FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How To Update Firmware

1,567 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,568
 
By pandasa123, Senior Member on 7th November 2013, 09:55 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I decided to write this, even though it was already written by SO many people already, to have it in an easily accessible spot

YOU MUST ALSO BE SUPERCID!!

YOU MUST BE S-OFF!!!!!!! http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2155071
So here we go!

2.15 Firmware: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23060877490004040
2.18 Firmware: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23329332407572084

Download the firmware zip. Put it in a folder where you have the fastboot sdk tool

Plug your phone in with USB Debugging
Reboot into bootloader:
Quote:

adb reboot bootloader

Open a command window in the folder with fastboot sdk
Once the phone gets to bootloader, go into fastboot
Check if fastboot commands are working:
Quote:

fastboot devices

Now the fun starts:

Quote:

fastboot oem rebootRUU
fastboot flash zip <WhateverYouCalledYourFirmwareZip.zip>

if it shows FAILED (remote: 90 hboot pre-update! please flush image again immediately)":

Quote:

fastboot flash zip <WhateverYouCalledYourFirmwareZip.zip>

If it ends with "INFO..... OK", reboot to the bootloader:

Quote:

fastboot reboot-bootloader

Verify everything was successful by running:

Quote:

fastboot getvar all

This is what you're supposed to see:
Quote:

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.15.0000 (2.18.0000 if you used the 2.18 zip)
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.31a.32.45.16_2
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 5.08.111.2 (5.18.xxx.x if you used 2.18 zip)
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) product: evita
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ8310000
(bootloader) cidnum: 11111111
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4140mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-de589c6eef
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0


Reboot into Android:

Quote:

fastboot reboot

Reboot into Recovery:

Quote:

fastboot reboot-recovery


Thanks to Turge and everyone else who helped with this firmware and Sense 5
Thanks @24ky for 2.18 firmware zip

CLICK THANKS IF I HELPED!!!!!!
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to pandasa123 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pandasa123 Ad-Free
 
 
8th November 2013, 01:34 AM |#2  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 18,816
 
Donate to Me
More
I might be wrong, but this probably belongs in the General section as it isn't your own development.

Sent from my Evita
8th November 2013, 01:42 AM |#3  
orangekid's Avatar
Senior Member / Bacon is Life
Thanks Meter: 8,215
 
More
Moved to General.
The Following User Says Thank You to orangekid For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift orangekid Ad-Free
8th November 2013, 02:07 AM |#4  
pandasa123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Grafton
Thanks Meter: 1,568
 
Donate to Me
More
Yeah sorry guys. Was in a rush to create this between classes and wasn't paying attention to the section.

Sent from my HTC One XL using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to pandasa123 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pandasa123 Ad-Free
9th November 2013, 11:36 PM |#5  
Madcat8686's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Konoha
Thanks Meter: 261
 
More
Worked fine
I saw this in other threads but used this one since it was right there at the top. Everything went fine, thanks
10th November 2013, 02:17 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madcat8686

I saw this in other threads but used this one since it was right there at the top. Everything went fine, thanks

can you do update to firmware 2.15 with S-ON and no SuperCID (it's still Roger001)?
cause I'm getting lost connection and random reboots with Viper XL 4.2.0

I tried Beastmode kernel but WiFi stopped working..
10th November 2013, 02:22 AM |#7  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 18,816
 
Donate to Me
More
No you can't. Maybe it's time you got SuperCID and s-off, it's a good thing to have anyway.

Sent from my Evita
The Following User Says Thank You to Heisenberg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Heisenberg Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 02:40 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmaaa

No you can't. Maybe it's time you got SuperCID and s-off, it's a good thing to have anyway.

Sent from my Evita

believe me I want to!
but I'm not sure how to do it yet.

(chicken-egg situation, lol)

I've read conflicting things, like you have to have SuperCID first before you S-off..
but then I read that you need to S-off first

which one is it?
10th November 2013, 02:57 AM |#9  
954wrecker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,382
 
More
If you can't read and understand the instructions in the S-OFF thread you are not ready

Sent from my HTC One XL
The Following User Says Thank You to 954wrecker For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift 954wrecker Ad-Free
10th November 2013, 04:14 AM |#10  
pandasa123's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South Grafton
Thanks Meter: 1,568
 
Donate to Me
More
Get s-off before they patch it in the next update. Besides, you can fully customize your systems with kernels easily

Did I mention no fastboot commands?

Sent from my HTC One XL using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th November 2013, 04:46 AM |#11  
Heisenberg's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 18,816
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clockwars

believe me I want to!
but I'm not sure how to do it yet.

(chicken-egg situation, lol)

I've read conflicting things, like you have to have SuperCID first before you S-off..
but then I read that you need to S-off first

which one is it?

It's stated pretty clearly in the s-off thread that you must have SuperCID first. I'm not sure where you think you read that s-off is required for SuperCID but that's 100% incorrect.

Sent from my Evita
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
firmware, hboot 2.15, htc one xl, sense 5, update firmware

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes