FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Ubuntu] T3buntu

41 posts
Thanks Meter: 31
 
By jorgen_gustavsson, Member on 17th December 2013, 09:43 AM
Post Reply Email Thread

Please OP remove my old post about Ubuntu on Tab 3...

T3buntu (Had to call it something...)

Disclaimer:
What you do with this information is up to you. If your device breaks while trying anything in here you do that at your own risc.
I cant be held responsible for anything that happens to your device.

Everything in here was tested on a Samsung Galaxy Tab3 10.1(5210) if you try anything in here on any other device thats up to you.

Most of the work is made by the Linux on Android team i have just tested and fixed some stuff.

The image is ext2, x86 but im working on a ext4, AMD64 image.

”Changelog”
1. Replaced lxde with KDE Plasma
2. Added entryś in etc/fstab for int/ext SdCards
3. Edited bootscript from the Linux on Android team so that the SdCards in the Tab is correcly mounted and works with fstab.
4. Installed "missing" packages to minimize errors.

Works:
Wifi
Battery indicator
Int/Ext SdCard
Most of the stuff in Ubuntu.

Issues:
Leftpanel is black
Slow startup, but can be fixed. I will add that later.
Some apps dont work if you start them as root.
Couldnt make jpg work as wallpaper so using png at the moment.
Rotation isnt setup since we cant use xrandr to rotate the screen..

Not tested:
GPS

ToDo
Streamline startup
Add init.d support on the Tab
Tweaking were ever possible.
Fix sound

Now for the fun stuff.

Installation:
1. Root your device. I used this Guide.
2. Install Busybox.
3. Install Linux on Android.
4. Install a VNC client of your shoice, i preferr Jump Desktop free.
5. Copy bootscript.sh to /data/data/com.zpwebsites.linuxonandroid/files/ overwrite the old file.
6. Unpack and Copy the t3buntuv1.2_20131216.img to a place of your choosing on either internal or external sdcard.
7. Make a Linux on Android widget and point it to the img file you copied in 6.
OBS !! This image is preconfigured with the user ubuntu and psw t3buntu..
8. Now click on the LOA widget you made in 7 and let linux ”bootup”
9. In your VNC client connect to localhost.

DONE ! Your now in Ubuntu..

If you want more screenspace you can uncomment
# service call activity 42 s16 com.android.systemui
In bootscript.sh this will remove the android panel. The problem with this at the moment is that to
get it back you have to restart the Tab becourse the ´am´ command to get it back ”Seg faults” on
my tab and i havnt figured out why yet.

Consider this image as alpha...

OBS !! The image file is BIG 1.4GB compressed and 4GB decompressed. Will try and make it smaller not sure how the Linux on Android team made there images so small...
LINK to imagefile
LINK to bootscript

Credits
Linux on Android team
The one that made the scripts from the start. Not sure who made them...
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to jorgen_gustavsson For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jorgen_gustavsson Ad-Free
 
 
17th December 2013, 11:08 PM |#2  
Benzoman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Illinois
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
How about a link to get 3. Linux on Android.
I know I'm top lazy to Google.

Sent from my GT-P5210 using XDA Premium HD app
18th December 2013, 02:44 AM |#3  
imagelost's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montgomery AL
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Awesome! Glad to see something! And having Ubuntu is a very cool os to have! Good work and thank you!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
18th December 2013, 09:26 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Added links to Linux on Android and Busybox in first post.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jorgen_gustavsson For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jorgen_gustavsson Ad-Free
18th December 2013, 03:39 PM |#5  
Rubenyz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hoofddorp
Thanks Meter: 128
 
Donate to Me
More
Nice, but there are a few things...
The bootscript.sh contains one little, but crucial error.
At line 172, character 44, you forgot one space, which makes the mount procedure unusable:
Code:
$bbox mount -o bind /storage/extSdCard $mnt/extSdCard
Which should be:
Code:
$bbox mount -o bind /storage/extSdCard  $mnt/extSdCard
Without this (for me) it failes while it's starting up.


And, another thing, my tablet reboots at the moment I have to run VNC to start the X server, even though I'm not doing or touching anything.
After reboot it doesn't start up t3buntu either.

But, very good work !!

And yes, I do have Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1 GT-P5210...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rubenyz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Rubenyz Ad-Free
19th December 2013, 07:33 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
RubenStauttener;48606882]Nice, but there are a few things...
The bootscript.sh contains one little, but crucial error.
At line 172, character 44, you forgot one space, which makes the mount procedure unusable:
Code:
$bbox mount -o bind /storage/extSdCard $mnt/extSdCard
Which should be:
Code:
$bbox mount -o bind /storage/extSdCard  $mnt/extSdCard
Without this (for me) it failes while it's starting up.
Havnt noticed any problems here but i have added the space and updated the script since both versions works for me.


And, another thing, my tablet reboots at the moment I have to run VNC to start the X server, even though I'm not doing or touching anything.
After reboot it doesn't start up t3buntu either.
Does it reboot during script execution ? It do sound like a mem issue. Do you have widgets and such running in android ?
You can try with enabling the swapfile in bootscript.sh .


But, very good work !!

And yes, I do have Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1 GT-P5210...
The Following User Says Thank You to jorgen_gustavsson For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jorgen_gustavsson Ad-Free
17th January 2014, 07:22 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've got the terminal up and running fine. But I can't VNC into it. What settings are you using for you VNC viewer?
27th January 2014, 06:00 AM |#8  
Recognized Developer
Flag Bekasi
Thanks Meter: 14,097
 
Donate to Me
More
How about native graphic support using libhybris? Or since this device use PowerVR SGX 544, is native X11 possible? Reference: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Intel_GMA3600

EDIT: https://github.com/trevd/android_ker...aging/mrst/pvr and https://github.com/thomas001/cedarvi...taging/cdv/pvr looks similar
20th March 2014, 09:08 PM |#9  
Nonta72's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gallifrey
Thanks Meter: 810
 
More
Thanks for sharing but it's not working
VNC: autentification failed !
Jump Desktop: It ask a password, and I don't have this password !

Sent from Gallifrey using TARDIS
The Following User Says Thank You to Nonta72 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Nonta72 Ad-Free
7th April 2014, 06:35 AM |#10  
Member
Flag Chile
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonta72

Thanks for sharing but it's not working
VNC: autentification failed !
Jump Desktop: It ask a password, and I don't have this password !

Sent from Gallifrey using TARDIS

Test password: ubuntu

When run script say mnt error =/
7th April 2014, 10:09 PM |#11  
Nonta72's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gallifrey
Thanks Meter: 810
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorrigas

Test password: ubuntu

When run script say mnt error =/

Thanks, but I already solved it

Sent from my GT-5210 powered by AmatROM HD
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes