FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[SOLVED] Nexus 7 headphone jack problem - sound not coming from one side of earphone/

179 posts
Thanks Meter: 44

By sauravdante, Senior Member on 4th September 2013, 01:06 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
NOTE: This is not my solution... Credit goes to someone else

So I have been using nexus 7 for past 11 months... At first the headphone jack was working fine, I was getting good sound from both the ear buds but then it stopped working nd i never really cared about it because I use headphones with my nexus 7 less. But now that I got myself a JBL J04 I wanted to watch movies with these beasts on.... So i did some digging on net.

PROBLEM: The headphone jack is not working fine, it was giving sound in only one side of headphone(left one in my case) but when plugging a speaker jack it seemed to work fine. I have used both creative speakers and mini speakers. I have used mine skullcandy earphones and also jbl headphones but sound was only coming from one side... And in jbl headphones it was coming very very low.

SOLUTION: When you open up the back cover and see the loudspeakers module... There is somewhat copper conductive part revealed under those two loud speakers, and they gets in contact with the metal of back cover, when back cover is closed. So we need to TAPE THIS REVEALED COPPER side and voila mine headphones got working like a charm. For a good reference image is attached. This worked in my case so I dnt know maybe it will work for others or not. And yeah in my case I used black electrical tape.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to sauravdante For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sauravdante Ad-Free

4th September 2013, 01:12 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member

More
Image for solution

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1378296739051.jpg
Views:	48596
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	2234225