FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Block devices from casting

382 posts
Thanks Meter: 63
 
By vwgti18, Senior Member on 8th August 2013, 05:46 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Any way to block devices from casting? I hate that my litter brother can cast on my chromecast in my room i had to take his tablet away because he thought it was hilarious to keep changing my google music to a stupid youtube video....smh
 
 
8th August 2013, 07:30 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwgti18

Any way to block devices from casting? I hate that my litter brother can cast on my chromecast in my room i had to take his tablet away because he thought it was hilarious to keep changing my google music to a stupid youtube video....smh

Buy a wireless router. Connect the WAN port on that router to your existing network. Configure your devices for said router. Don't give your little brother your WiFi password.

Alternatively, just punch him in the stomach the next time he does it.
8th August 2013, 07:30 PM |#3  
sake40's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwgti18

Any way to block devices from casting? I hate that my litter brother can cast on my chromecast in my room i had to take his tablet away because he thought it was hilarious to keep changing my google music to a stupid youtube video....smh

Try to uninstall the setup app on his tablet. I think that will get rid of the button.
8th August 2013, 08:19 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
I would have no idea how to write these rules exactly, but if you have a Linux router you could:
- Assign a static DNS lease to Chromecast's MAC address
- Assign a static DNS lease to his tablet's MAC address
- Set up some iptables commands that discard all traffic directed from the tablet to Chromecast
- Or you could even go further and assign all your devices to a whitelisted range of IP addresses, configure the dynamic DNS range to be outside of that whitelist, and discard all traffic to Chromecast from outside the whitelist.

Alternatively it may be possible to segregate the network into two SSIDs that act as separate LANs.
8th August 2013, 08:54 PM |#5  
stayRooted's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Lol a block list would be useful

Sent from My S4 in BEASTMODE
8th August 2013, 09:29 PM |#6  
vwgti18's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sake40

Try to uninstall the setup app on his tablet. I think that will get rid of the button.

He never had the setup app installed its just the new youtube update can detect the chromecast.


So what I did since I have ddwrt on my router I made a virtual ssid and connected him to that so hes not on my network no more. And now he cant stream movies from my hdd to his tab now im the one laughing haha.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 4
9th August 2013, 02:34 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

I would have no idea how to write these rules exactly, but if you have a Linux router you could:
- Assign a static DNS lease to Chromecast's MAC address
- Assign a static DNS lease to his tablet's MAC address
- Set up some iptables commands that discard all traffic directed from the tablet to Chromecast
- Or you could even go further and assign all your devices to a whitelisted range of IP addresses, configure the dynamic DNS range to be outside of that whitelist, and discard all traffic to Chromecast from outside the whitelist.

Alternatively it may be possible to segregate the network into two SSIDs that act as separate LANs.

I think you mean static IP...or even static DHCP entry...

But no, that linux configuration would not work. Once devices get each other's mac address, the traffic between the two does not go between the router, it is just switched.
9th August 2013, 04:08 PM |#8  
vwgti18's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Me and my brother are on different ssid now and the chromecast cast button does not show up on his youtube app.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 4
9th August 2013, 07:06 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpmanjay

I think you mean static IP...or even static DHCP entry...

But no, that linux configuration would not work. Once devices get each other's mac address, the traffic between the two does not go between the router, it is just switched.

Sorry yes, I meant static DHCP. And you may be right - I don't know enough to say.
9th August 2013, 09:17 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

Sorry yes, I meant static DHCP. And you may be right - I don't know enough to say.

Trust me.
10th August 2013, 12:32 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 515
 
More
And if DD-WRT is set up to divide up into two SSIDs, is there any way to whitelist communication between the two networks?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes