[NIGHTLY][ROM][4.4.4] CyanogenMod 11.0 for Acer A700/A701 (with 3G)

3,928 posts
Thanks Meter: 21,367
 
By pawitp, Inactive Recognized Developer on 10th December 2013, 03:20 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
CyanogenMod is a free, community built, aftermarket firmware distribution of Android 4.4 (KitKat), which is designed to increase performance and reliability over stock Android for your device.

Code:
#include 
/*
 * Your warranty is now void.
 *
 * I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
 * thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
 * do some research if you have any concerns about features included in this ROM
 * before flashing it! YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
 * you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
 */
CyanogenMod is based on the Android Open Source Project with extra contributions from many people within the Android community. It can be used without any need to have any Google application installed. Linked below is a package that has come from another Android project that restore the Google parts. CyanogenMod does still include various hardware-specific code, which is also slowly being open-sourced anyway.

All the source code for CyanogenMod is available in the CyanogenMod Github repo. And if you would like to contribute to CyanogenMod, please visit out Gerrit Code Review. You can also view the Changelog for a full list of changes & features.

Device-specific source code for the Acer A700 are available from https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android_device_acer_a700 and https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android_kernel_acer_t30

Do not submit bug on CyanogenMod issue tracker

Downloads
Latest Build: http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=a700
Google Apps: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Gapps

Installation
  1. Install CWM recovery from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1791165 (note that the old touch version will not work because of incorrect default.prop from CWM builder)
  2. Do a Nandroid Backup!
  3. Install the ROM using ClockworkMod Recovery
  4. Optionally install the Google Addon
  5. Wipe data if coming from stock

Changelog
A rough changelog will available here once nightlies have started:
http://www.cmxlog.com/11/a700/

Reporting Bugs

You are allowed to report bugs only in this thread.
  • Grab a logcat right after the problem has occurred. (Please include at least a few pages of the log, not just the last few lines, unless you know what you're doing.)
  • If it is a random reboot, grab /proc/last_kmsg. (Do not bother getting a logcat unless you can get it just before the reboot. A logcat after a reboot is useless)
  • If the problem disappears after running "setenforce 0" from a root shell, grab /data/misc/audit/audit.log
Remember to provide as much info as possible. The more info you provide, the more likely that the bug will be solved. The following is a useful format to follow.

Code:
What is your--
Tablet model:
Radio (baseband):
CM version:
CM Download url:
Gapps version:

Did you--
wipe:
 restore with titanium backup:
reboot after having the issue:

Are you using--
a task killer:
a non-stock kernel:
CMSettings/Performance settings (other than stock):
ART Runtime:
other modifications:

Provide any additional information (observations/frequency of problem/last version it worked on/etc) as needed:
The CyanogenMod team would like to thank everyone involved in helping with testing, coding, debugging & documenting! Enjoy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-21-53-50.jpg
Views:	6089
Size:	386.6 KB
ID:	2446045   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-10-21-55-17.png
Views:	5721
Size:	194.7 KB
ID:	2446046  
The Following 39 Users Say Thank You to pawitp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pawitp Ad-Free
10th December 2013, 11:18 PM |#2  
maikinho10's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Contributor
Flag BVB 09 :)
Thanks Meter: 1,209
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi pawitp,

Works great and stable.. but i use pa gapps with enable ART.
Speed and Performance for this early Build is awesome.
Thanks that you work for our A700



Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk 2
11th December 2013, 08:02 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Hi all

I am really eager to upgrade my A700 to kitkat... Since acer won't provide upgrades, i am considering unofficial ROMs.

Can you guys comment on the downsides of this Rom?

Any functionality not working?

Many thanks
11th December 2013, 11:24 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Installation aborted error status 7)

back to 10.2 adb push
11th December 2013, 12:33 PM |#5  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 21,367
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s1r1

Installation aborted error status 7)

back to 10.2 adb push

Try updating your recovery to the latest version.
11th December 2013, 01:49 PM |#6  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 172
 
More
Installed it over 10.2 stable version without a glitch (6.0.4.4 recovery). Seems to work fine, performance seems to be a little under 10.2 but it's early build. Thank you very much pawitp !
11th December 2013, 02:02 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
cwm 6.0.4.4 works fine thanks.
11th December 2013, 06:26 PM |#8  
mac_o's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
kit kat for a700
Hi pawitp

Thank you very much for this Rom ! I did a full wipe before flashing coming from Evil Alex Purgatory. Rom is fast and smooth but when i delete a widget on homescreen there is no "delete" button on the upper edge so i've got to keep the widget picked and "scan" the upper edge until it turns to red. Waiting for update or reflash ? But not a big thing for me.


G mac_o
12th December 2013, 01:28 AM |#9  
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 21,367
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac_o

Hi pawitp

Thank you very much for this Rom ! I did a full wipe before flashing coming from Evil Alex Purgatory. Rom is fast and smooth but when i delete a widget on homescreen there is no "delete" button on the upper edge so i've got to keep the widget picked and "scan" the upper edge until it turns to red. Waiting for update or reflash ? But not a big thing for me.


G mac_o

It's currently a bug if you disable "show search bar" in launcher.
12th December 2013, 01:41 PM |#10  
Norapapa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
Cm11 works great on my a700 with pa-gapps and Art.

Gesendet von meinem A700 mit Tapatalk 4
12th December 2013, 01:59 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Hi,

Loving it !

This is my first unofficial rom on a700 and I must recognize your fantastic work. It works great and is a major improvement compared to stock.

On top of jumping to a far more enjoyable version of Android, it brings an end to sluggish behavior AND to the below average responsiveness of the touch screen. It is like a new tab really. So THANK YOU.

One question though. I wiped everything, flashed the rom and the Gapps. At startup my memory available was only about 10Gigs...odd for a 32Gigs tab no?

The attached screenshot is where I am now. Feels like some space is missing.

What do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20131212_144959.jpg
Views:	729
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	2450322  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
development

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes