FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Ubuntu Touch Dual Boot on Any Device (I think?)

112 posts
Thanks Meter: 56
 
By rino757, Senior Member on 28th December 2013, 06:41 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey guys!
For anyone who wants to try out the new Ubuntu Touch dual-boot, here's how (if your device isn't supported yet):


1. Download and install the attached apk.

2. Edit your build.prop (I recommend using an build.prop editor from the Play Store, but you can also do it manually)
Change the three original lines to look like this:
ro.product.model=Nexus 4
ro.product.device=mako
ro.product.manufacturer=LGE

3. Reboot into Ubuntu Touch!

Notes: A regular boot will boot your device into android, and you will have to reboot into Ubuntu Touch from within the installer app.
You will not be able to boot into recovery without uninstalling Ubuntu Touch.
Your backups may or may not be deleted when uninstalling Ubuntu Touch.
Warning: I own an Optimus G, very similar to the Nexus 4. As devices vary, so will compatibility. There are no promises that it will work well for all devices and I take no responsibility if something goes wrong, though I'm willing to help out if it does.

Edit: Feel free to try on your device, but will work best/only on Nexus 4/Optimus G variants
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-28-01-19-19.png
Views:	19382
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	2478800   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-28-01-02-38.png
Views:	19632
Size:	178.5 KB
ID:	2478801  
Attached Files
File Type: apk UbuntuInstaller.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.22 MB, 29116 views)
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to rino757 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rino757 Ad-Free
 
 
28th December 2013, 05:45 PM |#2  
miHah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
After changing build.prop to above settings now Ubuntu Dual Boot on Nexus 5 says Downloading Ubuntu (coulnt do that before), will report what happens next



Couldn't proceed - image added
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-28-18-52-37.png
Views:	11417
Size:	186.3 KB
ID:	2479703  
28th December 2013, 07:35 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Princeton
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miHah

After changing build.prop to above settings now Ubuntu Dual Boot on Nexus 5 says Downloading Ubuntu (coulnt do that before), will report what happens next



Couldn't proceed - image added

Do you have superuser installed?
That's the only reason I can think of for it to not work.
Make sure that you are running the latest version.
28th December 2013, 07:54 PM |#4  
miHah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rino757

Do you have superuser installed?
That's the only reason I can think of for it to not work.
Make sure that you are running the latest version.

Yes superuser is working fine. It seems to be some sort of a problem due to storage formated differently than Nexus 4?



EDIT: I manualy created /cache/system folder.. now installation went a bit further.. Image of error added.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-12-28-21-10-46.png
Views:	7978
Size:	179.0 KB
ID:	2479957  
28th December 2013, 08:34 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Princeton
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miHah

Yes superuser is working fine. It seems to be some sort of a problem due to storage formated differently than Nexus 4?



EDIT: I manualy created /cache/system folder.. now installation went a bit further.. Image of error added.

Try this:
1. (In the app) Options > Delete Download
2. Try to download again, but this time, allow SuperUser access forever.
It could be possible that after a certain amount of time, SU is not giving the app root user permissions anymore. This could cause what you're experiencing.
28th December 2013, 08:36 PM |#6  
miHah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
Already did that since some users reported same error (nexus 4 users) but with no success. using SuperSU like other that had problems.. maybe i should try another superuser app
29th December 2013, 06:20 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Does this support mediatek processors????????

Sent from my Q800 using Tapatalk 4
29th December 2013, 10:05 AM |#8  
Member
Flag Spanaway
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by just4uarya

Does this support mediatek processors????????

Sent from my Q800 using Tapatalk 4

Probably not considering it requires a device with stock (AOSP 4.2+)/ cm10+ or something similar.

Sent from my XT926 using Tapatalk
29th December 2013, 11:27 AM |#9  
miHah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ljubljana
Thanks Meter: 253
 
More
well it is not working for Nexus 5. I tried to put Ubuntu Dual Boot app in /system with no success as the same error occurs
29th December 2013, 01:44 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I have installed Ubuntu competely without errors on my Nexus 5. Only it will not reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
29th December 2013, 03:44 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Princeton
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramon110884

I have installed Ubuntu competely without errors on my Nexus 5. Only it will not reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app

If you mean that it will not reboot in general, that sounds pretty bad.
If you mean that it won't reboot into Ubuntu Touch, try rebooting into recovery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes