flashing ME6 or MF2 based rom then downgrade to a non ME6 or MF2 ROM then change modem. After reboot you won't have imei. Now restore your EFS.
Even if you do not have a previous EFS backup then try the same procedure, but don't change modem. If you get signal, then you were lucky(happens in case you flashed a custom rom or didn't flash the latest kernel).
If you don't get signal then you could try this-
1)Copy your EFS folder to a safe location.
2)Delete the EFS folder. It will way can't but don't worry.
3)Reboot. You might have factory mode (yellow colour text on screen) and no lockscreen.
4)Copy the backed up EFS folder back. (Replace All)
5)Reboot.

If you can't get rid of factory mode(yellow text overlay) even after recovering imei, try this-
Enter all the commands into terminal emulator one by one and hit enter after everyone. Don't forget to give SuperUser permissions to it.
Code:
su
rm /efs/FactoryApp/keystr
rm /efs/FactoryApp/factorymode
echo -n ON >> /efs/FactoryApp/keystr
echo -n ON >> /efs/FactoryApp/factorymode
chown 1000.1000 /efs/FactoryApp/keystr
chown 1000.1000 /efs/FactoryApp/factorymode
chmod 0744 /efs/FactoryApp/keystr
chmod 0744 /efs/FactoryApp/factorymode
reboot
Honourable Mention -
Thunder Roar Rom has been configured to allow modem change without corrupting efs - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2338033

P.S. The Mod himself recommended me to post in android development section.
The Following 64 Users Say Thank You to UtkarshGupta For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift UtkarshGupta Ad-Free
 
 
21st June 2013, 10:26 AM |#2  
joshphilips's Avatar
Senior Member
Salmiya,Kuwait
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
Thank you for this information. I encountered this problem (no imei/signal) .Luckily had an efs backup and everything up and running again !

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app
21st June 2013, 12:54 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
What do you mean by this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UtkarshGupta

(it should not be the one packed with me6/mf2)

21st June 2013, 01:43 PM |#4  
UtkarshGupta's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4,518
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajil.s

What do you mean by this?

If the latest modem for your country is the one packed with me6 or mf2, then don't flash it. Flash a previous version.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to UtkarshGupta For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift UtkarshGupta Ad-Free
21st June 2013, 04:27 PM |#5  
landeiro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
I didnt understand. I use MF2 with Saberkernel i didnt any backup but work ok..... If I will come back to my original rom ZTO(Brazil) by Odin Efs will make currupted?
21st June 2013, 05:19 PM |#6  
UtkarshGupta's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4,518
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by landeiro

I didnt understand. I use MF2 with Saberkernel i didnt any backup but work ok..... If I will come back to my original rom ZTO(Brazil) by Odin Efs will make currupted?

modem is compatible with other kernels but kernel isn't with other modems.
i don't know it happened in my case. it is good to have a backup anyway.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to UtkarshGupta For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift UtkarshGupta Ad-Free
21st June 2013, 05:49 PM |#7  
landeiro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UtkarshGupta

modem is compatible with other kernels but kernel isn't with other modems.
i don't know it happened in my case. it is good to have a backup anyway.

I did backup now. but I didnt understand. The Efs is EMEI and moden? Then I comeback to original rom I dont have signal?
The Following User Says Thank You to landeiro For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift landeiro Ad-Free
21st June 2013, 05:58 PM |#8  
UtkarshGupta's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4,518
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by landeiro

I did backup now. but I didnt understand. The Efs is EMEI and moden? Then I comeback to original rom I dont have signal?

Efs has the imei. Modem knows how to use it. They are different.
If you change modem, their is a chance efs will get corrupted.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to UtkarshGupta For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift UtkarshGupta Ad-Free
21st June 2013, 06:05 PM |#9  
landeiro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UtkarshGupta

Efs has the imei. Modem knows how to use it. They are different.
If you change modem, their is a chance efs will get corrupted.

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using xda premium

OK. but If I will flash by Odin to original rom? My original rom dont have any update. (ZTO)

N7100UBDMA3_N7100ZTODMA2_N7100UBDMA1_HOME.tar
21st June 2013, 06:11 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
i've installed this rom and its working fine, but I wanted to install a custom rom, made backup now, can't restore in other roms

a guy posted this in other thread, if it helps someone and, i would apreciate a lot, if someone could help me find this 3 files and help me with this procedure:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kailashnj

Update...

I was able to recover my phone's IMEI by installing the older version of the ROM..
All the current roms that we get from Sam Mobile are only a single entity and hence you select PDA in ODIN.

what I downloaded is the 3 file rom and installed it with PIT. This automatically restored my phone's IMEI number. I installed the 4.1.1 rom (Europe edition) and then successfully upgraded to the latest firmware for INU.

Hope this helps others too.

21st June 2013, 06:20 PM |#11  
UtkarshGupta's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 4,518
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidocampeao

i've installed this rom and its working fine, but I wanted to install a custom rom, made backup now, can't restore in other roms

a guy posted this in other thread, if it helps someone and, i would apreciate a lot, if someone could help me find this 3 files and help me with this procedure:

You got a corrupted efs with no backup?

Sent from my Galaxy Note II using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
efs, imei, me6, mf2, signal

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes